We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Duck any way you want it...”

Ferme-Auberge des Marthres
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Brazilian, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
East Horsley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Duck any way you want it...”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Three of us ate here last night in the middle of our holiday in the Perigord Noir. The owner of our gite recommended it for a really good meal at reasonable price, and he was right. You get plenty of food on the set menus which 2 of us had - starting with French onion soup, then choice of entree (salade perigordine was lovely, salade asperge not so good (little flavour)), then main course (magret de canard or fish - we had duck, really nice), then great local cheeseboard, and dessert to finish. I had just 2 courses off the a la carte, and would absolutely recommend the steack de canard, a point - beautifully tender and full of flavour.

A great find, well off the beaten track, and as another reviewer has said, no English spoken here, but that kind of adds to the charm of it. And it's obviously frequented by the locals, usually a really good recommendation.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    39
    7
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely setting, great views and DUCK!!”
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

A farm with a basic menu around duck and crspy duck which was amazing. So different anything you would see. Great service . 4 of us left full after great food and wine for 70 euros. A must if in the area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pinkie2025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A hidden gem!”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

This is a lovely restaurant with both a shady terrace and a pleasant inside dining room. This restaurant serves fabulous fish and is mainly frequented by locals.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank sandra-brian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unbelievable Food”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

I'm no food critic however this restaurant, set on a working farm, was one of the highlights of the holiday. With tables set out in the yard on a summers evening the setting was magic. The food was some of the best I've ever eaten and if your in the area is a must, however you need to book ahead because it's very popular

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank BickersChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“No English spoken here!”
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Our friends said that this was their favorite restaurant "on the planet" so we had to give it a try. Yes, it's a working farm located in the middle of nowhere, so quaint is it's middle name. That also meant a waitress that not only spoke no English but was reluctant to assist us poor Yanks in understanding what was on the menu or anything else. I know enough French to get by, but our experience here bordered on rudeness and was the only such difficulty in our 15 days in France. It's unfortunate that the excellence of the food was spoiled by an atmosphere that made my wife and I feel unwelcome and out of place.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank DennisandKarleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ferme-Auberge des Marthres also viewed

Salignac-Eyvigues, Dordogne
Saint-Crepin-et-Carlucet, Dordogne
 

Been to Ferme-Auberge des Marthres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing