We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent affordable couples getaway in the off season”
Review of Couples Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitney
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Couples Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 28, 2011

Stayed here in a junior suite for the couples, two nights, off season package. It includes accomodation; a large menu choice of a fabulous breakfast for two, both mornings in either the dining room or delivered to your room/villa/chalet; five course gourmet dinner for two for both evenings. The food is plentiful and very tasty. Staff in the dining room are very friendly.
The jacuzzi tub and fireplace in the living area are really nice touches.
We will be returning this November 2011 and upgrading to a villa accomodation.

Room Tip: In the Jr suites the bathrooms are a little dated, but the unit itself was very clean and very large
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happytravellers51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (908)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

791 - 797 of 908 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2011

The resort is in desperate need of a facelift.
The rooms are spacious and have a great view BUT the decor is very old and dated.
The wood burning fireplace was delightful and they even provide a starter log! and a generous amount of firewood! (unlimited)
That was the only generosity of the resort.
The rooms are equipped with a loveseat in front of the fireplace and not conducive to inviting another couple to join for drinks/snacks, etc. because there is no where else to sit, except on bar chairs!
There is no "common room" which is conducive to sitting around and relaxing, reading or socializing. The "Recreation Room" is located in the basement of the main building and is not unlike someone's poorly decorated basement. 1960s-1970s decor (Yuchh) and very dark - no windows. There are some chairs and couches, but who would want to spend the time down there in the dungeon?
They advertise 4 pool tables but they don't tell you that they, too, are from the 1970s and worn down - no felt left on the table top.

The dining room is pretty and the food was good, however service for dinner was VERY slow. I guess there is nothing else to do but sit and eat in the evening and dinners took 2 hours! A glass of wine for $12? or pay corkage by bringing your own bottle and pay $10 plus tax? I thought that was a little excessive!
AND the dress code is a little much. After hiking in the park all day why would anyone feel like getting "dressed" for dinner? Jackets and ties? Really?

The real turn off was: Imagine being charged for the tea/coffee provided in the room!!! That was a surprise! Read the small print!!!
Another turn off? At midnight, the clock radio alarm went off and no one knew how to fix this problem. Turn off! The only solution was to unplug the darn thing!

Overall we had a good time because we always do. We got a good "deal" price-wise (off season) But we would not go back for any price!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheStarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2011

Good thing this wasn't a special occasion. We met another couple, to spend some time together. Clearly, they are not set up for this. It is pretty boring, no indoor pool, hot tub or common area to read or play a board game. No bar/lounge. The pool tables, in the basement, (which looked like my parents rec room) were beyond worn out.

Decor is 80s and the rooms are in disrepair - the mirror on the closet was cracked, etc. Our carpet was stained, worn and dusty rose coloured. I agree with the others, I wouldn't trust the cleanliness of the jacuzzi tub, and it was dusty. The fireplace was great, and the little signs everywhere were adorable (ie "use cord to open curtain"). Otherwise, accomodation was nice, especially the bed and pillows and linen. Also a nice view.

However, all 4 of us felt we were being "nickled and dimed" such as being charged for coffee in the room, the corkage in the dining room, and charges for extra side dishes. Just charge me more per night and give me coffee. The dining room was ridiculous - expensive, ugly decor (but nice china), but the chairs totally did not match the carpet, which did not match the "Group of Seven-ish" art. The food was pretentious - pretending to be upscale, but just over done. Also, it would help if the wait staff were trained in proper service and could pronounce such things as "amuse-bouche" and sommelier. The service was painfully slow, and the food was in general not hot. Although the breakfasts were good, the juices were canned (apple juice?really?) - not sure where the grapefruit juice came from but no pulp and syrupy sweet. Agreed again, the coffee was like water. The menu was kind of 80s too.

It was full though, so people either don't know better or don't have high expectations. I would have been really pissed off if I had paid full price.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2011

My wife and I have stayed at Couples 2 times and would not hesitate to go back. All rooms come equipped with your own personal jacuzzi and fire-place. We have stayed in both the Master Junior suite and the Exotics and both rooms are a great value for the money. Gourmet meals are expertly cooked and a wide range of seating times available. Also included was a delicious breakfast with a wide variety on the menu to suit all tastes. Make sure you take advantage of the spas. Well trained friendly staff who certainly know what they are doing. Very close to Algonquin park so you can take advantage of the many trails

Room Tip: Junior suites are best bet economically speaking No hot tub but you do have in room jacuzzi
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2011

This resort on the border of Algonquin Park in Northern Ontario was well worth the six hundred kilometre drive. The fall colours on our way through the park were the best we have ever seen. The check in was very quick and easy. We stayed at one of the "Spa Boutique Villas: with real wood burning fireplce, in room hot tub, European Spa (with steam) twin shower and best of all, a wonderful hot wet Sauna. The king size bed was very comfortable and the room was well furnished. The nightly rate included a delicious five course dinner and a full cooked breakfast ( we had eggs Benedict). Even though it was late in September we also had time for a quick complimentary canoe ride and used the outdoor heated swimming pool and hot tub. The regular cost per night for this villa is approximately $350.00 however if you have flexible time schedules they often have highly discounted offers on their website.
We would return at the drop of a hat.

Room Tip: view their website photos to select room type
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterJJDavidson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2011

It was a nice resort for couples with a premium price tag $138 Per Person (Oct, 2011). We were just staying in a junior suite; it was a cheapest already. The room was very nice with a fire place and jacuzzi without any extra charge. But the 15% of gratuity automatic charge, $30 environment fee & taxes, the bill really added up. My final bill was $390’s CAD dollar for 2 days & 1 night with room, dinner, breakfast, gratuity and taxes. The 5 courses meal was very gourmet, (High end restaurant style). It was something different. If it was a super super occasion, dollar per dollar it would be worth. Otherwise, wait for the low season, you can save much more.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loong97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2011

This is our 3rd visit to this beautiful resort and we have never been disappointed with the accommodations or the excellent quality gourmet meals served. We have stayed in the Jr Suites and the Villas. All the accommdations are very nicely furnished and spacious. During our recent stay I quickly put some logs on the fireplace to take the chill out. Our Balcony had huge Maple tree and view of the lake and surrounding area. Although the leaves are nearly finished the scenery was still pretty. This is a great area to visit if you enjoy visiting Alqonquin Park or to scout the nearby towns. The resort was completely full on our stay, as lot of folks were taking advantage of the reasonable pricing during October.
DINNER: Once again we enjoyed the Dinner. The seating is nicely positioned so that you have privacy. We brought our own wine (corkage fee $10.00) as did most of the other guests.
There is a lot of variety on the menu and the food during our stay was excellent! I always look forward to the deserts and really enjoyed the "Chocolate Brule". The breakfast choices although somewhat basic are served fresh and hot. The service at the resort is always friendly and efficient.

Room Tip: If you want something special try the "Villas".
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bird481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitney
22.1 mi away
Nomi Resort
Nomi Resort
#1 of 1 in Harcourt
163 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hay Lake Lodge and Cottages
23.2 mi away
The Arlington Hotel
The Arlington Hotel
#1 of 1 in Maynooth
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Madawaska Lodge
Madawaska Lodge
#1 of 4 in Madawaska
14 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Mad Musher
The Mad Musher
#5 of 6 in Whitney
17 reviews
23 mi away
Arowhon Pines
Arowhon Pines
#3 of 16 in Algonquin Provincial Park
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Couples Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Couples Resort

Address: 139 Galeairy Lake Road | Algonquin Park, Whitney, Ontario K0J 2M0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Whitney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Whitney
Price Range: $55 - $401 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Couples Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is here that couples celebrating birthdays and anniversaries as well as honeymooners come to relax, embrace love, enjoy the organic spa and find the time to share an adventure. Quite literally the hottest place to be in all four seasons, with 10 saunas, 27 walk-in steam rooms, 21 walk-in euro-showers, 48 outdoor hot tubs and 48 in-room Jacuzzi tubs each in front of a wood burning fireplace. All accommodations at the Couples Resort Exceed 5 Diamond standards, North America's toughest standards. Ontario's Couples Resort is situated on the shores of Galeairy Lake and the Madawaska River,with Algonquin Park as our backyard. . We are surrounded with breathtaking wilderness, pure fresh air, secluded forests, pristine waters, an abundance of sunny days and a blanket of stars at night. This priceless peace and tantalizing tranquility is all yours for the taking. Those of needing to escape from the bustle will find us calming and rejuvenating. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Couples Hotel Whitney
Bear Trail Couples Resort
Couples Resort Ontario/Whitney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing