We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adventure we will never forget”

Sacharuna Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Reviewed February 4, 2018

My partner and I went on the three day cacao tour and we had no idea how incredible it would be. Daniel is a wonderful, kind and informative tour guide who took us off the beaten track to experience the true essence of the Amazon Jungle and surrounding villages. We had tours to cacao plantations, where the owners explained the procedure on growing & producing cacao, we ate delicious traditional meals with a beautiful local family, swam in a rock pool in the amazon, had a tour of the local museum & made pottery. This trip is incredibly inspiring and you will come away feeling connected with Pachamama & have a deep appreciation for the love and work that goes into chocolate production. We would highly recommend this tour. Thank you Daniel, Heriberto & family - we will never forget this trip.

Date of experience: January 2018
1  Thank emataylor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel L, Manager at Sacharuna Adventure, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2018

Thank you Ema and Laughlan:
Was a realy pleasure to have you both.
All the best for you guys in Australia.
Jungle vibes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (29)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"san roque"
in 7 reviews
"cultural experience"
in 3 reviews
"cacao plantation"
in 3 reviews
"delicious lunch"
in 3 reviews
"highly recommend daniel"
in 2 reviews
"artisan chocolate"
in 2 reviews
"speaks fluent"
in 2 reviews
"off the beaten track"
in 2 reviews
"local museum"
in 2 reviews
"local guide"
in 2 reviews
"local family"
in 2 reviews
"the river"
in 4 reviews
"culture"
in 7 reviews
"ceramics"
in 2 reviews
"clay"
in 2 reviews
"magico"
in 2 reviews
"translation"
in 2 reviews
Filter

10 - 14 of 29 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2017 via mobile

I had the best hiking at the Peruvian jungle with Sacharuna Adventure. It was fun, challenging, great views and Daniel is the best! If you want a great experience, Sacharuna Adventure will make it for you!

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank Inspire523833
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel L, Manager at Sacharuna Adventure, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2018

Thank you Erika for your preference. Take care all the best for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2017

This is not your typical cookie cutter tour operation. Highly recommended for those seeking a relaxed, yet up close and personal experience with the local culture and environment. Daniel our guide took us from San Roque to Lamas where were met with a local family who showed us the exquisite art of chumbe weaving. Everything about it was very hands on. Daniel even took some great pictures for us! After weaving, we were served lunch at a restaurant in San Roque and then went for swim in the river. Lunch was good and the family there very friendly and gracious. Daniel was also very flexibility to accommodate time based on our interests and how we wanted to spend the day. Overall, a great time had all around. This is a must do if you find yourself in Tarapoto.

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank ssr174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel L, Manager at Sacharuna Adventure, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2017

Thank you guys for choose Sacharuna Adventure.
Keep enjoying your trip.
Cheers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2017

Daniel offers a unique experience that can be adapted to the individual, like branches of a tree. Some people travel to Peru to experience the essence of jungle culture, eco-living, visit remote indigenous villages... Others are on a deeper search into the jungles of themselves. I was lucky enough to experience 4 days of divine waterfalls, organic cacao plantations, medicinal plant walks, ancient basket weaving, clay pot sculpting, traditional amazonian food, and endless conversations... Time disappears when your on a Sacharuna Adventure. You'll receive so much more than your expectations! Vamos!

Date of experience: February 2017
Thank sianevelyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed September 27, 2017

I had an amazing two day hike with Daniel through the jungle to one of the most magnificent waterfalls ever! The hike was one of the most difficult things I have ever done and yet one of the most awe inspiring and magical! I even faced, for the first and I hope for the last time my fear of heights! Throughout it all, Daniel was a patient and loving guide. He is totally devoted the area - both the people and the nature, his love of it is infectious! I will always remember that trip!

Date of experience: December 2016
Thank EveL55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sacharuna Adventure also viewed

Tarapoto, San Martin Region
Tarapoto, San Martin Region
 
Tarapoto, San Martin Region
Tarapoto, San Martin Region
 

Been to Sacharuna Adventure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing