We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Fantastic waterfall and river hike in Tarapoto

We did a waterfall and river hike with Sacharuna Advernture in February on a visit to Tarapoto! It... read more

Reviewed March 14, 2020
Rhiannonprideaux
,
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Amazing Tarapoto Adventure

I have to say it was the best decision we made to choose Daniel as our tour guide in tata photo. We... read more

Reviewed February 10, 2020
crazybaker420
,
Switzerland
via mobile
Read all 50 reviews
  
Reviews (50)
Filter reviews
50 results
Traveler rating
49
0
0
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
49
0
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews san roque highly recommend daniel great guide the river different types cocoa plantation magical experience rice local artisans banana trees learning how off the beaten path flora and fauna the reserve day trip fruit boat ride
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 50 reviews
Reviewed December 30, 2017 via mobile

I had the best hiking at the Peruvian jungle with Sacharuna Adventure. It was fun, challenging, great views and Daniel is the best! If you want a great experience, Sacharuna Adventure will make it for you!

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank Inspire523833
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel L, Manager at Sacharuna Adventure, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2018

Thank you Erika for your preference. Take care all the best for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2017

This is not your typical cookie cutter tour operation. Highly recommended for those seeking a relaxed, yet up close and personal experience with the local culture and environment. Daniel our guide took us from San Roque to Lamas where were met with a local family who showed us the exquisite art of chumbe weaving. Everything about it was very hands on. Daniel even took some great pictures for us! After weaving, we were served lunch at a restaurant in San Roque and then went for swim in the river. Lunch was good and the family there very friendly and gracious. Daniel was also very flexibility to accommodate time based on our interests and how we wanted to spend the day. Overall, a great time had all around. This is a must do if you find yourself in Tarapoto.

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank ssr174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel L, Manager at Sacharuna Adventure, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2017

Thank you guys for choose Sacharuna Adventure.
Keep enjoying your trip.
Cheers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2017

Daniel offers a unique experience that can be adapted to the individual, like branches of a tree. Some people travel to Peru to experience the essence of jungle culture, eco-living, visit remote indigenous villages... Others are on a deeper search into the jungles of themselves. I was lucky enough to experience 4 days of divine waterfalls, organic cacao plantations, medicinal plant walks, ancient basket weaving, clay pot sculpting, traditional amazonian food, and endless conversations... Time disappears when your on a Sacharuna Adventure. You'll receive so much more than your expectations! Vamos!

Date of experience: February 2017
Thank sianevelyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2017

I had an amazing two day hike with Daniel through the jungle to one of the most magnificent waterfalls ever! The hike was one of the most difficult things I have ever done and yet one of the most awe inspiring and magical! I even faced, for the first and I hope for the last time my fear of heights! Throughout it all, Daniel was a patient and loving guide. He is totally devoted the area - both the people and the nature, his love of it is infectious! I will always remember that trip!

Date of experience: December 2016
1  Thank EveL55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2017 via mobile

Daniel is an excellent guide. He knows so much about the area, is friendly, funny and a joy to explore the area with. We have taken the tour to the Huacamillo waterfall two times now, it's a wonderful walk with so much beauty to see and a magical waterfall to swim in at the end. Daniel arranges for a traditional picnic lunch for when you arrive there which is such a treat. I can't recommend these tours enough and Daniel is the guide to help you out !

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank lilywaugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews