We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place”
Review of Hotel Astarea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Astarea
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Mlini
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 22, 2014

Hotel was very clean, little out of the way from the old town though. Be careful though when booking as although we booked the hotel when we checked in the manager then escorted us up a hill to another building slightly away from hotel, it was more like a motel though rooms still really clean, just expect that walk to the actual hotel for your meals etc, okay walking to hotel but getting back to your room was then all up hill. Public transport fine, bus at the top of the hill or shuttle service collecting you from the hotel, prices good. Little hilly so if you struggle walking up and down hills then it wouldn't be suitable really. Staff in hotel pleasant though one of the bar men actually the only bar man wasn't. He was quite abrupt really but other than that no complaints. Food was really good, lots of variety, well worth going all inclusive. Entertainment not the best, just one person providing the music, more for the older crowd really, certainly not for younger people or children, no entertainment that I saw for kids really. Very short walk to the beach, pools inside and out. Scenery out of this world, if you ever watched game of thrones this is where they filmed the series, that will give you an idea of how the place looks. Definitely would go again but closer to the old town.

Room Tip: If you don't want the walk to the motel which is part of the Astarea hotel then ask your booking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank elana909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmatkov, General Manager at Hotel Astarea, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2014

Dear Guest
We would like to thank you for the comments you have made about your holiday in hotel Astarea. We are happy that you had enjoyable experience in our hotel. However, we are very sorry that you did not find entertaiment satisfied, but we assure you that we are working continuously therefore we shall have more entertaiment in hotel starting June 15th.
We hope you will choose our hotel as your holiday destination in the future, and give us an opportunity to welcome you again.
With kind regards
Mario Matkovic
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,080)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

576 - 582 of 1,080 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2014

My husband and myself holidayed at the Astarea from May 1st to May 15th. First of all I would like to say do not pay attention to any negativ reviews. This hotel is located in a most wonderful spot in the world and the best place I have ever been to!!! We had room number 439 with a wonderful sea view. House keepng lady (hope I spell the correct) Gorinava did a superb job. We booked B&B, breakfast had everthing to offer. Again the staff welcoming and always smiling. One waitress to be mentioned is Katica, happy, bubbely lady. Same as the ladies in the hotel shop, always up for a chat and always happy, also have to mention the piano bar staff, especially Branko & Any. The indoor pool is an absolut bonus, all in all we had a very relaxing holiday and cannot wait to go back. Croatia welldone ;o)

Room Tip: Try to get a sea view room in the main hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rosemary O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmatkov, General Manager at Hotel Astarea, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank You for finding time to report Your impressions of Your recent stay in our hotel Astarea.
We are happy to see that You enjoyed Your holidays, and that You are satisfied with the food, pools, location ans staff attitude.
We would like to have an opportunity to welcome You once again in our hotel, and in the meantime we are sending our warmest regards.
Kind regards,
Mario Matkovic
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2014

My wife & I stayed at this hotel from 8th - 16th May 2014 on a half board basis. On arrival at Dubrovnik airport we hired a taxi & were taken on the 15 minute journey to the hotel, with the tip this cost 200 Kunas, approx £20.

The hotel is a large, impressive looking building, check-in was quick & easy, all the staff spoke good English, there are 5 floors in the hotel, our room 434 was on the 4th floor with a side view of the bay & the sea. It had both a double & single bed. The room was small but was clean, modern & well decorated & had everything that we needed, a shower, flat screen tv, comfortable chairs & a reasonable sized balcony.

We were there on a half board basis, both the breakfast & evening meals were self service buffets, the food was hot & tasty with enough variety to suit most peoples tastes.

The hotel appeared to be full, most of the guests were over 60's from England, France & Germany. There is a large, heated indoor pool, with a small fitness centre, outside there is another pool & a kiddies paddling pool. there are sun loungers all around, my only criticism would be the total lack of umbrellas which are needed as the sun can get very hot.

Mlini is a quiet, hilly, small place which is completely dead at night, if you intend staying for more than a week I would recommend hiring a car to get around as Croatia is a very interesting & there is so much to see & do.

I cannot recommend this hotel enough, I have been to most countries in the world & this is probably the best 3* hotel that I have stayed in. It;'s in a great location, reasonably priced, clean & modern, the food is good & the staff are friendly & helpful, what more do you need?

Room Tip: Try to get a sea view room on the upper floors. These are quieter & there is no A/C noise on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank RretiredOnHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmatkov, General Manager at Hotel Astarea, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for staying with us and for finding time to report your impressions.
We are thrilled that you enjoyed everthing thoughout your stay from the location, to our food in the main restaurant and facilities. We are especially delighted to hear that you recognized our staff friendliness and helpfulness.
We hope you will choose our Hotel as your holiday destination in the future, and gives an apportunity to welcome you again.
With kind regards
Mario Matkovic
Hotel Manager
P.S Sunumbrellas are placed on outside pool :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Room very spacious and clean, exceptional views from balcony, every staff member was extremely welcoming and friendly. Food was plentiful and explicit,being a fussy eater I usually have problem finding something to eat on holiday but had no problems, I was actually spoilt for choice as they cater for everyone. Hotel is on a small quiet beach making it a really peaceful relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: Higher floors are probably better if you like to retire early as they have light entertainment in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Eggie2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmatkov, General Manager at Hotel Astarea, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

Dear Guest,

we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience from Hotel Astarea on Tripadvisor. It is great to see that you enjoyed in your stay with us.

Thank you again for choosing our hotel for your stay in Mlini - Dubrovnik and we are looking forward to your next visit.


Kind regards,
Mario Matkovic
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2014

Very happy with our 1 week holiday in May. The hotel is very clean, staff very helpful and friendly and the location is just perfect- Dubrovnik is just around the corner. Beautiful views from our balcony and great weather made it a perfect little holiday. Thank you to all those who contributed. We will be back!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmatkov, General Manager at Hotel Astarea, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2014

Dear Guest,

let me thank you for writing such a nice review. We are happy to see that your stay with us was a nice one. We are looking forward seeing you here in near future.
With best regards

Mario Matkovic
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

We stayed here for a week and have nothing but praise for the staff. They worked long hours and nothing was too much trouble for them. The rooms were fairly small but adequate with a small bathroom with shower cubicle. The food was sometimes good, sometimes not. We loved the fish, stuffed vegetables and roasted Med veg. It was a short walk to the beach with a good walk along the promenade to Srebeno. Easy to get to Dubrovnik and lovely little Cavtat. The real issue is that a new hotel is being constructed nearby and the building works start 7am till 8 or 9pm at night every day including Sunday. We had been warned by the travel company that the works were being carried out 8-4 6 days a week but this was not the truth. The noise from pile driving was an unwelcome alarm clock so early in the day.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank moggy848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmatkov, General Manager at Hotel Astarea, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your positive recomendation. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us in hotel Astarea.
I am looking forward to your next visit to Mlini - Dubrovnik.
Sincerely yours,
Mario Matkovic
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Lovely location situated right by the sea and within a short walk of local restaurants and handful of low-key bars. My party of 3 girlfriends plus 8-year-old boy booked our 1-week holiday to Croatia on April 10th 2014 and enjoyed a very warm and a welcome stay at Hotel Astarea. We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis which suited our needs nicely as we were keen to explore and discover places to eat locally. Worth noting were the extremely helpful and friendly staff who were consistent with the high level of customer service offered. Vera the kitchen supervisor greets you cheerfully in the mornings and Branko the bartender was playful and kind, especially with our 8-year-old travelling companion. Joseph who runs the minibus/taxi service is absolutely charming and offers great rates into Dubrovnik (20mins) and other local areas. The management team of Mario and Maja were superb with a laid back approach which made for a really relaxed hotel atmosphere. Our rooms were clean, maintained daily had had stunning views of the hills and mountains. The indoor heated pool was wonderful with an outside lounging area perfect for sunbathing. Within easy walking distance was a wonderful adventure park, river taxi port (good for island hopping & Dubrovnik) quiet bars, scuba dive club and church. There was enough for us to see whilst we were there and in the peak summer months I’d imagine there’s quite a lively buzz! Hotel Astraea is a safe and comfortable base from which to explore the beauty of Mlini and beyond. I had a great time! A BIg thank you to EVERYONE! Audrey

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank audrey b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmatkov, General Manager at Hotel Astarea, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2014

Dear Audrey B

Thank you very much for your positive recomendation. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in the hotel" Astarea." It was a pleasure to meet you and we are all looking forward for your return visit to this area.
Sincerely yours,
Mario Matkovic
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mlini
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mlini
Hotel Mlini
#1 of 6 in Mlini
305 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villas Mlini
Villas Mlini
#4 of 6 in Mlini
47 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Dubrovnik Riviera Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Villa Avantgarde
Villa Avantgarde
#5 of 6 in Mlini
71 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Mirjana
Villa Mirjana
#6 of 6 in Mlini
24 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Cavtat
Hotel Cavtat
#1 of 18 in Cavtat
1,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Astarea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astarea

Address: Shet.Marka Marojice 40, Mlini 20207, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Mlini
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Mlini
Price Range: $65 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Astarea 3*
Number of rooms: 307
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Astarea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asterea Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Astarea Mlini, Dubrovnik-Neretva County, Croatia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing