We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely couples resort”
Review of Couples Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Couples Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Newmarket, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely couples resort”
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Just returned from a 2-night stay for our 27th Anniversary. It was our 2nd time to this resort. We had a lovely time, relaxing of course, but have some comments to make it better.

PROS:
Rooms: Lovely, spacious rooms. We stayed in the Masters Suites- it is very spacious with lovely room furniture, very comfortable King sized Bed, Nice shower, fireplace, comfy couch and best of all-a private hot tub on the deck. There is a whirlpool tub in your room, but who really uses this with the hot tub on the deck?

Food: We found the food excellent, and plenty of it. Breakfast and dinner is included in your stay. We did not have lunch as had a late breakfast and no need of lunch.

Service: Always accomodating. Wait staff very pleasant and effecient.

Spa: We had a couples massage. This was lovely. As a past guest, we were given a free massage and June special was 50% off for the 2nd one.

Travel time: June I guess is less busy, so they had some specials. I believe our room was 50% off, so we felt we got a really good deal. It was $645 for 2 nights. Great deal! If you can travel at this time, you will get a good deal.

CONS:
Grounds: The curb appeal of the resort is not that great. It would have been nicer is more private. The rooms overlook a small lake, which looks onto cottages on the other side. With the hot tubs on the deck, there isnt much privacy. There are some nice walking trails. There isnt much landscaping.

Rooms: The extra cost for coffee/tea in room is excessive, since you pay a good fee for your room. They should leave 4 pods(coffee/tea/hot choc) each night per room, free of charge...that would be nice. They should put up lattice in front of hot tub for more privacy, leave half open.

Pools/Hot Tub: Come on people...there are only adults coming to this resort. Why do you feel the need to close the pool and 5pm? You even lock the gates to ensure no-one gets in. ridiculous, really! It should be left open till at least 11 pm.

Sports Centre: Again, closes at 5pm...so no bikes, boats, sporting equipment. We are Adults...please get with the program here and offer these to us until 11 pm.

There appears to be lots of honeymooners that come here. The staff are all very friendly and accomodating. It could be much better if they revise the CONS as listed above.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mythreeboys89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

866 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    503
    212
    92
    31
    28
See reviews for
Families
0
791
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 8, 2012

My girlfriend surprised me with a birthday/anniversary trip to the resort. It was a much needed night of relaxation. The room (Thailand) was fantastic, the spa treatments great. Dinner was good. Love the new menu but do miss the wild boar and strawberries. We will be back.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rybak1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Just returned from a two night stay at the Couples Resort. What an amazing place! Our room (exotic jr suite) was beautiful, spacious and very clean. The bed was huge and very comfortable. I was disappointed however with the quality of bedding...not five star by any means but comfortable non the less. There was a flat screen tv and a woodburning fireplace - a very nice touch. The bathroom was nice with a steam shower complete with benches. There was a small kitchen area with microwave, fridge and keurig coffee maker...and yes as other reviewers have mentioned there is a $2 charge for each K cup. We brought our own. There was a jacuzzi tub in our room which we didn't use cause we had a hot tub on our balcony. That was great and we did enjoy it often. How nice to relax in the tub with a view of the beautiful lake! I cannot say enough about the quality of food! It was absolutely spectacular! Gourmet all the way! The portions were more than adequate and with five courses I cannot think that anyone would leave hungry. And how nice to have a dress code for dinner. No ball caps, track pants....and no cell phones or texting. Breakfasts were delicious as well. I found the staff very friendly and helpful. The reception staff were especially helpful. We had beautiful hot and sunny weather and did get a chance to use the salt water pool. The temperature was 90! We rented a motor boat one afternoon and what a bargain it turned out to be! $50 for 5 1/2 hours! Our stay was very relaxing. I found the resort quiet and very private. We're planning a return trip in the fall!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancyd751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We have been to Couples twice and will likely go back - The service was above and beyond the average and everyone was most accomodating to make our stay worth every penny we spent. The idea of having your own private cabin is most romatic and you get the feeling you are the only couple up there. The food was awesome and plentiful - recommend the food is definately a 5 star. The spa was well worth the trip, you are made to feel special by the staff. We stayed in Cygnus and there is only one recommendation I have - the couch could be replaced as it is even softer than the year before. This is only a minor thing and our week end was most enjoyable.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marion S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

My wife and I spent 7 days here a couple summers ago for our honeymoon.

We stayed in a chateau and have never resided in such luxury. Huge bed, whirlpool, hot time, steam shower room, sauna, warm stone wall fireplace. We loved the scenery and surroundings. Went to Algonquin Park one day and horseback riding another. Had a wonderful wolf howl evening cruise, and enjoyed time during the days canoeing, paddle boating, rented a powerboat.

We met the matriarch of the Sorensen family in her art studio and had a lovely conversation heating stories about the property and her art.

The breakfasts were wonderful each morning in the dining room or on our private screened in gazebo. Nothing compared to the 5-course gourmet dinners thou. My wife has a number of food allergies and the chef prepared seperate dishes each night, modified so she could enjoy her meals as much as I did. Out of this world!

We did pay a pretty penny for all the extras but we decided since it was our honeymoon, we could go all out and never regret missing out on something. Would love to take her back for an anniversary - maybe #5 if I start saving now!

Cannot say in words how much we loved this place.

Room Tip: Lake view! It's beautiful in the morning, day, sunset AND under the starry night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gburl78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterdown, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012

We just spent a few days at this resort, and here are a few things we thought we would like to add. First of all. the rooms are beautiful and large. Having said that, they charged $2.00 for a cup of coffee for each pod you put in the machine. Having spent quite a bit I expected that to be included. They did not serve breakfast until 8:30 so nowhere else to get a cup of coffee not even room sevice started until then. This seemed a little strange, but they had a lot of time restrictions. The pool did not open until 12 noon and closed by 5pm so on a hot day like the long weekend just passed it was ridiculous. Not to mention it was heated at 88 degrees and it was 90 or more outside so no too cooling. The sport centre was also open at 11 am and closed by 4:30 so if you wanted to canoe after that, tough luck. The air was broke down this weekend so at supper we got to sweat out most of our meals except for the last day, finally. They said there was two staff members for every one guest but I don't agree with that at all. I hardly saw that many people on the resort. Same person served us at breakfast in the room, and lunch at the pool area and also dinner. It was all in all a dissapointment for the money. I still made good of the things that were okay I just think they need to work on there service a bit more and own up to there reputation.

Room Tip: spa villa, own parking, nice big room with jacuzzi and private setting
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Kimberly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

My husband and I stayed at The Couples Resort May 19-21, 2012, for our 2-year wedding anniversary.

Room:

We stayed in the Master Junior Suite’s located on the top floor of the building next to the Reception/dinning building. Our room was the Monet. The room was huge and elegant. It included a Swedish steam shower designed for two, a separate toilet/bidet room, jacuzzi tub, a four poster king-sized bed with down-filled pillow top, sitting area with 50+inch flat-screen TV, small table for two and a wood burning fireplace. There was a private patio (tinted glass) overlooking beautiful Galaiery Lake with a 4 person hot tub and two lounge chairs.

The room is designed to create intimacy and it worked. The outside hot tub was the highlight of the room. The room also came with a fridge, sink and Keurig coffee maker (tip: bring your own K-cups, bottled water, pop, etc… as they charge extra for theirs).

The sheets were very cheap and scratchy. It seemed odd to me for such a fancy room.

Food:

The food was excellent. The 5 course fine dining restaurant is very elegant. The weekend we were there was very hot and the AC in the dining room did not work very well at all – it was steamy. I felt bad for my poor husband in his tux! The meal consists of an amuse bouche, your choice of 2 starters, 1 entrée and dessert. The meal is very filling and I had to take my dessert to go each night. We had specialty coffee after dinner but it carried a hefty $40.00 price tag with it…

My favourite dish was the semi-boneless quail. If they have it on the menu, I highly recommend it.

The breakfast was just as excellent. I also highly recommend the eggs Benedict – the Canadian bacon is melt-in-your-mouth.

If you are “active” during the day, I suggest packing some non-perishable snacks to stave off your hunger in-between breakfast and dinner. Buying lunch at this place could set you back a mortgage payment!

Service:

The service at the restaurant was very good. Our server on our second night seemed overwhelmed or perhaps he was new, so he forgot a few things but still a great meal.
The service at the bar during the day was awful. The bartended didn’t know how to make a long island iced tea, he made me wait forever while he researched it and when I asked him about getting some food, he told me I could “go to the gift shop and buy a chocolate bar” despite the fact that the resort provides lunch.

I called down one evening for an ice bucket and two champagne flutes (the resort does not have public ice machines and the room comes with a small tray of ice which was melted into one solid block) and they told me I would have to pay a $10.00 fee. I hung up.

Grounds:

Aside from the beautiful view of the lake and Algonquin park, I expected more from the grounds. Not very well manicured – overgrown. Perhaps it improves throughout the summer.

Activities:

They have a recreation room with pool tables, etc… my husband and I did not use it, though. Did did hike the Bear Trail. Tip: take a picture of the map to refer to at a later point – it can be a little confusing once you’re in there.

Overall comments:

We paid almost $1200.00 for two nights at this resort, so we were taken aback by all of the extra “fees”. It really wouldn’t have killed them to include a free cocktail by the pool or champagne flutes and bucket at no charge. I feel like these small details ultimately affect their star rating for the negative in my view.

This resort is designed for couples and romance and very successfully so. It is a great getaway to do some rekindling. Keep this in mind when travelling to this resort – there are not many activities to keep you busy (you have to make your own fun!!)

Special shout of to the two couples who travelled together and showed up at dinner wasted and were loud and disrespectful: stay at a Super 8 next time – it’s more up your alley.

Room Tip: Pay the money to get one of the rooms with the outdoor, private hot tub. I believe they are the Mast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Geena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitney
23.0 mi away
Arowhon Pines
Arowhon Pines
#1 of 1 in Algonquin Provincial Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
20.1 mi away
Algonquin Eco-Lodge
Algonquin Eco-Lodge
#3 of 15 in Algonquin Provincial Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
17.1 mi away
Madawaska Lodge
Madawaska Lodge
#1 of 4 in Madawaska
5.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
95.3 mi away
Carriage Ridge Resort
Carriage Ridge Resort
#11 of 19 in Barrie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hay Lake Lodge and Cottages
0.5 mi away
The Mad Musher
The Mad Musher
#5 of 6 in Whitney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Couples Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Couples Resort

Property: Couples Resort
Address: 139 (End of ) Galeairy Lake Road | Algonquin Park, Whitney, Ontario K0J 2M0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Whitney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Whitney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Couples Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is here that couples celebrating birthdays and anniversaries as well as honeymooners and recently married couples come to relax, embrace love, enjoy the organic spa and find the time to share an adventure. This is quite literally the hottest place to be in all four seasons, with 10 saunas, 27 walk-in steam rooms, 21 walk-in euro-showers, 23 outdoor hot tubs and 48 in-room Jacuzzi tubs each in front of a wood burning fireplace. All accommodations at the Couples Resort Exceed 5 Diamond standards, North America's toughest standards. Ontario's Couples Resort is situated on the shores of Galeairy Lake and the Madawaska River, with Algonquin Park as our backyard. The village of Whitney, Ontario is a short 15-minute walk away. We are surrounded with breathtaking wilderness, pure fresh air, secluded forests, pristine waters, an abundance of sunny days and a blanket of stars at night. This priceless peace and tantalizing tranquility is all yours for the taking.Those of you who need to escape from the bustle will find us calming and rejuvenating. There are many ways to do nothing if that is your wish. On the other hand, unlimited activities will keep the adventurer active all year round. Ontario's Natural Algonquin Park is ideal for the sport enthusiast or avid adventurer who will be delighted with the extraordinary activities available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Couples Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Couples Hotel Whitney
Bear Trail Couples Resort
Couples Resort Ontario/Whitney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing