We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome resort,we will be back”
Review of Couples Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitney
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Couples Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 13, 2012

We went there for a two night break form the holiday maddness. A beautiful drive through the park to a great resort,, which in summer must be fantastic being on a lake.
We had an upgrade to a suite. Hot tub on the balcony, in room fire place, truly great bed. Food was great and being a smaller resort very romantic.
We booked with a discount coupon through Jaunt.com and price included all meals for two days, we only had to pay for booze.
Also booked through the resort , horse back riding , only minutes away. You can also go dog sledding if you like.
Dont worry so much about the negitive reviews, some people are never happy no matter where they go.
Go and have fun, we did.

Room Tip: Go for the upgrade, with hot tub on balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pawco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (904)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

769 - 775 of 904 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2012

My husband and I just returned from 3 nights in a Boutique Spa villa room at this resort. My father had visited it last year and raved about it but I was a little bit leery due to the negative reviews I had read here. All I can say is that we believe it is a truly 5-star property and cannot understand how anyone could be displeased.

The room was fabulous, clean, well-decorated and furnished. Loved the fireplace, the jacuzzi, the sauna and the bed. Wish it had been warmer as there is a lovely deck and screeened porch as well but, it was January in Canada after all.....

Some eeviewers complained about dated decor...It was obvious that some of the accomodations were older than others (ours looked new). Our advice? Ask, when booking for newer accomodations to avoid any problem. Read the descriptions of the rooms carefully--room sizes and features are very clearly outlined.

We really enjoy excellent food and the restaurant went beyond our expectations; both service and food were excellent. Again, we don't understand some of the negative comments. If you are accustomed to restaurants where quantity is valued over quality, then you will be disappointed. We found the quality to be superior and the portions perfect so that you left feeling comfortably full, not overstuffed.

We are looking forward to returning in the near future!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ellenbuckley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2012

OK let's start putting aside all the bad and the negatives that all we know, including the crazy prices, YES i have to admit that once you are inside the room, or in the balcony enjoying the hot tub on the middle of the winter, you are living an extremely wonderful experience.
Been there for 3 times i have to admit that some things make me return over there.

Room Tip: master junior suite 3rd floor, be aware, the carpet,the appearance of the place and the cleaning is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jssossa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2011

We just arrived, and the 'extras' that they said were included in the room, have suddenly been 'discontinued'. We were here last year and had a great time, however nothing has changed, this place is good for a first/last experience, but if coming back for a second time, don't bother, you are better off going to another resort/inn. We are here for new years eve and it was such a waste of money and time. We probably won't be back.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank Ashley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlene_O, Public Relations Manager at Couples Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Thank you for being a most wonderful repeat guest of the Couples Resort. We are again All Inclusive, so everything and more is now Included, see website for details. We are sorry that after the Great Recession of 2008 that we had to start charging for all the details. It was not pleasant for us either, and we are sorry it affected you and so many of our guests. It took a little longer for us to control costs and bring them down, so that we could start including everything again. Our costs are down and our prices are down and now we include more than ever. We welcome you back. JohnS-Owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2011

My wife and I just got back from our first two-night stay at The Couples Resort. It will NOT be our last! We stayed in a "Junior Suite" which is their lowest-priced option. We went up mid-week, off-season and the price was about $200 a night once you add in the eco-fees and corking fees (we brought our own wine for dinners.)

Even though ours was one of their cheapest rooms, the room came with a king-size bed, large two-person jacuzzi, mini-fridge, shower w/ tub and a real wood burning fireplace with free wood and fire starter supplied.

The resort is situated on the shores of a beautiful lake which is located just at the entrance to the historic Algonquin Park. There are spectacular hiking trails and lakes and wildlife within minutes of the resort, should you feel the need to burn off the sumptious meals provided at the resort. Included in the price of the room is a gourmet breakfast and 5-course dinner for two each day.

As wonderful as the area and the rooms are, the highlight for most guests may be the excellent meals. Over our two days, we enjoyed rack of lamb, sirloin steak, mushroom ravioli and Chiken Dijon A la Orange. Everything was beautifully seasoned and cooked to perfection. Portions were just right- by the time you finish dessert you feel completely sated yet not stuffed. The starters we liked the best were the Carpaccio Purse and the Marsala Poached Pear. They also have a daily soup that was always good too.

If you are a vegetarian (or just feel like pasta) then we highly recommend the Mushroom Ravioli. Meat dishes- we'd recommend the lamb or the steak. Both were excellent- just depends on what you feel like that night!

For desserts, my wife (like most women...lol) loves her chocolate and she loved the chocolate mousse. I went with the cheesecake and I cannot recall ever enjoying a better cheesecake. If you lke cheesecake, then I guarantee you'll love theirs!

There really wasn't any nightlife at the resort; everyone pretty much enjoyed their dinner then went back to their rooms afterwards- but that might be the whole point. This resort provides amazing food and a beautiful setting to provide couples with the perfect atmosphere to connect and remember why they fell in love. We'd highly recommend this resort for any couple looking for a romantic getaway for a couple of nights. We're giving it 5 stars for value because when you look at the room, the setting, the meals, then the price is actually very, very good.

The resort also offers an extensive list of massages and body treatments. We didn't get around to trying any of them this trip but plan to the next time.

Tips: 1. Bring soft drinks/mix and snacks for the afternoons. You can buy lunch at the resort (or in Algonquin Park) but you may not want or need a full lunch, as you will want to fully enjoy your dinner. 2. Bring bubble bath for the jacuzzi and your own massage oils. The resort provides these items in the rooms but they are expensive.

Room Tip: Junior suites or Master Junior suites: Ask for a room on the top floor. The view is better and you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ktown_rider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2011

Having read many critical reviews, we really were unsure of what to expect. But the two days we spent there were not enough, and I would have to say we would go again. How to describe it? We had an Exotic Jr. room. The bed was fantastic; the hot tub outside was nice, the one inside was nice, the fireplace worked well, if you know how to build a fire. Our room was clean and we felt very comfortable. The food was very enjoyable and the corkage fee was palatable, for Ontario (you have to remember, this is the province that gouges you for every/anything alcoholic...)

But... it is not five star. Four and half, maybe four and three quarters on a good day, but not five, unless you are counting on a scale of one to seven. Everyone we met was very freindly, eager to help and tried their absolute best. But we are not talking about French trained waiters and Milan concierges. This is Northern Ontario, hundreds of kilometers from anything remotely civilized, and these poor people work here 12 - 14 hours a day. We loved them, they worked their butts off, and made our stay easy and pleasant. But, be realisitic...

Caveats: the $2/coffee charge is stupid. If they don't like people stealing from them, put less in the room; who needs more than 2/day anyway?
'Eco-fee' should be optional; for those whose consciences torment them for their evironmental excesses, it's an easy way to blot out the guilt. But as a standard surcharge, it's cheesy.
Music: if you like your own music bring a jump-drive rather than your ipod; the ipod player is just a clock radio; the jump drive will play through your TV, which has better sound.
Internet access: a little more information up front would be good. The free version wouldn't let me access corporate e-mail (did my wife do that?). I was a little surprised that they would charge extra for unlimited Internet, but hey, remember where they are????

Room Tip: Go big or stay home; you don't go there to watch TV
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RNBY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2011

fourth visit and it will be our last....everything going downhill quality wise with prices going the other way....$30 eco-fee...really....try and find a recycling container....ask at the front desk what this money goes towards....$2 per cup for coffee in room....really....$400 per night per couple and they need $2 more....15% gratuity is automatically added to EVERYTHING, including your room....i understand 15% for meals, bar service etc, but how does the room command an additional 15% "tip".....its not enough that you pay HST at 13% for the room, now i am tipping a phantom 15% for what?????...breakfast to the room is included in the morning but dinner to your room has an extra charge of $10 (plus the mandatory 15% tip)....
water and pop is charged to your room (plus 15% of course).....gouge, gouge, gouge.....rooms are starting to get run down....carpets, furniture.....games room needs a complete makover.....charges after charges, plus tax plus mandatory 15% tip....what starts out as a $400 per night per couple, turns into $500 per night....in a nutshell, the biggest complaints are $30 for a "phantom" recycling program and 15% "tip" on your room....ouch...four nights here is equivalent to a week in the carribean, all inclusive....it was nice meeting all of you over the past 8 years, but i do belie we have met for the last time....

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank vanillagorilla58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitney
22.1 mi away
Nomi Resort
Nomi Resort
#1 of 1 in Harcourt
163 reviews
20.1 mi away
Algonquin Eco-Lodge
Algonquin Eco-Lodge
#4 of 16 in Algonquin Provincial Park
110 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hay Lake Lodge and Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.2 mi away
The Arlington Hotel
The Arlington Hotel
#1 of 1 in Maynooth
35 reviews
18.9 mi away
Spectacle Lake Lodge
Spectacle Lake Lodge
#3 of 8 in Barry's Bay
79 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Mad Musher
The Mad Musher
#5 of 6 in Whitney
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Couples Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Couples Resort

Address: 139 Galeairy Lake Road | Algonquin Park, Whitney, Ontario K0J 2M0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Whitney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Whitney
Price Range: $54 - $389 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Couples Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is here that couples celebrating birthdays and anniversaries as well as honeymooners and recently married couples come to relax, embrace love, enjoy the organic spa and find the time to share an adventure. This is quite literally the hottest place to be in all four seasons, with 10 saunas, 27 walk-in steam rooms, 21 walk-in euro-showers, 23 outdoor hot tubs and 48 in-room Jacuzzi tubs each in front of a wood burning fireplace. All accommodations at the Couples Resort Exceed 5 Diamond standards, North America's toughest standards. Ontario's Couples Resort is situated on the shores of Galeairy Lake and the Madawaska River, with Algonquin Park as our backyard. The village of Whitney, Ontario is a short 15-minute walk away. We are surrounded with breathtaking wilderness, pure fresh air, secluded forests, pristine waters, an abundance of sunny days and a blanket of stars at night. This priceless peace and tantalizing tranquility is all yours for the taking.Those of you who need to escape from the bustle will find us calming and rejuvenating. There are many ways to do nothing if that is your wish. On the other hand, unlimited activities will keep the adventurer active all year round. Ontario's Natural Algonquin Park is ideal for the sport enthusiast or avid adventurer who will be delighted with the extraordinary activities available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Couples Hotel Whitney
Bear Trail Couples Resort
Couples Resort Ontario/Whitney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing