We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Adventure Lodge
Nearby Hotels
$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Nomi Resort(Harcourt)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pinewood Inn(Barry's Bay)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mountain View Motel(Barry's Bay)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Little Hawk Resort & Marina(Algonquin Highlands)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (226)
Filter reviews
226 results
Traveler rating
127
53
22
11
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
127
53
22
11
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsalgonquin parkwonderful hostsget awaycouples resortpark passsalmoncooked mealsgreat weekendmy husband and ilarger cabinlocation is fantasticmadawaska riverlog cabinbreakfast and dinnerwood burning fireplacethis past weekendbring your own wine
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
208 - 213 of 226 reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2008

The Lodge is in a beautiful location, very convenient to Algonquin Park (5 km from the East Gate) and next to the pristine Madawaska river. The cottages are comfortable and spacious (with a nice fireplace) and very clean. Internet access, bikes and kayaks use are included in the package. For runners, a 50 km rail trail starts just step from the property. The staff is nice and very helpful - a very pleasant Lodge, really convenient to visit the spectacular Algonquin.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Dani66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2008

The Adventure Lodge was great. We had a beautiful, well-kept cabin with a huge bed, fireplace, satellite tv, and a fridge. The food was delicious, too - it was fun (if gluttonous) to be given a full four-course dinner every night. The staff are really friendly - but not intrusive. When I smoked us out of the room by forgetting to open the fireplace's flue, they were kind and forgiving (oops). And, of course, Algonquin Park is amazing. The lodge is just a few miles from the park gate.

We don't tend to stay at high-end places, but we went right at the end of the off season, so we got a great deal. It was so much fun! The only downside to this was that we didn't get to use the kayaks, as the river was too high. We rented one in the park, though, so it was no problem.

Overall, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank CatForest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2008

Apr. 29 - May 1, 2008 - My husband and I took a 4 day get-away with friends...just the two of us. My friend recommended we try The Adventure Lodge. She had stayed in one of the cottages when they were situated at the former "Bear Trail Inn" (now The Couples Resort). The Adventure Lodge is owned by the same people who own The Couples Resort and you can tell. The cottages are very cosy with wood burning fire places, large jacuzzi's, kind size beds, satellite t.v., not huge, but very comfortable for a romantic getaway. The food was excellent and the service was very warm and friendly. We were treated to 4 course dinners of things like rabbit, venison, salmon and the desserts were yummy too. It was all very tasty, generously portioned (especially breakfast) and presented very nicely. The dining room is comfortable and has a warm feel to it especially when the fireplace is one. The view over the river is nice even in early spring. Firewood is delivered to your door every day and the maid service was superb. Being next to Algonquin Park, there are lots of trails to explore and a very nice visitor's centre. I'm sure the scenery in suumer/fall must be spectacular, but that's only if you are prepared to enjoy it along with thousands of other people. At the end of April, beginning of May, we were virtually the only ones there, but for one or two other people we saw, so we decided sacrificing the leaves and the warmer weather was worth it to avoid the mobs! The price for our 3 night, 4 day stay with 2 meals on each day was $436.00 which included all gratuities. I hesitate to put the price on here for fear that the place will be booked up for years and we'll never get to go back!! It really was an incredible deal for what we got. Being a young family on a budget, the great value made it that much more enjoyable. After 17 years and this being our longest time away from our 2 kids, our get-away to The Adventure Lodge was truly lovely. We remembered how much we still loved each other. We plan to return next year for sure. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Catgou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2008

April 29, 2008 to May 2, 2008

My husband and I with our best friends spent 4 wonderful days at Adventure Lodge, Whitney Ontario for our 15th wedding anniversary. This was our first trip in 15 years without children.
We had the Grenada and Jamaica cabins. They were so clean,neat and tidy. The best was having the jacuzzi for 2 and the fireplace. We honeymooned at the Bear Trail Inn, in Whitney which is now known as the Couples Resort 15 years ago. Actually the cabins that we stayed in at the Bear Trail Inn got moved to the Adventure Lodge. Our old "honeymoon cabin" is now named the Dominican at the Adventure Lodge. This whole setting brought back a lot of wonderful memories.
We took a tip into Algonquin Park to do some hiking, fishing and a lot of photography. The scenery even in the early spring is lovely. We took our friends for their first trip to the Algonquin Visitor Centre. I think we saw maybe 11 people visiting. It was so nice to walk around without being in someone's way. My husband and our family have been there in the summer and fall and it is utter CHAOS. You can't even move on the observation deck, because of the droves of people. So SPRING is the time to go and ENJOY!!!!!!
The FOOD!!! The food is delectable. The breakfasts are bountiful and if you go away hungry it is your own fault. There are so many things to choose from and all are tasty. You fill up at breakfast and you don't need lunch. The evening dinners were so delicious. We were so excited each day to see what the dinner choices would be and what we were going to choose that night. The servers and chefs were so nice and friendly. We loved being able to just sit in the diningroom with our friends and enjoy the delicious meals, in the pleasant, non-rush atmosphere with the fireplace and candlelight and the view of the rushing waters of the river nearby. The desserts were so delecatable. There again you just don't know which one to choose....
We truly loved our 4 days at Adventure Lodge. We wish we could have stayed longer. We will definately come again , hopefully next spring.......

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank javacow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2008

We visited the lodge in the winter. I loved it. Our room had a wood fireplace, with unlimited logs. We also had a large whirlpool tub in our room. Breakfast and Dinner were included as well. For the price, l had expected little in the way of fine dining, but was instead very impressed by the quality of the meals. I felt like l was on a cruise ship, chosing from the selections, and then waiting in anticipation for that evening meal. It was difficult saving small portions for the two resident stray cats. In retrospect, should have saved them more, as when we returned to our cabins each night were far too uncomfortable from our full tummies to sit in the hot tub.
I loved the two stray cats and let them into our cabin to sleep at the end of the bed. Do not tell the staff though.
Our hostess was very helpful. She booked our dog sledding expedition. I would have bet that she was Australian , but upon questioning, found that she was a South African who arrived in Whitney, married a Canadian, and never left. Gotta like those lumberjack and dog sledding men!!!
I will return next winter, and rent a ski doo. The trails there go forever along an old railway line; passing many waterfall along the way. For summer travellers it would be a kayakers paradise. But given the fact that it was winter when we were there l cannot comment on beaches. It was on a river, but a lake was a short walk down the ski doo trail. I am a hikker so l can affirm that this location would keep me busy for at least two weeks in the summer.
Yes yes l will be back, summer and winter.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank msbm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews