We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality Hideaway”
Review of Hotel Astarea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Astarea
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Mlini
Certificate of Excellence
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Quality Hideaway”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Located a short transfer from the airport, typical hotel setup - check in, porterage were seam free, just leave passport at check in & collect later to avoid delay. We had 2nd floor room, choice of 2 lifts or stairs, clean room with side view inc free security box. Had a blackout blind behind curtains & it made a real difference when you lay in. Lounge Bar is open plan & extends to spacious balcony with sea views - we did not experience any queuing for drinks, you give your order & the waitress brings them over on a tray. You go down 1 level for Restaurant (stairs/lift) spacious settings with room to move & a romantic balcony for outside dining - giving a lovely start & end to the day. Hotel grounds & pool area are flat & well maintained - if you leave the boundary 'ensure' you have sensible footwear on - the paths are there, but uneven, missing slabs or too shiny causing slips/falls. Indoor pool simple but enough - clean towels provided at no cost (indoor pool only) - so don't lug your towel with you. The lift goes down to -3 level for rear access - you still encounter quite a few steps to get clear of the building - not too bad going out but tiring when you come back (a winding slope path has been provided) A Car Hire Rep has his own office/booth right in reception - very reputable 1 days car hire 50 euro with unlimited mileage, just remember your driving licence. A Shuttle Mini Bus service runs from reception - cheap regular service includes return - I highly recommend this as the local bus service is good but a long haul up a steep hill to get to the bus stop. If you're all-inclusive & staying out for the day, book a packed lunch with reception & collect it from the restaurant at breakfast - no charge & very nice. Entertainment 'very little' - a singer occupies one corner of the Piano Lounge & discreetly plays popular tunes from about 9pm. If you leave the back of the hotel you follow a pathway past a chapel, local boat service, simple bars/restaurants - nothing exceptional but worth a wander. The chapel chimes regularly but is tasteful & quite charming. A new hotel is under construction close by - we saw a couple of cranes, surprisingly little noise & not a hint of dust - so it gave us no stress at all.

Room Tip: Even though we had a side view room it gave us the best of both worlds - you could still see the sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rosalind J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

864 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    400
    174
    48
    19
See reviews for
177
443
35
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
ashburton, devon
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

I'm surprised at the comments of some people. I think some expect 5 star accommodation in a 3 star hotel. I am an average traveller and am not a fussy person.
I was surprised when I arrived on 16th June to be given a free upgrade to a villa. The only problem with this was that it was approx 180 yard walk to the hotel but this was good for exercise.
I could not fault anything about this hotel. The food was good and the service the same. I was most surprised that nearly all the workers in the hospitality trade speak ENGLISH. We are the lazy ones as most of us expect this. The hotel was spotless. Cleaners were working from 7 a.m. sweeping and polishing the floors. Well done to all the workers at this hotel. I was very pleased.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank seath m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

We booked this hotel with Newmarket Holidays and although some of the reviews were a bit negative we tried it. We were pleasantly surprised at how lovely it was, It's in a very good position in Mlini almost on the beach with a jetty nearby where you can catch a boat to Dubrovnik and various other places.

We booked half board and the food was plentiful and good, both for dinner and breakfast. The staff were helpful at all times and we would definitely go back there.

Room Tip: We were given a room on the 4th floor at the side from which we could see a lot of the surrounding s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MAUREEN J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

The real selling points for the hotel are its swimming pool, its food and its location close to Dubrovnik.

The main body of the hotel is clean but dated and it doesn't pay to look too closely at certain maintenance issues where there was some areas for concern.

Our room was off in an annex complex, was pokey, with unkempt plants sprawling across the tiny balcony, had peculiar air conditioning, no fridge or room safe and the promised sea view turned out to be completely obscured by overgrown trees.

Room cleaning was usually good though, except for the time I opened my towel to find it covered in dried leaves and dust!

There's a large construction site virtually next door to the hotel which is a little unsightly but didn't cause any noise problems. I understand that it's being built for the same group that owns the Astarea, so I don't know what their plans are for this place.

The biggest disappointment though was the absence of beds and umbrellas on the beach that the hotel fronted. They had plenty but they were locked away and nobody was prepared to get them out so we had to walk half a mile around to another, much prettier, bay to find some.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corvid99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

This large 3 star hotel is of a high standard and is used by numerous tour operaters. It is situated at the bottom of a steep hill but is just a stroll away from a very nice stretch of coastline which is relatively level where there are several bars and restaurants.
The hotel facilities include pool and table tennis tables, outdoor pool, hairdresser, gym and bar.
Both breakfast and evening meal are self service but of high standard, well presented and cooked with a large variety.
Courtesy buses are available to be used any time and on free days a trip to Catvat is well worth a 3 or 4 hour stay or alternatively to Dubrovnic. Both trips are 50 Kunas return ( appro £6 ).
The Dubrovnic museum pass is a good investment and allows entrance to 9 galleries / museums and is 50 Kunas.
The organised trips are a good experience but the bridge at Mostar gets crowded and is a difficult walk accross. Montenegro is very worthwhile and is remarkably cheap for drinks and food.
Overall a good holiday.

Room Tip: All rooms have a balcony but ask for one facing the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmatkov, Manager at Hotel Astarea, responded to this review, September 20, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for finding time to report your impressions of your recent stay in our hotel!
We hope that you will choose our Hotel as your holiday destination in the future, and give us an apportunity to welcome you again.
With very best regards
Hotel Astarea Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wootton Bassett, Wiltshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Very good position for Dubrovnik.
Medium refurbished air-conditioned rooms and modern spacious public areas.
Excellent well-stocked buffet-style restaurant with professional and friendly staff.
Excellent uncrowded outdoor and indoor pools both with sun terraces amply stocked with sunloungers.
Hotel right next to a small beach and the small village of Mlini, a couple of tavernas and a shop.
Hotel shuttle bus drives you into Dubrovnik or nearby town both about 20 minutes away.
Good friendly and very professional service by all staff.

Room Tip: Book via Saga
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BassettHoundAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014

We returned to the Astarea for a couple of nights after an absence of almost 42 years - it was where we spent our honeymoon in 1972!
The setting in the beautiful bay at Mlini is wonderful and the hotel has grown and added very smart, clean and uncrowded swimming pools but was still familiar. Like other reviewers, we were saddened by the sight of war-damaged and gutted buildings and there is quite a lot of construction going on nearby.
The "Superior Double room with Balcony and Sea View" promised by Booking.com was disappointing in that it was on the small side, the double bed was two singles pushed together making for an uncomfortable night and to get a sea view we had to lean over the balcony, but it was clean and everything worked well.
The half board meals made up by variety and quantity what they lacked in quality and imagination.
Staff were very helpful in organizing a taxi to meet us at the airport etc.
It the weather is good, a boat bus to Dubrovnik is a great way to get to the city. We used Viridor who had a solid good looking old boat.
Despite being in the EU, local shops and bars are forbidden to accept Euros in payment, as I found out when trying to pay for two beers we drank at a nearby bar ! The kind barman at "23" said not to worry and return with Kunas the next day (something unlikely to happen at home!). This currency rule doesn't seem to apply to taxis, boats and buying Dubrovnik cards and Croatia is likely to get the Euro soon.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BAntony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mlini
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mlini
Hotel Mlini
#1 of 7 in Mlini
213 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Dubrovnik Riviera Hotel
3.0 mi away
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
#2 of 17 in Cavtat
2,492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Villas Mlini
Villas Mlini
#4 of 7 in Mlini
35 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Avantgarde
Villa Avantgarde
#5 of 7 in Mlini
53 reviews
2.7 mi away
Remisens Hotel Albatros
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Astarea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astarea

Property: Hotel Astarea
Address: Shet.Marka Marojice 40, Mlini 20207, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Mlini
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Mlini
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Astarea 3*
Number of rooms: 307
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Astarea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asterea Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Astarea Mlini, Dubrovnik-Neretva County, Croatia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing