We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place to get away from it all”
Review of Couples Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Couples Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best Place to get away from it all”
Reviewed October 23, 2011

My wife and I have stayed at Couples 2 times and would not hesitate to go back. All rooms come equipped with your own personal jacuzzi and fire-place. We have stayed in both the Master Junior suite and the Exotics and both rooms are a great value for the money. Gourmet meals are expertly cooked and a wide range of seating times available. Also included was a delicious breakfast with a wide variety on the menu to suit all tastes. Make sure you take advantage of the spas. Well trained friendly staff who certainly know what they are doing. Very close to Algonquin park so you can take advantage of the many trails

Room Tip: Junior suites are best bet economically speaking No hot tub but you do have in room jacuzzi
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

871 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    506
    213
    93
    31
    28
See reviews for
Families
0
796
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ridgetown, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2011

This resort on the border of Algonquin Park in Northern Ontario was well worth the six hundred kilometre drive. The fall colours on our way through the park were the best we have ever seen. The check in was very quick and easy. We stayed at one of the "Spa Boutique Villas: with real wood burning fireplce, in room hot tub, European Spa (with steam) twin shower and best of all, a wonderful hot wet Sauna. The king size bed was very comfortable and the room was well furnished. The nightly rate included a delicious five course dinner and a full cooked breakfast ( we had eggs Benedict). Even though it was late in September we also had time for a quick complimentary canoe ride and used the outdoor heated swimming pool and hot tub. The regular cost per night for this villa is approximately $350.00 however if you have flexible time schedules they often have highly discounted offers on their website.
We would return at the drop of a hat.

Room Tip: view their website photos to select room type
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterJJDavidson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
138 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2011

It was a nice resort for couples with a premium price tag $138 Per Person (Oct, 2011). We were just staying in a junior suite; it was a cheapest already. The room was very nice with a fire place and jacuzzi without any extra charge. But the 15% of gratuity automatic charge, $30 environment fee & taxes, the bill really added up. My final bill was $390’s CAD dollar for 2 days & 1 night with room, dinner, breakfast, gratuity and taxes. The 5 courses meal was very gourmet, (High end restaurant style). It was something different. If it was a super super occasion, dollar per dollar it would be worth. Otherwise, wait for the low season, you can save much more.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loong97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2011

This is our 3rd visit to this beautiful resort and we have never been disappointed with the accommodations or the excellent quality gourmet meals served. We have stayed in the Jr Suites and the Villas. All the accommdations are very nicely furnished and spacious. During our recent stay I quickly put some logs on the fireplace to take the chill out. Our Balcony had huge Maple tree and view of the lake and surrounding area. Although the leaves are nearly finished the scenery was still pretty. This is a great area to visit if you enjoy visiting Alqonquin Park or to scout the nearby towns. The resort was completely full on our stay, as lot of folks were taking advantage of the reasonable pricing during October.
DINNER: Once again we enjoyed the Dinner. The seating is nicely positioned so that you have privacy. We brought our own wine (corkage fee $10.00) as did most of the other guests.
There is a lot of variety on the menu and the food during our stay was excellent! I always look forward to the deserts and really enjoyed the "Chocolate Brule". The breakfast choices although somewhat basic are served fresh and hot. The service at the resort is always friendly and efficient.

Room Tip: If you want something special try the "Villas".
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bird481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marmora, Canada
Level Contributor
160 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2011

First of all, I would strongly recommend that The Couples web site (http://www.couplesresort.ca/) be thoroughly reviewed before anyone decides to book a stay at the resort. All charges are fully disclosed and the accommodations are properly described.

The Room:
My wife and I stayed at The Couples for the first time arriving on Oct. 11th and stayed for two nights...choosing a Master Junior Suite. We have never stayed in such a luxurious room before. Everything was clean and worked properly. 2 thumbs up! The room has a Keurig coffee maker and a supply of Keurig coffee, tea and hot chocolate cups (extra $).

During our stay, we asked at the front desk if we could see a Junior Suite (which is much less expensive). We were given a key to an unoccupied room and checked it out. The Jr. Suite is very nice and at 600 square feet is very big. I wouldn't hesitate in booking one if I could get the right room number ;-). Check out my room tips.

All accommodations are air conditioned and have an ample supply of wood.

All of the staff we encountered were very friendly and courteous.

The Dining Room:
Very classy and beautiful. Comfortable chairs. There are two walls with windows and if you would like a window table I would suggest you take the earliest seating, or about an hour and a half later. The breakfast was very good and well presented. The evening meal is also very good with lots of choices.

There is a recreation area below the dining room which consists of 2 rooms. The one room has a billiard table and the other has two billiard tables, shuffleboard table, dart boards, ping pong table and a fireplace area. In my opinion, the room is too small for what's in it. We couldn't have a shuffle board game due to a couple playing darts.

Algonquin Park: The 'Algonquin Visitor Centre' which is only a 20 minute drive from the resort' is a 'must see'. We spent at least 2hrs. inside with so much to see. Make sure you check the hours of operation as they change with the seasons.

Overview:
The Couples Resort is a beautiful and luxurious resort and I would not hesitate in considering a return visit. On the negative side, they charge extra for things that are included in the room rate in other comparable resorts.

We really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: If booking a Junior Suite, rooms 48, 49, 53 & 54 have an unobstructed view (from trees) of the l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JMC002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

We just spent one night at this "resort " for couples and feel like we were robbed.The cost for their cheapest room was $600 and change. The location and the dinner and breakfast which came with the stay were excellent The beds were nice. After that it was downhill. Carpet from the 80's was so stretched that we tripped on the wrinkles. The bathroom flooring was old vinyl with huge water marks where water had leaked under it. The bathroom fixtures were old and rusted. The place smelled of mould, the old hallway carpets were dirty with sand and grass. The free bicycles and canoes were not available after 5:00pm despite the fact that checkin is 4:00pm Checkout was 11:00am and a sign on the pool said it would open at 2:00pm. When I mentioned to the manager that the rooms are very dated she said yes they are but if they were to redo them they would have to charge more - what $800?

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank babyelephant00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2011

The view is nice, the master suites, have carpet that give off a smell of mold. Carpet should be replaced. Beds are very comfortable, wood fireplace cozy, hot tub hot needs a cover lifter. The wires in and around the tv's are sloppy. The food was the biggest disappointment. The dinner is really a four course meal, unless you call a tiny ball of Mellon with a sliver a prescutto a course. The chicken was not cooked enough, the steak is loaded with pepper, and the portion sizes are small. Over all I think I would go back only if the deal was right. Full price would be out of the question. They need a new menu, that lives upto their dress code.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bbkkll44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitney
23.0 mi away
Arowhon Pines
Arowhon Pines
#1 of 1 in Algonquin Provincial Park
163 reviews
20.1 mi away
Algonquin Eco-Lodge
Algonquin Eco-Lodge
#3 of 15 in Algonquin Provincial Park
105 reviews
18.9 mi away
Spectacle Lake Lodge
Spectacle Lake Lodge
#4 of 8 in Barry's Bay
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Madawaska Lodge
Madawaska Lodge
#1 of 4 in Madawaska
8 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hay Lake Lodge and Cottages
22.1 mi away
Nomi Resort
Nomi Resort
#1 of 1 in Harcourt
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Couples Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Couples Resort

Property: Couples Resort
Address: 139 (End of ) Galeairy Lake Road | Algonquin Park, Whitney, Ontario K0J 2M0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Whitney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Whitney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Couples Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is here that couples celebrating birthdays and anniversaries as well as honeymooners and recently married couples come to relax, embrace love, enjoy the organic spa and find the time to share an adventure. This is quite literally the hottest place to be in all four seasons, with 10 saunas, 27 walk-in steam rooms, 21 walk-in euro-showers, 23 outdoor hot tubs and 48 in-room Jacuzzi tubs each in front of a wood burning fireplace. All accommodations at the Couples Resort Exceed 5 Diamond standards, North America's toughest standards. Ontario's Couples Resort is situated on the shores of Galeairy Lake and the Madawaska River, with Algonquin Park as our backyard. The village of Whitney, Ontario is a short 15-minute walk away. We are surrounded with breathtaking wilderness, pure fresh air, secluded forests, pristine waters, an abundance of sunny days and a blanket of stars at night. This priceless peace and tantalizing tranquility is all yours for the taking.Those of you who need to escape from the bustle will find us calming and rejuvenating. There are many ways to do nothing if that is your wish. On the other hand, unlimited activities will keep the adventurer active all year round. Ontario's Natural Algonquin Park is ideal for the sport enthusiast or avid adventurer who will be delighted with the extraordinary activities available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Couples Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Couples Hotel Whitney
Bear Trail Couples Resort
Couples Resort Ontario/Whitney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing