We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bellwood Inn at Algonquin”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitney
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bellwood Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 3 Whitney B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We visited Canada and booked this so called updated, double room with en suite, at the Algonquin Dream Catcher Motel and Bellwood Inn. We stayed at the Inn B&B. When we arrived we sent to the office of the 'motel' where a man with no shoes and blackened feet slouched in a chair behind the desk. He confirmed the booking and took the balance of payment and stode off saying he would show us our room. We grabbed our cases and were shown a cluttered lounge off a thin hall way on the way to our room. The man then went up the steep, plastic covered stair case and stood leaning againt the bannisters, opposite the bowing wall of our bedroom, and watched us drag our suitcases up the stairs. He stated breakfast started at 8.30am and that was the last we saw of him or his wife. The 'bed' was actually a sofa bed (broken at the foot)with a matress added on top. I sat down on it and pulled the curtain back in front of me to reveal a bath behind it - not 3 foot from where I was to sleep. That really is taking ensuite to the extreme. mWe had a very uncomfortable night and left early. Needless to say we did not stay for breakfast, for if the accomodation was a prequel to the delights of breakfast we felt it safer to eat else where. We travel quite a lot, but I think that apart from the flea ridden bed in a no star hostel in deepest Peru, this is the worst place we have stayed. The only good thing was its proximity to Algonquin Park. They sent an email asking how we had enjoyed our stay - I replied with 'Words fail us!!'

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank macpac61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BellwoodInn, Manager at Bellwood Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

My feet were black because I was gardening and you came before check in time. I was slouching in the chair because it had just broke earlier that morning and it had no support, a new one arrived the next day. Showing you to your room is nicer than telling you where it is is’int it?. The building is “historic” it was built in 1929 as advertised and we’re renovating it a little at a time. If the tub has to face into the bedroom in order to offer a private bathroom in each room than what’s wrong with that? People pay allot of money to have Jacuzzi’s in the bedroom at hotels. I pay extra for that regularly when my wife and I travel. We have half of our B&Bs renovation completed and its sad that this customer can’t appreciate the history of the place and was just looking for a completely modern facility as inexpensive as possible. For $85 per night including breakfast for two it is unreasonable to expect someone to carry your luggage to your room unless you request it and if you would have requested it I would have been more than happy to carry your luggage, I would carry you to your room if you would have asked me to. I take pride in my job and I regularly go above and beyond for the thousands of customers that I have stay here each year. I made a fantastic breakfast that included a large homemade waffle with fresh blue berry’s, whipped cream and bacon on the side with fresh coffee and orange juice. How can you review something you admit you never stayed for? You never told us you weren’t coming for breakfast and yours went to waste because of your lack of consideration for others which is again evident with your extremely biased review for us. In your trip advisor review you make fun of us for emailing you to say that we hope you enjoyed your stay (which is a good customer service thing to do) and then you seem happy about putting us down publicly with your reply 'Words fail us!!' You never complained once while you were here so you never gave us any opportunity to address any of your concerns however unique they might be. We have a brand new motel that is right next door to our B&B, if you would have just asked I would have been very happy to give you one of our deluxe rooms at it. I would recommend you stick to 5 star resorts because hostels and B&B’s don’t seem to be the kind of thing you can reasonably enjoy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (28)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 28 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed for a night at the bed and breakfast portion of the property in the room with ensuite bath. It was a small room decorated in QEE style: a camp folding chair, wooden stools, a very low to the floor (legless?) rockable chair, flower table lamp, curtain separated bath/shower. The toilet and wash basin in a closet sized space enclosed by a door. There was a coffee maker, kettle and microwave oven in the hall way along with a basket of folded towels. Also in the hall way was a shelve full of Reader's Digest books. Breakfast was served from 8:30 to 10:00 in the dining room down stairs. On the way into the dining room, you were greeted by a grizzly hide with claws and forlorn eyes. We were told it was given to the B&B by a hunter and would stretch from floor to ceiling. It must've been a majestic beast when it was alive. There was also a stuffed red fox with a white tipped tail. The breakfast was served by a very friendly staff. It was a ham &egg on a toasted sesame bagel with lettuce & tomato, along with a very yummy freshly baked oatmeal cookie, fruit yogurt and all washed down by coffee and OJ. Our stay was priced very reasonably. The inn was only minutes from the east gate of Algonquin Park. It was difficult to find the place in the dark as their website only provided GPS coordinates and for some reason, my iPhone wouldn’t take the coordinates.  Their street address is 29762 Highway 60 East, Whitney, Ont, K0J 2M0.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dogontheno11bus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BellwoodInn, Manager at Bellwood Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Thank you for your review! Were very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and our breakfast! We don’t recommend using GPS to find us as it can lead you down back roads. We have taken your feedback about being hard to find to heart and installed a brand new, very large sign that is close to the road. Next year it will be lit up!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Nicht Zimmer 1 nehmen. Total veraltet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SabLa2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Raul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BellwoodInn, Manager at Bellwood Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2015, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank kasta83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BellwoodInn, Manager at Bellwood Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mouzatp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BellwoodInn, Manager at Bellwood Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Silvia01Dietikon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BellwoodInn, Manager at Bellwood Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bellwood Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellwood Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: Hiway 60, Whitney, Ontario K0J 2M0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Whitney
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Whitney
Price Range: $55 - $68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Historic Bellwood Inn, Family owned since 1929. We are the closest accommodation to Algonquin Provincial Park. We have 6 clean, comfortable and affordable rooms in a country friendly decor. Some of our rooms offer private Jacuzzi baths and a forest view. Enjoy our sitting room with coffee and tea center or relax on our country deck or around a cozy camp fire. Whether you're looking to spend a day in Algonquin Park or a week or more, Bellwood Inn is your best choice for value, cleanliness and comfort. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bellwood Inn Bed & Breakfast Ontario/Whitney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing