We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fabulous but!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Apartments Tonkovic
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Mlini
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“fabulous but!”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Pavo and his family are as stated in all the reviews so far, lovely,as was the apartment.We had the 2 bed top floor, stunning views all round, clean, tidy and extremely spacious. Things that I would have found useful to know: there is a washing machine and dishwasher, take a few washing powder tabs and you'll easily manage with hand luggage. Kitchen equipment is very basic, could do with a few more plates , mugs etc. A welcome pack would be nice or the possibility to order a few basics to be there when you arrive.
It is quite a trek to the supermarket on foot and in the hot weather it's not pleasant but we soon discovered the delights of the Hotel Asterea minibus and went to Dubrovnik; there is a small but good supermarket at the drop off point and the mini bus will drop you at the bus stop just down from the apartments, so not too long a trek to the top There is another small supermarket and a good bakery in Cavtat. Would highly reccomend a trip to Budva and Mostar, we booked through the Asterea and got a good last minute deal with a local guide called Agata. Again most excellent supermarket in Mostar. Everyone seems to know Pavo and his family but you will get a knowing smile when you say you are staying in the apartments, probably something to do with the hill:-) I have asthma and a dodgy hip and in 35 degree heat it was no mean feat but I took a walking pole which proved invaluable.
Mlini is limited shops wise but not too touristy, the beach is small and rocky, you will need beach shoes. The beaches aren't very clean, lots of cigarette butts etc. but this seemed to be the same wherever we went.
Would we go again? put the apartments half way down the hill, most definitely, or go in the coolest months.

Room Tip: 2 bed top floor would be excellent for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rosebud138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    16
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
74
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed at the Tonkovic apartments for 2 weeks in August on a Jet 2 holiday. Pavo the owner was waiting to meet our transfer coach at the bottom of ( the infamous ) hill to take us up to his apartments. Its obvious he is proud of his village and Mlini . We stayed in apartment 3 and most things had been thought of (even down to the washing up liquid). The view from the balcony was amazing. The room had a large bed, a couple of wardrobes and bedside tables, along with a tv. The kitchen area had a microwave,kettle and 2 electric rings but no toaster. The air conditioning was also provided free of charge. Pavo's mum tidied our room every day and the sheets were changed regularly, clean towels were given whenever you wanted them. Even thou Pavo's parents could speak only a little English you were in no doubt that they welcomed you.
Well what can I say about the hill. It is a test of stamina for sure. We are not the fittest of people so we did struggle quite a bit,thank god for taxi's is all I will say and even some of them struggled with one even reversing up the last and steepest part of the hill.
The nearest restaurant was the Flamingo on the main road which we used most nights, and was good value for money. It got quite busy most nights but we always managed to get a table. We didn't venture down to Mlini seafront in the evening due to the many steep steps back up to the main road and then the hill to climb as well.
Mlini is nice but could do with a few more bars and restaurants as there is very little choice. You can get the ferry to Cavtat and Dubrovnik from the harbour which we did. We would love to return to the apartments but I'm afraid the hill would put us off, but that is the only reason we wouldn't go back. So thank you Pavo for a lovely holiday which we will always remember.

Room Tip: A sea view room is a must it makes the climb up the hill worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChrisP24553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Great accommodation very well kept cleaned every day very friendly nice distance from Dubrovnik could do with WIFI in the rooms . Pavos the owner is really nice and would take you to the supermarket and recommend places to eat nearby there is a very steep hill up to the apartments but what a view from up there . It is also worth walking down to the Astarea Hotel and walking round the bay and stopping at the bars and resturants down there none of the people will hassle you to get you in there place there is some damage at the far end of the bay from the war a couple of buildings and a big hotel . We went to Dubrovnic by bus from the main road at the bottom of the hill and another day by boat from the bay , we also went to Budva in Montenegro it is worth the trip there on a excursion . The only down side to the Tonkovic is the hill up to the apartment but if you are reasonably fit its ok ,there is not much near the apartments on the main road only the Flamingo resturant we tried and the food is good the mini bread stater is very nice you need to go further along the road for shops or go down to the bay area . The apartments are clean and have everything you need apart from a toaster but would recomend it to anyone great view great people great location

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank colin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west sussex england
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We have just returned from the most fantastic holiday in Dubrovnik staying in Tonkovic Apartments.
Pavo owner of the accommodation was waiting to meet us from our transfer and drove us "up the hill". We had upgraded to the "bungalow" and it was a small amount of money to pay for the most outstanding view. The room has a huge bed, small kitchen area (no toaster due to H & S) and decent shower room, fantastic air conditioning (it was very hot). All the accommodation had very good views.
Pavo offered to take us to the supermarket which was very kind infact he is one of the reasons this review gets 5 stars he was full of helpful information and was a genuine nice guy.
The Hill!!! This has been underestimated in my opinion I am very fit and healthy and was knackered walking in the heat, also no one has mentioned the 238 steps from the road down to the beach which are stone, steep with no handrail. They are do able but a decent level of fitness is required in my opinion. If you have any mobility difficulties unless you have a car this accommodation sadly is not for you. Mlini is beautiful and a prefect location for visiting Dubrovnik the No 10 bus goes direct into Dubrovnik regularly but the drop off is a 10 minute walk into the city. The bus can get extremely busy and on one occasion we had to get taxi (haggle) as there was about 60 people waiting for the 10pm bus home! Restaurant Flamingo just along the main road from Tonkovic is very good value for money we had a couple of really good meals there. We went on a boat trip into Dubrovnik and Cavtat which is reasonably priced and well worth it. If you visit Cavtat a must see is the Artist Bukovic house well worth the 30 kuna entrance fee (less than £3.50) Dubrovnik is amazing, stunning, breath taking, and a place we will definitely visit again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cazWestSussexEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Pavo the host simply cannot do enough for you. Yes, it is up quite a steep hill, but he transfers your luggage on both journeys and is happy to take you to a supermarket the next day after arriving. All of the family are friendly and welcoming and the view of the sea and bay is definitely worth the small premium for a room with a sea view.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timg9880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

It is simply hard to know where to start when reviewing this apartment, everything was just so perfect. I have never bothered to review anything previously but we had such a wonderful time I have joined tripadvisor specifically to say how brilliant our time here was and add to all the well deserved 5 star reviews.

Firstly Pavo is as lovely as everyone says, I contacted him a couple of times before the trip with questions and he was helpful from the start. I arranged for him to pick us up from the airport, it was a lovely way to arrive and definitely worth organising rather than a taxi or bus. Straight away his enthusiasm for Mlini and the area shows, he seems very proud of his apartments too and he should be. He showed us around the apartment, how to use everything and standing out on the balcony looking over the stunning bay he pointed out some directions to the beaches, restaurants etc. He also suggested a few things to do and answered any questions, is was a lovely welcome.

We stayed in the superior apartment with sea view, it is a smart small apartment with everything you need and is decorated to a very high standard. The thing that makes it is of course the unbeatable view which is made the most of by the large window/ door to the balcony which fills the wall. Falling asleep and waking up to that view was a big highlight of the holiday. As for the steep hill which is mentioned in several other reviews, we had absolutely no problem with it and we wouldn't call ourselves fit, it is steep but isn't very long. We went in May, is was warm but I can imagine in the height of the season the heat could make it a little more tiring and I do think anyone with mobility issues would struggle. I was expecting so much worse after reading other reviews, don't let it put you off at all.

Mlini was a perfect base for visiting Dubrovnik and we were so glad we didn't choose to stay in the town. It was a nice relaxing contrast to the busy Dubrovnik, still with plenty to do. We travelled back and forth by number 10 bus which Pavo will show you where to get. They run roughly once an hour into the night and take about 20 minutes. I did hear a few bad things about the buses before going but found the service and the buses themselves great. Yes they were a few minutes late sometimes and often crowded but it is a commuter line used by locals and tourists alike, so pretty normal for public transport and I can imagine much less hassle than trying to drive around a strange place and find parking.

I couldn't have believed the apartment and area could be as good as the reviews say but they whole experience was better than I could have imagined and anything written and photos cannot express how beautiful it really is.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stefanie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We just spent 2 nights at Apartments Tonkovic. It is a quiet location high above the main road with spectacular views. The room was spotlessly clean, had good air conditioning and the beds were comfortable. Most of all we appreciated Pavo, the helpful owner who greeted us so warmly, helped us find a cash machine and recommended a delicious konoba (Lanterna) on our first night. We had an early morning flight and the distance to the airport was only 10 minutes in our rental car.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ca2454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mlini
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mlini
Hotel Mlini
#1 of 6 in Mlini
236 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Astarea
Hotel Astarea
#2 of 6 in Mlini
924 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villa Avantgarde
Villa Avantgarde
#5 of 6 in Mlini
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Dubrovnik Riviera Hotel
0.3 mi away
Villas Mlini
Villas Mlini
#4 of 6 in Mlini
37 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Mirjana
Villa Mirjana
#6 of 6 in Mlini
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartments Tonkovic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartments Tonkovic

Property: Apartments Tonkovic
Address: Zavrelje 24, Mlini 20207, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Mlini
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Mlini
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartments Tonkovic 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Apartments Tonkovic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartments Tonkovic Mlini, Dubrovnik-Neretva County, Croatia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing