We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Benchmark Resort”
Review of Couples Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitney
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Couples Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 27, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Couple for our Honeymoon and have been back at least once every 12 to 16 months ever since. The staff is fantastic, the ground are about average for any Muskoka resort but that is all that is average about Couples.

The meals, the spa, the rooms, the facilities, the in room wood burning fireplaces, you can't beat this place !! Over and over again ........... same experience every time. That's what keep us going back. You always want to stay longer and you really, really relax !!!

My brother and wife honeymooned there last August and came back thanking us for the recommendation and raving about the resort. They'll be back too !!

If you are looking for something different, try staying in the winter, just awesome !

John and the staff, you do an incredible job. Keep it up and we'll see you soon !!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great, it is just about price point depending on the occasion .......... exotics...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anthony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (900)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

711 - 717 of 900 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2012

My husband and I try to get back to the Resort at least once a year, having started with the Resorts sister property, Adventure Lodge, and then over to the Couples Resort. We even had our honeymoon there 6 years ago, splurging on Chateau accommodations for 3 nights! Our main goal each time, is to spend quality time in Algonquin Park, and enjoying the privacy of our suite. The peace and quiet is pleasantly deafening- the lack of noisy children is therapeutic (we love our kids, but the break from pool games and loud restaurants is needed from time to time!). We cannot find fault with the amazing food, and incredible service. Our only drawback about spending the money there in summer months is truly the incredibly short hours of the pool ( is it a mandatory zoning bylaw that it needs to shut at 5pm?.. who doesn't love swimming at night ). Please consider lengthening the hours of the pool, and we will definitely consider coming back. The price for 3 nights at the Resort, can now get you to the Carribean for a week...

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lexym2164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

They do not inspect their room prior to your arrival. Ours was full of smoke from a poor working fireplace problem. they gave us a smoke eater to put in the room and reassured us it would be fine. it was not. after having headaches & breathing diffuculties & very big bill that has not been refunded i will never return & highly not reccommend this place.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
25  Thank wonderer17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlene_O, Public Relations Manager at Couples Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Thank you for your comments. I am very sorry that your experience with us was so horrible. It was very unfortunate that we were completely sold out those days and could not offer you any other room or cabin to look at to see if the smell of the real wood burning fireplace was less problematic for you. I am very happy though that our staff was expedient in finding you a solution. That we tried with a smoke eater and failing that, our Guest Relations Manager, Mary was very prompt on your first evening with us to offer you All your money back while suggesting you find another hotel / resort for that night. We thoroughly air out all accommodations on checkout and again on arrival if needed to help compensate from the wood burning fireplaces that we use. It is our standard Cleaner Policy to thoroughly Clean Accommodations when a guest checks out of the resort. And it is also part of the Cleaner Policy to go into Every Accommodation the day a guest is to arrive at the Resort and prepare it for them and to triple check that we have not forgotten anything and to make sure everything works. The Cleaners have a very high Performance record.

It is a hard one for us at the Resort because we know that smoke from fireplaces have caused allergic reactions to some guests (hence we offer the money back as fast as possible) and send you off to a Hotel in Huntsville (there are over 5000 rooms an hour away from us so easy to find an empty room – smoke and fireplace free, or to drive home again). We have had guests have a complete but very rare smoke out from the wood fireplaces, even when the chimneys were already warm and we consistently ask them should we get rid of the wood fireplaces in favour of gas. The answer has always been the same: “ Not the situation we wanted to have; a room full of fireplace smoke from a back draft, but wood fireplaces are so romantic, please do not change them, thanks for helping us out so quickly.” We know the wood burning fireplaces that we have are a main reason that many of our patrons visit us over other properties, it is a critical part of the Couples Resort Romance offering.
After Mary offered a full refund in the first evening, as she saw you were greatly affected by the fireplace smoke, and it was rejected, we did not offer a refund or compensation for your continued stay. I am sorry that your stay with us ended up so horrible, but we are only able to offer so much. Sorry we cannot have you ask for compensation after you had a full stay with us, especially since we offered you a full refund in the first day. Sincerely Yours. JohnS-Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

My husband and I returned for our 1st wedding anniversary!
We had gotten the same room as befor "The Rembrant" one of the master jr suites!
The room is huge and beautifly decorrated! We love having the hot tub on the balcony with the loung chairs...its our favorit place!
The staff are so friendly and ready to get anything you need....!
We had a small prob with a/c..we called the front desk and befor my husband could hang up the phone they were at our door! she called the teck guys and had it sorted out with in five minutes! So fast!
We had a great time getting dressed up for dinner it readlly does make it more romantic!
The food is just as we remembered it absolutly mouth watering...and the servic is wonderful the timing in between your courses is just the right amount of time!
we are looking forward to returning soon
Would reccomend this resort to any couple!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindsayR29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Just returned from a 2-night stay for our 27th Anniversary. It was our 2nd time to this resort. We had a lovely time, relaxing of course, but have some comments to make it better.

PROS:
Rooms: Lovely, spacious rooms. We stayed in the Masters Suites- it is very spacious with lovely room furniture, very comfortable King sized Bed, Nice shower, fireplace, comfy couch and best of all-a private hot tub on the deck. There is a whirlpool tub in your room, but who really uses this with the hot tub on the deck?

Food: We found the food excellent, and plenty of it. Breakfast and dinner is included in your stay. We did not have lunch as had a late breakfast and no need of lunch.

Service: Always accomodating. Wait staff very pleasant and effecient.

Spa: We had a couples massage. This was lovely. As a past guest, we were given a free massage and June special was 50% off for the 2nd one.

Travel time: June I guess is less busy, so they had some specials. I believe our room was 50% off, so we felt we got a really good deal. It was $645 for 2 nights. Great deal! If you can travel at this time, you will get a good deal.

CONS:
Grounds: The curb appeal of the resort is not that great. It would have been nicer is more private. The rooms overlook a small lake, which looks onto cottages on the other side. With the hot tubs on the deck, there isnt much privacy. There are some nice walking trails. There isnt much landscaping.

Rooms: The extra cost for coffee/tea in room is excessive, since you pay a good fee for your room. They should leave 4 pods(coffee/tea/hot choc) each night per room, free of charge...that would be nice. They should put up lattice in front of hot tub for more privacy, leave half open.

Pools/Hot Tub: Come on people...there are only adults coming to this resort. Why do you feel the need to close the pool and 5pm? You even lock the gates to ensure no-one gets in. ridiculous, really! It should be left open till at least 11 pm.

Sports Centre: Again, closes at 5pm...so no bikes, boats, sporting equipment. We are Adults...please get with the program here and offer these to us until 11 pm.

There appears to be lots of honeymooners that come here. The staff are all very friendly and accomodating. It could be much better if they revise the CONS as listed above.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mythreeboys89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

My girlfriend surprised me with a birthday/anniversary trip to the resort. It was a much needed night of relaxation. The room (Thailand) was fantastic, the spa treatments great. Dinner was good. Love the new menu but do miss the wild boar and strawberries. We will be back.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rybak1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Just returned from a two night stay at the Couples Resort. What an amazing place! Our room (exotic jr suite) was beautiful, spacious and very clean. The bed was huge and very comfortable. I was disappointed however with the quality of bedding...not five star by any means but comfortable non the less. There was a flat screen tv and a woodburning fireplace - a very nice touch. The bathroom was nice with a steam shower complete with benches. There was a small kitchen area with microwave, fridge and keurig coffee maker...and yes as other reviewers have mentioned there is a $2 charge for each K cup. We brought our own. There was a jacuzzi tub in our room which we didn't use cause we had a hot tub on our balcony. That was great and we did enjoy it often. How nice to relax in the tub with a view of the beautiful lake! I cannot say enough about the quality of food! It was absolutely spectacular! Gourmet all the way! The portions were more than adequate and with five courses I cannot think that anyone would leave hungry. And how nice to have a dress code for dinner. No ball caps, track pants....and no cell phones or texting. Breakfasts were delicious as well. I found the staff very friendly and helpful. The reception staff were especially helpful. We had beautiful hot and sunny weather and did get a chance to use the salt water pool. The temperature was 90! We rented a motor boat one afternoon and what a bargain it turned out to be! $50 for 5 1/2 hours! Our stay was very relaxing. I found the resort quiet and very private. We're planning a return trip in the fall!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nancyd751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitney
20.1 mi away
Algonquin Eco-Lodge
Algonquin Eco-Lodge
#4 of 16 in Algonquin Provincial Park
110 reviews
22.1 mi away
Nomi Resort
Nomi Resort
#1 of 1 in Harcourt
163 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Mad Musher
The Mad Musher
#5 of 6 in Whitney
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 mi away
Spectacle Lake Lodge
Spectacle Lake Lodge
#3 of 8 in Barry's Bay
79 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hay Lake Lodge and Cottages
23.0 mi away
Arowhon Pines
Arowhon Pines
#3 of 16 in Algonquin Provincial Park
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Couples Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Couples Resort

Address: 139 Galeairy Lake Road | Algonquin Park, Whitney, Ontario K0J 2M0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Whitney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Whitney
Price Range: $54 - $392 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Couples Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is here that couples celebrating birthdays and anniversaries as well as honeymooners and recently married couples come to relax, embrace love, enjoy the organic spa and find the time to share an adventure. This is quite literally the hottest place to be in all four seasons, with 10 saunas, 27 walk-in steam rooms, 21 walk-in euro-showers, 23 outdoor hot tubs and 48 in-room Jacuzzi tubs each in front of a wood burning fireplace. All accommodations at the Couples Resort Exceed 5 Diamond standards, North America's toughest standards. Ontario's Couples Resort is situated on the shores of Galeairy Lake and the Madawaska River, with Algonquin Park as our backyard. The village of Whitney, Ontario is a short 15-minute walk away. We are surrounded with breathtaking wilderness, pure fresh air, secluded forests, pristine waters, an abundance of sunny days and a blanket of stars at night. This priceless peace and tantalizing tranquility is all yours for the taking.Those of you who need to escape from the bustle will find us calming and rejuvenating. There are many ways to do nothing if that is your wish. On the other hand, unlimited activities will keep the adventurer active all year round. Ontario's Natural Algonquin Park is ideal for the sport enthusiast or avid adventurer who will be delighted with the extraordinary activities available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Couples Hotel Whitney
Bear Trail Couples Resort
Couples Resort Ontario/Whitney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing