We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Pleasant Stay”
Review of Ben Breen House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ben Breen House
Ranked #2 of 4 Moyard B&B and Inns
Vienna, Austria
1 review
“Very Pleasant Stay”
Reviewed May 30, 2012

On our road trip through Ireland we were delighted to discover the beautifully located Ben Breen House B&B. During two weeks of staying at different B&Bs almost every night, the stay at Ben Breen's was certainly among the nicest experiences - a very friendly welcome by the hosts, particularly nice and tidy rooms, a rich breakfast menu, suggestions and help on what to do in the surroundings.... Excellent!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    10
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
10
26
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Clean, nice rooms in a house with beautiful views of mountains and lakes! The hostess Noreen and her family were warm and welcoming. We were offered tea and coffee when we arrived at 8:30pm with no reservation, dinner reservations were made for us right away in nearby Cleggan so we didn't miss our chance to have dinner before they stopped serving food for the evening, and in the morning, Noreen directed us to a lovely country walk that ended at a beautiful beach. They also called around to numerous other B&Bs when travelers stopped after Ben Breen was full for the night. Discounted tickets to Kylemore Abbey and other attractions available. Great stay!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Arizona, Arizona
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012

We spent two nights here - Noreen and family are wonderful hosts! Very helpful in places to eat and tour. Good Breakfast. Enjoyed a traditional peat fire in the sitting room with Noreen's 12 year old son. A young Irish gentleman who was very willing to answer our questions about the Peat Bogs and the turf fire he built for us.

Room Tip: both ground and 2nd floor rooms available. better internet on ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank retireesontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

This was a really nice place and possibly the cleanest home I have ever been in - it was immaculate! It was also really comfortable and although there seemed to be a lot of guests, it was very quiet. Noreen recommended the Sky Road which was really worthwhile as we witnessed a beautiful sunset.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WillowLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

We spent 2 days in this wonderful BnB. Noreen is a very pleasant and warm hostess. she gave us good advices of what to do, what to see, where to eat in the surroundings. Still ready to talk and help you. Rooms are very large and confortable.The house is close from clifden, cleggan and national park of connemara with a nice view on moutains.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sylvain B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

We had a long trip from the drive from Dublin and the welcome could not have been warmer. We quickly checked in and then left for a drive along the "Sky Drive" and a meal in Clifden. Noreen recommended "Mitchells" in Clifden and it was superb. A truly lovely place to stay and in the future, I will plan to stay, only allow more days.
We had wonderful hosts and left with a sense of regret. Until next time!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewOrleansBill51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 22, 2011

Ben Breen was our first encounter with Irish hospitality and we were enchanted by the warm welcome!!! Noreen & Raymond were extremely helpful guiding us towards Cleggan for some nice seafood and Clifden for the traditional Irish music. They will also recommend their favorite walks in the region.
The rooms are very comfortable and the breakfast delicious!
The B&B is a few km from the Connemara National Park.
We highly recommend Ben Breen!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dee_Jeje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moyard
2.4 mi away
Rosleague Manor Hotel
Rosleague Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Letterfrack
337 reviews
4.1 mi away
Maol Reidh Hotel
Maol Reidh Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tullycross
119 reviews
4.1 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Cornerstones B&B
Cornerstones B&B
#1 of 4 in Moyard
220 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sharamore House B&B
Sharamore House B&B
#7 of 45 in Clifden
204 reviews
4.5 mi away
Sea Breeze Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ben Breen House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ben Breen House

Property: Ben Breen House
Address: Tooreen, Moyard, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Moyard
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Moyard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ben Breen House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Benbreen house is located in the heart of Connemara, 8kms from Clifden. It is located central to all amenities ie., National Park, Inish Bofin and Kylemore Abbey. We are in an ideal area for hill walking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ben Breen House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing