We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old fashioned charm in a beautiful location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Crocnaraw Country House
Ranked #4 of 4 Moyard B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 17, 2012

I can only agree with all the positive comments from previous reviews. We felt welcome and completely at home during our recent stay in this delightful house. There is a genteel charm about Crocnaraw, from the fresh flowers on our dressing table to the home made preserves, bread and scones on the breakfast table. If it's power showers and a wide screen TV that you crave, you'd better stay somewhere else but if you are ready to be seduced by a relaxed and spacious country house with generous breakfasts, real peat fires in the evening and comfortable beds, Crocnaraw is a gem.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank garethwilliam7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (23)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 23 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2011

We loved staying here . Food terrific -- the most amazing home made strawberry jam made with strawberries from the garden with gorgeous scones with the surprise of crystallised ginger in the scones. And we were given scones to take with us on our journey home Bread home made and delicious too as was the wonderful homemade blackcurrant jam

Bedroom full of light with new stunningly beautiful Sanderson curtains -- that great design with the red / pink tulips and the most beautiful shade of plain carpet I have ever seen-- a sort of golden straw. Great old fashioned claw leg bath and bathroom radiator hot --a lovely luxury in an Irish July. Happy colours everywhere. Be sure to admire the colour of the old Aklow pottery used for breakfast and afternoon tea. And admire the wonderful simple dresser on which they are displayed.

Welcoming turf fire in the drawingroom and loads of Country Lifes to peruse.

A terrific hostess and a great easy atmosphere and if you come in July on no account miss the smell of the white noisette rose in the vegetable garden. Ethereal. And Lucy said we could take a cutting.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank buddenbrooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2010

The country house is located in a perfect area to explore Connemara (Clifden, Diamond Hill, Inishbofin). The house is surrounded by beautiful gardens and on a pleasant distance from the road.

We liked the old fashioned style of the house very much. The rooms are spacious, impeccable clean and the beds were perfect. We felt warmly welcomed by our host Lucy: peat fires in the evenings, home made Irish bread, warm scones in the morning.
It was our best address in Ireland; we will certainly return.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElsAlkmaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2010

This country house hotel seems like a cross between a B&B and staying in a private house with a marvellous hostess. Pretty Georgian house set in its own private grounds with a charming garden and vegetable plot. Apart from having high standards of comfort, the breakfasts were exceptionally delicious.

Guests are made to feel very welcome and the whole was a delightful experience.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank freda4520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2010

From the first 'welcome!' sign on the front of this most gracious 18th century house, the Crocnaraw experience washes away all stress and anxiety of modern life. In the most unobtrusive way, last seen in Agatha Christie's At Bertrams Hotel, the owner and host Lucy caters to the guests' every wish and fancy, seemingly without effort.

From tea and scones in front of the peat fire, to the A1 'full Irish' breakfasts, it is comfort in the old sense without all the phony trappings of faux luxury hotels with marble foyers and crummy uncomfortable rooms. Surrounded by its own gardens, it is a small oasis of Edwardian charm.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lamb04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2008

In spite of the rain - incessant even for the West of Ireland - we loved Crocnaraw. As other reviewers have said, there is definitely an otherworldliness to the place and Lucy is the perfect owner/manager. Delicious home-made breakfasts and afternoon teas in front of the turf fire (in August and much needed). Lucy, like so many B&B owners, gives excellent recommendations on where to eat in the evening - and you dont have to go very far. And Clifden is only a short drive away, too. Even in the rain Connemara is still incredibly beautiful. May it never change.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank xxdfarre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2008

This was just what we wanted an authentic Irish country house with peat fire and home made scones on arrival, delightful rooms with character, welcoming staff. Breakfasts are excellent all home made produce, and we found delicious evening meals in Letterfrack. No telly, no power showers, the overgrown garden was very appealing. Trip advisor member Sussex

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank GerrySussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moyard hotels
0.6 mi away
Cornerstones B&B
Cornerstones B&B
#1 of 4 in Moyard
233 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ben Breen House
Ben Breen House
#2 of 4 in Moyard
59 reviews
0 mi away
No photo provided
Eriu Lodge
#3 of 4 in Moyard
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crocnaraw Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crocnaraw Country House

Address: Moyard | County Galway, Moyard H91 EF82, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Moyard
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Moyard
Price Range: $77 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Crocnaraw Country House 1*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crocnaraw is an Irish Georgian Country House on the shores of Ballinakill Bay,six miles from Clifden-capital of Connemara-on the scenic Clifden-Westport road. Set in 20 acres of gardens, trees and fields, Crocnaraw is the winner of the National Guesthouse Gardens Competition for 4 years. Recommended by Special Places to Stay (Alastair Sawday.) Near to Connemara National Park ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your Crocnaraw Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing