We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Couples Resort
Nearby Hotels
Mountain View Motel(Barry's Bay)(Great Value!)
$75
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$78
$62
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Nomi Resort(Harcourt)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pinewood Inn(Barry's Bay)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Little Hawk Resort & Marina(Algonquin Highlands)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (921)
Filter reviews
921 results
Traveler rating
534
223
103
33
28
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
534
223
103
33
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssteam showerjunior suitedining roomdress codemy husband and iwood burning fireplaceroom servicegames roomspa villaalgonquin parkdining experiencehorseback ridingprivate hot tubour honeymooncourse mealbear trailk cups
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
730 - 735 of 921 reviews
Reviewed June 27, 2012

My husband and I decided to revisit "The Couples Resort". It was our second time at the resort and we stayed in a Junior Suite. We were driving by and decided to stop in to see if anything was available for the night....we paid a lot and were shocked when we got home to see our room listed for half the price!! The decor desperately needs updating....it looks very 80s right now. We were also disappointed by the strict dress code and ended up having to eat in our room. When we returned home we were shocked to see that we had been charged extra for our room. We assume it was because of a can of pop we drank in the room. We contacted the resort but, they haven't gotten back to us yet!! There were no signs to indicate that the pop was not free and we just assumed because we were paying so much for the room it must be included. We were also shocked to see how run down the pool area looked. It was pretty much the same as it was 6 years ago when we first visited. The chair cushions around the pool area were exactly the same, they had the mold on them to prove it! We are going to try Deer Hurst next time.

Room Tip: If you plan on visiting this resort be sure to book online and check for discounted rates.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
31  Thank honeymooners13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlene_O, Public Relations Manager at Couples Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Thank you for your visiting us again at the Couples Resort. We appreciate your comments. Thank you for mentioning about the pricing. Our website does from time to time Randomly Offer 1 Night getaways at greatly reduced rates, it is a treat to our repeat guests, or a great opportunity to try us on for size (before booking a longer vacation with us) if one has never been here before. As we still have to pay for a professional kitchen brigade and accommodation renovations it is still better to bring in some money to help margin then to have a last empty bed or last empty chair. This “1 Night Only” program is the Only program we have in place where a booking later (closer to arrival date) may be less than a booking earlier (farther away to arrival date) that would not have the previous booking also receive the same lower rate. There is no compensation for guests that have booked earlier at a higher rate under this “1 Night Only” program. Under ALL Other circumstances if the Resort has to lower prices for a room type then all those guests that booked previously for that room type would receive the same lower rate as the new bookings. The only other possibility is that instead of lowering the previous guests price the previous guest is upgraded to a new accommodation that would reflect the new rate structures. Either way, the previous guest would not lose (I adjust it personally ). This is very different than most Hotels / Resorts and Airlines that would not lower previous guests’ bookings. We choose to respect our patrons as we greatly value each and every one of you. If you are confident that the one night you stayed with us was indeed where we had one of those random low priced openings then please contact us and I can verify and return you your money, or welcome you again. The accommodations you stayed in has undergone a $10,000 per room renovation (fireplaces, beds, furniture, carpets, wall coverings, bathrooms) this Early Summer and now meet and exceed 5 Diamond standards in amenities. The Jr Suites are now very modern and fresh in colour and tone with beautiful Tile, Granite and Cedar bathrooms. The best part is that they now all have 51” Plasma TV’s and of course they still offer a King Bed, Wood burning Fireplace, double in room Jacuzzi and a very large private deck right on the Lakes edge for breathing in the Great outdoors. They were originally built in 1995 and renovated the 1st Time in 2007 so that we could finally become a 5 Star Resort, and currently still the only 5 Star on a Lake in Ontario. The rooms before had different styles, and I know all of them had designer wallpaper from the end of the 1990’s which has caused some dated comments, even though they were only 5 years old since their last renovation. We feel confident that you would be very pleased with the new accommodations, the reviews we are getting now on them are very positive. Thank you for enjoying the dinner meal in your room, sorry it was not as expected as far as location, I know the dining experience in our dining room is quite wonderful. In regards to our Dress Code, it has been with us for over a decade, so one would have had to dress up last time you were here, perhaps it was more lenient then. Because of these complaints of our dress code we recently went out to verify one way or another our guests wants and from a survey of over 1000 guests over 80% said we should continue with a Strict Dress Code. It is the desire of the guests of the Couples Resort for the Dress Code as they are celebrating a Special Evening. Now some guests are choosing to have free room service. Thank you for your comments on the little fees. You will be very pleased to know that they have ended; we are All Inclusive now, see website for details. We are sorry that after the Great Recession of 2008 that we had to start charging for all the little things. It was not pleasant for us either, and we are sorry it affected you and so many of our guests. It took a little longer for us to control costs and bring them down, so that we could start including everything again. Thank you for your comments on our pool. We know it is the same as the last 6 years even though we have put in a brand new liner last year. What we lack in quality around the pool we have put into the accommodations and one day if the effects of the recession turn the opposite way, we too would like to build a new pool area. We still believe we offer an incredible pool environment with incredible views. We have kept it on a salt water system that is not harmful to the skin. Do you know we were the first Resort/hotel in Ontario that put in a salt water pool and also the first to put in a salt water hot tub. Many have followed now, and that is better for everyone. We keep our pool at 32’C of 90’F in the May/June period and 28’C or 85’F in the summer period. The reason we have our pool so warm is that we have found over the years that these temperatures bring in the most people into the pool. We believe in maximizing guest experiences and we know very few pools would spend money on having a sufficiently warm pool for its patrons. I know I have gone to many places and the pool is always a little bit too cool. I believe we have solved the mold problem, thank you for mentioning it to us. We at the Couples Resort are very proud that we can offer large cushions to lie on around the pool; we know many places do not do so. We hope that you will be serendipitous again and enjoy the Couples Resort as you first experienced it. We hope you will stay longer after that. All the best to both of you. Sincerely Yours – JohnS-Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Couple for our Honeymoon and have been back at least once every 12 to 16 months ever since. The staff is fantastic, the ground are about average for any Muskoka resort but that is all that is average about Couples.

The meals, the spa, the rooms, the facilities, the in room wood burning fireplaces, you can't beat this place !! Over and over again ........... same experience every time. That's what keep us going back. You always want to stay longer and you really, really relax !!!

My brother and wife honeymooned there last August and came back thanking us for the recommendation and raving about the resort. They'll be back too !!

If you are looking for something different, try staying in the winter, just awesome !

John and the staff, you do an incredible job. Keep it up and we'll see you soon !!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great, it is just about price point depending on the occasion .......... exotics, masters and chateaus have private hot tubs though so something to think about but even the junior suites are really nice.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anthony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

My husband and I try to get back to the Resort at least once a year, having started with the Resorts sister property, Adventure Lodge, and then over to the Couples Resort. We even had our honeymoon there 6 years ago, splurging on Chateau accommodations for 3 nights! Our main goal each time, is to spend quality time in Algonquin Park, and enjoying the privacy of our suite. The peace and quiet is pleasantly deafening- the lack of noisy children is therapeutic (we love our kids, but the break from pool games and loud restaurants is needed from time to time!). We cannot find fault with the amazing food, and incredible service. Our only drawback about spending the money there in summer months is truly the incredibly short hours of the pool ( is it a mandatory zoning bylaw that it needs to shut at 5pm?.. who doesn't love swimming at night ). Please consider lengthening the hours of the pool, and we will definitely consider coming back. The price for 3 nights at the Resort, can now get you to the Carribean for a week...

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lexym2164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

They do not inspect their room prior to your arrival. Ours was full of smoke from a poor working fireplace problem. they gave us a smoke eater to put in the room and reassured us it would be fine. it was not. after having headaches & breathing diffuculties & very big bill that has not been refunded i will never return & highly not reccommend this place.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
25  Thank wonderer17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlene_O, Public Relations Manager at Couples Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Thank you for your comments. I am very sorry that your experience with us was so horrible. It was very unfortunate that we were completely sold out those days and could not offer you any other room or cabin to look at to see if the smell of the real wood burning fireplace was less problematic for you. I am very happy though that our staff was expedient in finding you a solution. That we tried with a smoke eater and failing that, our Guest Relations Manager, Mary was very prompt on your first evening with us to offer you All your money back while suggesting you find another hotel / resort for that night. We thoroughly air out all accommodations on checkout and again on arrival if needed to help compensate from the wood burning fireplaces that we use. It is our standard Cleaner Policy to thoroughly Clean Accommodations when a guest checks out of the resort. And it is also part of the Cleaner Policy to go into Every Accommodation the day a guest is to arrive at the Resort and prepare it for them and to triple check that we have not forgotten anything and to make sure everything works. The Cleaners have a very high Performance record.

It is a hard one for us at the Resort because we know that smoke from fireplaces have caused allergic reactions to some guests (hence we offer the money back as fast as possible) and send you off to a Hotel in Huntsville (there are over 5000 rooms an hour away from us so easy to find an empty room – smoke and fireplace free, or to drive home again). We have had guests have a complete but very rare smoke out from the wood fireplaces, even when the chimneys were already warm and we consistently ask them should we get rid of the wood fireplaces in favour of gas. The answer has always been the same: “ Not the situation we wanted to have; a room full of fireplace smoke from a back draft, but wood fireplaces are so romantic, please do not change them, thanks for helping us out so quickly.” We know the wood burning fireplaces that we have are a main reason that many of our patrons visit us over other properties, it is a critical part of the Couples Resort Romance offering.
After Mary offered a full refund in the first evening, as she saw you were greatly affected by the fireplace smoke, and it was rejected, we did not offer a refund or compensation for your continued stay. I am sorry that your stay with us ended up so horrible, but we are only able to offer so much. Sorry we cannot have you ask for compensation after you had a full stay with us, especially since we offered you a full refund in the first day. Sincerely Yours. JohnS-Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

My husband and I returned for our 1st wedding anniversary!
We had gotten the same room as befor "The Rembrant" one of the master jr suites!
The room is huge and beautifly decorrated! We love having the hot tub on the balcony with the loung chairs...its our favorit place!
The staff are so friendly and ready to get anything you need....!
We had a small prob with a/c..we called the front desk and befor my husband could hang up the phone they were at our door! she called the teck guys and had it sorted out with in five minutes! So fast!
We had a great time getting dressed up for dinner it readlly does make it more romantic!
The food is just as we remembered it absolutly mouth watering...and the servic is wonderful the timing in between your courses is just the right amount of time!
we are looking forward to returning soon
Would reccomend this resort to any couple!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindsayR29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews