We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Xilei Xiao Zhuang Hotel
Ranked #112 of 517 Hotels in Zhoushan
Reviewed May 5, 2014

One advantage of this hotel is that it is very very close to Puji temple, the main and biggest temple in Putuoshan Island. Though this hotel seems old from its exterior, it is still carefully-maintained. It is clean and the rooms are spacious enough for the stay. There are other hotels around but this hotel is still one of the best out there.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cookingmasterboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (32)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 32 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2013

It is a old hotel, but very quite and clean, it is solemn, because it has a big lucky buddha in the lobby and many stone child monk statue showing different position or
activities located in the different area of the hotel. At the back of the hotel is Puji temple, big gold fish pond (very nice view) and
market stalls. For the restaurant, the food is good enough (not bad). For the rooms,
it is clean but wall paper and carpet might look old. The beds and pillows are big enough. Wifi is good and it is free. There is only one english channel (cctv news).
The staffs hardly speak english.

Room Tip: Pls. ask rooms that overlooking the lobby if you want quite sleep at night. For rooms overlooking t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wil523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Our travel agent always books us in this hotel every year we visit Mount Putuo. It's location is it's main draw because it's near Puji temple (most famous temple in the island) and the market. As for the room, it's showing old age but they are currently renovating their rooms one at a time I think.

The foods they serve are good even if we only eat vegetables during our journey to Putuoshan. The only thing is they should serve breakfast earlier than 7am because most guests are trying to catch the early plane ride back to Xiamen.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Wasabi416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

It's really so near to the Puji Temple... so convenient ....
However the hotel a little bit old.
There's only the lobby has free wifi, but with weak signals.
The room design is not good, the toilet and the bath room is so open.
It's embarrassed if you share room with friends.
He/she can see your body shape clearly when u inside the toilet or bath room.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eunicetabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2011

Location: This is my second time to stay at this hotel...it still looks and smells the same as last year which honestly isn't a good thing but faced with the challenge of getting up and lining up at the Puji Temple gate at 3am, this hotel is your best bet.

Check in: Everything was handled by the travel agency so when we got to the hotel, we only had to give our passports to the tour guide and he got the rooms for us. Pretty painless actually.

Room: Don't expect too much, I think its true for most hotels in China that when the weather starts to get cold they don't turn on the cooling system so the A/C was just on fan-mode the entire time. It's okay if your room was facing outwards, but if you were in a room that faces the inside of the hotel, it could get pretty warm at night. The room isn't big but its not small either. They LCD TVs now so it doesn't feel too backwater.

Bathroom: Pretty okay but there were stains on the toilet seat...couldn't do much about that though so just pray it's been sanitized. Although its showing its age, it's just an overnight trip so no use to complain.

Breakfast: Vegetarian breakfast...nothing much to write home about but I love the glutinous rice balls with black sesame seeds.

Check-out: Was very quick, just returned the key to the tour guide and we're off.

Overall: I wouldn't really say disappointed...you're in Putuoshan to pray (for my case) so I didn't expect a 5 star hotel with amenities and service. honestly it feels more like living in a glorified retreat house more than anything else.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keslergo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2009

I think the poster below me checked into the same hotel, but only got rooms in the old wing.
(rmb 900)
Remember , splurge a bit, and get rooms in the NEW Wing. (rmb 1280)

Still good, beds still soft. But there is an air that it is starting to show its age.

Wash room smelled of someone soaked in sweat. Knobs in the shower and faucet, starting to come off.

Still, location wise, it can't be beat. Next to the temple. ( IF you need to be there by 330am). 2 bus terminals nearby.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelFreak168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2009

Stayed here for a night... it was an old hotel
Bed was so HARD. There is cushion but it is as if you are lying without one.
It is near the temple and bargain shops,.. that is the only advantage

Poorly lit lobby. Rooms are smelly
Water from the faucet is usually dirty upon first open of the faucet.

In general, not a good hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cute_kaila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zhoushan hotels
0 mi away
Hilton Zhoushan
Hilton Zhoushan
#2 of 517 in Zhoushan
75 reviews
0 mi away
Sheraton Zhoushan Hotel
Sheraton Zhoushan Hotel
#1 of 517 in Zhoushan
308 reviews
0 mi away
Jinjiang Inn Zhoushan Putuo Shenjiamen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Xiangsheng Grand Hotel & Resort Mountain Putuo
0 mi away
Zhoushan Putuoshan International Buddhism Cultural Exchange Center . Ruyige
0 mi away
The Westin Zhujiajian Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xilei Xiao Zhuang Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xilei Xiao Zhuang Hotel

Address: No.1 Xianghua Street, Putuoshan, Zhoushan 316107, China
Location: China > Zhejiang > Zhoushan
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 517 Hotels in Zhoushan
Price Range: $77 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 213
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA so you can book your Xilei Xiao Zhuang Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing