We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Autumn trail ride”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Adventure Stables

Adventure Stables
Stittsville, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Autumn trail ride”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

A short distance from the resort, the resort booked the trail ride and part of our final tab. The guide was the owner and very knowledgable. The ride took us in the surrounding countryside.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lucie Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    5
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orillia, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Novices riding off into the rain”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

Our guide Allison was very understanding as neither of us had ridden before yet this is something i had wanted to do for a while. My wife reluctantly came as well as she had a troublesome experience with a pony at a young age. We arrived in the rain and found out we were the only appointment for the day. Allison greeted us and introduced us to the horses in the stables. Each of them had names and it was so fun to see how each had their own personalities in such a short time.

After going through the safety and mechanics on how to direct our horse we saddled up, my wife using a nearby ramp to get on easier and I managed to mount without. Allison was very good in matching up our horses, as my wife had a larger softy of a horse named Rebel who seemed to be good with someone new to the whole scene. Though I had never rode a horse before either I was matched with a little more eager horse named Megan. We rode down the local street and onto the trail and was gone for a hour. It was just enough as we had a minor spook on one of the horses which in turn jolted each one and having never ridden it became a bit painful trying to stay in the saddle.

Allison answered all of our questions about the horses giving their ages and some of their personality quirks. We also found out that the stables operates dog sledding during the winter which we would love to do sometime. Though I would definitely go for another horseback ride as it was a memorable experience and we both had a fantastic time despite our lack of previous experience.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent customer service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

The customer service was outstanding. The owner is delightful and so is her father who took us out. The horses are well cared for and have excellent personalities. Only complaint is the trails are not exactly scenic for the most part.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fonthill, Ontario
Level Contributor
99 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“This was fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

We booked two adults and two 14 year old kids for the hour long ride. They have a great setup because it is just you and the guide at the stable and on the trails. We went on a hot day, but the forest trail was nice a shady and cool. The guide (forgot her name, sorry) was wonderful and patient with our two kids, as they don't have much riding experience. This made it a little challenging, as the start/end of the trail is pretty steep for inexperienced riders - but they were troopers and loved it. The only thing you have to be aware of is keeping the horses from eating along the way. My daughters horse was very strong and determined to eat, so half way through, the guide helped us carefully switch horses on the trail, so an adult with a little more strength could keep the horse from pulling to eat. We also had the guide pick a nice spot to take our picture for us!

This was a great time and I highly recommend.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank JoeFonthill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice horses”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

The hour long session at 50% off was great. Only complaint is our guide (young girl) spent a lot of time on her phone while riding. There are no discussion about the area, history, ect. It was a very quiet hour tour.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank miss_amanda_uwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Adventure Stables also viewed

Little Current, Manitoulin Island
 
Algonquin Provincial Park, Ontario
Horseshoe Valley, Ontario
 

Been to Adventure Stables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing