We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Usual level of New Century Hotels”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
New Century Grand Hotel
Ranked #3 of 362 Hotels in Xuzhou
Reviewed August 6, 2011

New Century Hotels are nice looking, but they all are out of town.
In this hotel spa was closed, and part of the building was under renovation.
Breakfast was nice, and lake view was great. Swimming pool is in a roofed palm garden, and looks great. Pity it was so full of children that it was not relaxing at all.
Staff do not speak english and communication is difficult. They wanted first to give us two double rooms, then one with a double bed, and finally we got our twin room.

XuZhou does not offer much, but city center is lively at night, and the concert hall is of great modern arquitecture. There are some interesting historical sites, as the small terracotta warriors, chinese stone carvings museum and a few others. The cable car gives a great view of city. For two or three days, is nice. But avoid summertime.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DreamingOfChina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (227)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

14 - 20 of 227 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2011

This hotel is 10-15 minutes outside the city centre of Xuzhou (such as it is) with some rooms overlooking the lakeside. Between the hotel and the lake however there's a busy road, and the windows are not well insulated. The rooms have been recently modernised with decent bathrooms and comfortable (if a bit hard) beds.

Despite the reported smoking ban indoors in China people smoked everywhere, of course, from the breakfast room, to reception, to in the corridors.

Breakfast was a good selection of Chinese and Western-style food.

For the price this was OK but they could clean the carpets better.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Belgian_EU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2011

Its a very large hotel in the lakeside and looks very new.
The rooms are really large and comfortable, with free Internet.
It has a large SPA and a nice indoor swimming pool.

The KTV near the hotel is also a nice place and should be visited since there is nothing much to do in Xuzhou.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meetjoeblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2010

I stayed in the Hotel one night. Rooms were very spacious and clean. My room had a patio off of it and was surprised to see people walking the small space past my room windows - Keep blinds closed!!!

To get to the hotel we went through some major city renovations where blocks of apartments had been tour down. My colleague used GPS and both he and I were worried where the place was.

When we finally arrived, the place was set-up for a Chinese Wedding reception so we didn't park in the front but on the side and had about a block of building (inside no AC) to walk until reception area. The staff directing us to reception area did not seem very friendly though reception staff and rest of staff were nice.

The hotel was not fully occupied and renovation was being done in some areas. The hotel was several blocks long with multi-buildings, meeting areas etc. The pool was indoor and looked very nice - all had to weather bathing caps to swim, the work out area was modern and overall a nice place. There were some areas - water feature out front which could use a good cleaning as could other places outside.

Even though the hotel was located far away from Shanghai, some of the prices for minibar were at Shanghai Hilton costs.

Since this seemed to be the only 5 star hotel in the city, I have nothing to compare it againsts. The New Century Chain maybe owned by Chinese Military.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo_and_Tom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2009

This is a pleasantly situated hotel that feels like it is in a fairly tranquil spot, considering Xuzhou is really a fairly industrial town. The lobby of this hotel looks a fair bit like one of the Asian Hyatts, the rooms are quite similar to one of the newer Westins in terms of design (largish room, modern design, window between bedroom and bathroom). The bed was very firm, very low to the ground, and I did not initially have high expectations, but in the event it turned out to be extremely comfortable and I had a great night's sleep.

The hardware and fit-out of the hotel overall was modern, attractive and actually rather plush. The breakfast in the morning was also very good, a broad spread with a good selection of items, especially of the Chinese variety. The room rate I paid, well under RMB 700 inclusive of breakfast, was also really very reasonable.

My only observation that systems and staff training need to be improved. We had a group of 13 come to the lobby to check in, and with no other guests there, and 4 staff on-hand, it took them 30 minutes to sort everything out. It seemed to all be done by one of the staff, with the other three looking bored. The whole thing felt, to use a geeky analogy, like trying to run Windows Vista on your 5-year old PC. I suppose it feels like China in miniature - plenty of money spent on a lavish facility, but perhaps relatively low occupancy rates for a lot of the year not justifying strong investment in staff training and software (literally and figuratively).

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Public_Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2009

Beautiful 5 star hotel in Xuzhou. I have stayed 3 times in 2 years, I think there is a slight deterioration in the hotel. Could be the financial times. There may be an AC control in the room, but it is NOT controlled in the room. Only on and off works. Still beautiful rooms, well appointed and generous space. Staff are professioanl and attentive. The bathroom in the fitness center/pool house is not up to par with the rest of the hotel. The fitness room has a stinky carpet on the floor, not a gym floor, not so good. Only CNN and BBC, no English movie/sports channels. The Coffee shop on the 2nd floor is overpriced, rather go to DIO Coffee in town (10RMB taxi ride AND free internet at every table)
120RMB taxi ride to the airport (about 1 hour) vs 300RMB with the hotel car!!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tsotsi2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2007

Was much better than anticipated from the trip in from the airport.

The hotel is almost a 5 star with a few small service problems. Rooms are spacious and I had no problem with the internet or watching TV.

I found the food to be good and most important, safe.

Trip from the airport in a taxi will set you back around 150-170 yuan.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Keith_KL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xuzhou hotels
Wyndham Xuzhou East
#2 of 362 in Xuzhou
63 reviews
Downtown
Xuzhou Jinling Jinyuan Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Garden Hotel
#53 of 362 in Xuzhou
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Century Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Century Grand Hotel

Address: No.1 Huxi Road, Quanshan District, Xuzhou 221006, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Jiangsu > Xuzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 362 Hotels in Xuzhou
Price Range: $81 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — New Century Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 381
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Hotwire so you can book your New Century Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing