We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location but...”

Boat Shop Steak & Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 15 Restaurants in Alberton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $33
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Once a boat builders shop, now serving breakfast, lunch and supper with a harbour view from every table!We feature hand-battered fish, fresh-cut fries, great grilled beef, homemade desserts as well as locally inspired cuisine served with a huge helping of our own local hospitality! Air conditioned dining in a casual atmosphere or enjoy your meal on the patio.Children’s menu available. Groups and motor coach tours welcome.Open daily - June to September
Charlottetown, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice location but...”
Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

We arrived for a late lunch with a few late diners still finishing their meals. We ordered fish, one with chips, one with salad. The fish was OK, the chips seemed to have been re-warmed in a microwave... Soggy. The salad was mostly lettuce with a pretty ho-hum dressing. A nice setting, but the food is not memorable.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jim155023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    28
    10
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great ambiance, fresh seafood”
Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

We took my mother-in-law here for a nice dinner, and we all thoroughly enjoyed our evening. The servings are large, and the prices are very reasonable (for a nice restaurant - not takeout). The seafood and vegetables are local and well-prepared (although the salmon was a bit overcooked). The seafood platter is great, and big enough to share. The bread served before the meal is hot, fresh and delicious. The best thing about this place is the building, which is a renovated boat shed on a pier in a lovely bay. Very unique and bright.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kmc1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, building & atmosphere but TERRIBLE service”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

'Tourist Information' had recommended this as a restaurant that we should visit. We were impressed with the location & views but after waiting over twenty minutes we hadn't even been given a menu. We were just ignored. It wasn't as though the restaurant was especially busy and since we were seated right in the middle of the room, our presence should have been apparent, but we were treated as though we were invisible.

The single star is warranted for the location because it really is quite stunning, but the service only deserves a negative rating.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peterderek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great views and great food”
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

We drove to Northport just to see the views and eat here. Neither disappointed. We had oysters on the half shell. They were fresh and salty and just about perfect. The mussels and bacon wrapped scallops were amazing. They make all the desserts in house. We had strawberry pie and locked the plate! Decent beer list and a basic liquor list. Make the drive and enjoy!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Genece M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince Edward Island, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful Views of the Harbour”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Gorgeous airy renovated boat builders shop. Tasteful decor that is comfortable and not stuffy at all. Very nice food, lots of local seafood and produce. Verging on gourmet. Nice for a party group or a couple wanting a special dinner out. But relaxed enough for families to enjoy too. And lots to look at and explore on the docks outside.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boat Shop Steak & Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Boat Shop Steak & Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing