We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would go again, regardless of the negatives...”
Review of Couples Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitney
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Couples Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 29, 2011

Having read many critical reviews, we really were unsure of what to expect. But the two days we spent there were not enough, and I would have to say we would go again. How to describe it? We had an Exotic Jr. room. The bed was fantastic; the hot tub outside was nice, the one inside was nice, the fireplace worked well, if you know how to build a fire. Our room was clean and we felt very comfortable. The food was very enjoyable and the corkage fee was palatable, for Ontario (you have to remember, this is the province that gouges you for every/anything alcoholic...)

But... it is not five star. Four and half, maybe four and three quarters on a good day, but not five, unless you are counting on a scale of one to seven. Everyone we met was very freindly, eager to help and tried their absolute best. But we are not talking about French trained waiters and Milan concierges. This is Northern Ontario, hundreds of kilometers from anything remotely civilized, and these poor people work here 12 - 14 hours a day. We loved them, they worked their butts off, and made our stay easy and pleasant. But, be realisitic...

Caveats: the $2/coffee charge is stupid. If they don't like people stealing from them, put less in the room; who needs more than 2/day anyway?
'Eco-fee' should be optional; for those whose consciences torment them for their evironmental excesses, it's an easy way to blot out the guilt. But as a standard surcharge, it's cheesy.
Music: if you like your own music bring a jump-drive rather than your ipod; the ipod player is just a clock radio; the jump drive will play through your TV, which has better sound.
Internet access: a little more information up front would be good. The free version wouldn't let me access corporate e-mail (did my wife do that?). I was a little surprised that they would charge extra for unlimited Internet, but hey, remember where they are????

Room Tip: Go big or stay home; you don't go there to watch TV
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RNBY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (909)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

779 - 785 of 909 reviews

Reviewed November 29, 2011

fourth visit and it will be our last....everything going downhill quality wise with prices going the other way....$30 eco-fee...really....try and find a recycling container....ask at the front desk what this money goes towards....$2 per cup for coffee in room....really....$400 per night per couple and they need $2 more....15% gratuity is automatically added to EVERYTHING, including your room....i understand 15% for meals, bar service etc, but how does the room command an additional 15% "tip".....its not enough that you pay HST at 13% for the room, now i am tipping a phantom 15% for what?????...breakfast to the room is included in the morning but dinner to your room has an extra charge of $10 (plus the mandatory 15% tip)....
water and pop is charged to your room (plus 15% of course).....gouge, gouge, gouge.....rooms are starting to get run down....carpets, furniture.....games room needs a complete makover.....charges after charges, plus tax plus mandatory 15% tip....what starts out as a $400 per night per couple, turns into $500 per night....in a nutshell, the biggest complaints are $30 for a "phantom" recycling program and 15% "tip" on your room....ouch...four nights here is equivalent to a week in the carribean, all inclusive....it was nice meeting all of you over the past 8 years, but i do belie we have met for the last time....

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank vanillagorilla58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

This is our 4th trip to this resort and we have always enjoyed going. In general it is still a great place to spend a couple nights with a loved one. However, if you have been here before (in the last 3 years) we noticed a couple of changes. The quality is not nearly as good as it used to be. The portions are small and the selection of deserts is very limited. The staff are generally friendly but the wait staff need a little more training with respects to manner (never stack dishes at the table !!!)

Sadly the resort has decided to tack on service charges to everything. These are disclosed on the website ($30 eco fee, $2 for drinks in room, $2 for K cups... etc.) but then they also add a 15 % service fee to those. There is also a $3 charge for sides at breakfast (really $3.00 for 4 pieces of bacon + fees, 3.90 in total).

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ti123us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

My wife and I have stayed at the Couples Resort in Whitney several times. Most recently to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. We had a great time, but found a couple of areas we felt could have improved our visit. We wrote Couples with our concerns and found the owners truly concerned about any problems we'd encountered and were very professional in their response to us. Obviously in a service industry such as theirs word of mouth is tantamount to success and repeat business is important to them. Given the way they responded we have already booked our 36th anniversary next year with them. I would have no problem recommending others give them a chance. The food is great and the rooms give you every opportunity for a relaxed and romantic getaway.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mohearn4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2011

We just got back from the couple resort Nov 2011. I suspect that there are two types of rooms-those which have been renovated and those which have not. We were put in a room which has not. The reviews which are positive are from those who stayed in the nicer rooms.

The room (in building 40-54) remind me of places I stayed as a child in the 70's. The dark green carpet (with multiple burn marks) is the same, the floral wallpaper and curtains are the same the 27 inch Cathode ray tube TV and the large green jacuzzi is the same. The wet carpet surrounding the jacuzzi, the wet plaster above the jacuzzi (presumable from the leaking jacuzzi on the floor above), the two human shaped (permanent) dents in the mattress and the rotting wood surrounding the shower were all new experiences.

THIS IS A 2 STAR ROOM- not 5 as advertised. It is more akin to a HoJo than a Hilton. Incredibly there are signs that you will be charged $2 for coffee you make yourself in the room. This is in an nearly $300 a night stay.

The staff at the front desk were either very pleasant and friendly or unpleasant , unhelpful and argumentative. The same is true of the restaurant- we were phoned, in our room 5 minutes after our dinner reservation, as we were putting our coats on, to ask where we were! We then arrivede at an nearly empty restaurant and were told that you have to arrive on time to allow the kitchen to flow properly. I am uncertain how every, busier restaurant on earth manages.

You are seated by a man who repeats, verbatim, the same scripted lines to every single table he seats. You will hear them over and over- including the appetizer of baked brie with fruit 'compost' (delicious)

The wait staff is very attentive (too much so but pleasantly). The food is OK, the wine list is OK. You are asked to not tip (as you are charged within your bill) yet a service charge is added to your bar bill. Anything other than the set menu and you are charged extra.

You are charged a $30 eco- carbon offset tax yet there are no recycling bins provided in the rooms, nor obvious in the common areas.

The spa treatment was good but the front desk staff complained to my wife that they would have to get the spa girl in "early" so my wife would have to be there early as well (despite the fact that it would still start at the advertised time) as though it was somehow her fault that they were offering treatments at 9 am.

there is free wifi in the room, EXCEPT if you use an iphone, or ipad or mac product as their system 'struggles with these"

Overall the resort is absolutely not as advertised- it in over priced and unpleasant. It is near to the east gate of Algonquin and that is a blessing. There is nothing to do in the town barring outdoor activities (which is why we went)

Save your money- find a nice little B&B and stay there get a nice bottle of wine at the LCBO and then blow the remainder on the best meal you can find in town.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank mspenceb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2011

My husband and I went for 3 day's and 2 night's it was great that there were no kid's and the atmosphere was very relaxed we arrived a bit early and our room was not ready yet but we went down to the rec room and played some pool and dart's they ahave a lot of options down there i read on other posts that it was dark and not a great areabut we had lot's of fun and there was enough lighting.
Dinner was great, it was nice to get all dressed up for once, the service was amazing and the food was very good.
The next day we were booked for a massage each, one hour each well mine only lasted about 45-50 min and it wasn't that great my husband had a better experiance than me and got a full hour.
The room was very nice we stayed in the exotic room we had a hot tub outside which was great the only "problem" we had was that we had the fire place going and then went to take a shower so we put on the vent and it sucked in all the smoke from the fire place which set the alarm going none stop and the room was full of smoke for a while.
We called the front desk and they sent someone over right away but as we tried to have a nap and the alarm kept going .....
Anyway all in all it was a great trip we did relax and enjoy our time alone.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KNGD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2011

Well I saw some of the negatives for the resort and they seemed very specific in nature. Well I can tell you we had NO complaints!
Our first night was in a Master Junior Suite...............spectacular! The very friendly girl at the check-in mentioned it had some extra bells and whistles in the bathroom. Boy did it ever!
Loved the STEAM SHOWER!! You could shower without the steam as well but boy did you feel clean when you steamed!!
The room was huge and included our own hot tub on the balcony overlooking the lake. Sure the lake is small and man made but it is very typical of many of the beautiful lakes in the area.
The food was as good as advertized and the service while we were there was 5 star. Everyone at the resort was friendly and warm. Again............no complaints!!

Room Tip: Best value is the Master Junior Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gladalloverCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitney
22.1 mi away
Nomi Resort
Nomi Resort
#1 of 1 in Harcourt
163 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hay Lake Lodge and Cottages
23.2 mi away
The Arlington Hotel
The Arlington Hotel
#1 of 1 in Maynooth
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23 mi away
Arowhon Pines
Arowhon Pines
#3 of 16 in Algonquin Provincial Park
184 reviews
20.1 mi away
Algonquin Eco-Lodge
Algonquin Eco-Lodge
#4 of 16 in Algonquin Provincial Park
110 reviews
18.9 mi away
Spectacle Lake Lodge
Spectacle Lake Lodge
#3 of 8 in Barry's Bay
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Couples Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Couples Resort

Address: 139 Galeairy Lake Road | Algonquin Park, Whitney, Ontario K0J 2M0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Whitney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Whitney
Price Range: $55 - $400 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Couples Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is here that couples celebrating birthdays and anniversaries as well as honeymooners come to relax, embrace love, enjoy the organic spa and find the time to share an adventure. Quite literally the hottest place to be in all four seasons, with 10 saunas, 27 walk-in steam rooms, 21 walk-in euro-showers, 48 outdoor hot tubs and 48 in-room Jacuzzi tubs each in front of a wood burning fireplace. All accommodations at the Couples Resort Exceed 5 Diamond standards, North America's toughest standards. Ontario's Couples Resort is situated on the shores of Galeairy Lake and the Madawaska River,with Algonquin Park as our backyard. . We are surrounded with breathtaking wilderness, pure fresh air, secluded forests, pristine waters, an abundance of sunny days and a blanket of stars at night. This priceless peace and tantalizing tranquility is all yours for the taking. Those of needing to escape from the bustle will find us calming and rejuvenating. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Couples Hotel Whitney
Bear Trail Couples Resort
Couples Resort Ontario/Whitney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing