We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sandele Eco-Retreat
Reviewed March 26, 2013

From the beginning of my time right through to the end I was made to feel unbelievably welcome. The staff were professional, helpful and friendly throughout my whole stay. Such beautiful, kind people. Maurice and Geri are incredibly warm people with such incredible stories to tell of their adventures in The Gambia and the journey to build and develop Sandele. The lodges are stunning and I felt like a princess staying in one of them. Beautiful beaches just a small path away from the lodges. Gorgeous food, with a variety of choices ever night. Lots to do during the day whether you are interested in trips up the river, visiting the local markets or yoga as the sun sets. A really wonderful place. If you're visiting The Gambia you must stay at Sandele.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lostintranslation23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (110)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 110 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2013

This place is simply magical. The welcome is first class, the staff are hardworking and beautiful, and the site is special made more so by your hosts Geri and Maurice. The food is amazing and you need to try all the lovely juices. The place is magical.. I yearn to go back... so go go go!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank firsttimeindia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

I've been spending 7 terrific monts of my life at Sandele, taking part to the volunteer project that Geri and Maurice (the owners) offer there.I still remeber leaving Italy together with my boyfriend with no expectations but the excitement of being part of a new way to think about tourism: a sustainable way!The start it's already a great one:there's a written agreement with the local community stating that after 25 years everything that has been built and acheivied will return to the local village and in the meantime the eco-friendly retreat does employ at least a 75% of people coming from this small rural village on the southest part of The Gambia!
Geri & Mo have been putting attention to all the details from constructing materials to the use of solar power and wind turbines as well as composting toilets (avoiding to waste a hell of water in such a country where water is a blessing...) and much more but without losing the aim to offer their guests comfortable and pretty rooms!What else to be said..well the beach is just 2 minutes walking distance from the main area and it's just amazingly wild and untamed, the food is excellent and if you're not fine with what's on the "daily menu" everyone will help you to make your wish come true (of course always keep in mind that your not in your home country and it might be amusing to taste something different!!),the staff is friendly and really helpful and mostly: always smiling!You'll be offered to take part to daily morning yoga lessons with Geri (if she's not busy with a lot of others activities) or a lot of other excursions to be done on that area!There are a lot of projects going on there and you can take part in many different ways and give your contribution!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EleCocco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

A beach like on a bounty island, rooms to feel spoiled, a staff that walks an extra mile: That is Sandele.
We had the most wonderfull time at this resort.
Knowing that in staying there you support a whole village and even help to make some changes in thevwhole off Gambia.

Room Tip: Every room is excellent, but the lodges are a dream.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marjan57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Good food, lovely rooms, excellent friendly service, and extremely inspiring to hear all the eco-initiatives which Geri and Maurice have successfully put into practice. Wish we'd had more than 4 days there.

Room Tip: The lodges are worth every penny. A small torch is useful for returning after dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toftie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Sandele is well-run, well located, and well designed. The round rooms are massive, the bathrooms wonderful, the beach a short walk away. The food was largely very good, and we were able to rent bikes to cycle to Senegal (not far away but involving putting the bikes into a dug out canoe to cross the river).
The staff, and everyone we met the Gambia in fact, were a joy.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traintravelLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

The yoga retreat at Sandele was rejuvenating and lovely! Fabulous place, fantastic people and beautiful surroundings! It was a pleasure to attend Debbie's two daily classes.
Could not have started the new year in a better way. Thanks to Geri Maurice and their friendly and helpful staff for contributing to a truly wonderful time.
I long to return...

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happy.walkerNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kartong
11.9 mi away
Esperanto Lodge
Esperanto Lodge
#1 of 3 in Kafountine
90 reviews
18.5 mi away
Hibiscus House
Hibiscus House
#2 of 4 in Brufut
171 reviews
22.1 mi away
Kololi Beach Resort
Kololi Beach Resort
#2 of 9 in Kololi
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 mi away
Gambia Coral Beach Hotel & Spa
21 mi away
Baobab Holiday Resort
Baobab Holiday Resort
#3 of 6 in Bijilo
69 reviews
23.7 mi away
Hotel Palm Beach
Hotel Palm Beach
#4 of 6 in Kotu
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandele Eco-Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandele Eco-Retreat

Address: Kartong Village, Kartong, Gambia
Location: Gambia > West Coast Division > Kartong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Kartong
Price Range: $81 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandele Eco-Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandele is an award winning ecolodge located on a stunning deserted beach in Southern Gambia. We offer accommodation in luxury lodges, nestled in the bush a hundred metres from the beach. The Retreat is operated in conjunction with the local community of Kartong, who benefit from the development and running of the resort and who will assume complete responsibility in twenty-five years time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Sandele Eco-Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandele Eco-Retreat Hotel Kartong
Sandele Eco-Retreat Gambia/Kartong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing