We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“glad to go home”
Review of Hotel Astarea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Astarea
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Mlini
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“glad to go home”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

we arrived at hotel only to find that my husband could not get around much. we were told that it would be fine for disabled people, this was not so, the hotel staff were first class, the restaurant staff worked there socks off, they were lovely. the food okay but could have been a lot hotter.only one toilet in the reception areas and restaurant area .iasked for a shower chair for my husband chair provided would not fit so my husband had to have strip washes, he had two falls doing this,so we were just so glad to get home.
like i said the staff were brilliant, but facilities for disabled very poor.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mary186337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmatkov, Manager at Hotel Astarea, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for sharing your experience while staying in hotel Astarea. I am sorry to hear that you were not informed by travel agency about facilites we are providing for disabled people. Just an advice for the future, it is always good to check with hotel about facilities for disabled people in person via fax or e-mail For sure we would informed you corectly.
We are happy to see that you liked our staff and hotel.
Thank you for staying with us.
With kind regards
Mario Matkovic
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

867 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    402
    174
    48
    19
See reviews for
178
445
35
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Overall not a bad hotel but it could be a bit better. For example we stayed in the annex called Asterea 2. . The rooms are a bit small, the problem is that if it begins raining and you are wanting your breakfast or food stuffs from the restaurant you have quite a distance to clear. Not bad if its dry but when its raining it can be a problem. To solve this they need brollys in the both hotel areas for transiting between the 2 areas. The food is quite good. The toaster in the cookhouse is useless. I would also like to have tea and coffee making facilities in the rooms. There are non. I would like to have seen an iron or even an ironing room. We had neither due to safety apparently. Staff are great, you are within easy reach of the local bus service and the beach areas.Rooms are clean and tidy but the furniture is not best standard. There is a computer terminal in reception and free WIFI in the main hotel but not in the annex.The pool and gym is quite good. Overall, very relaxing.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trev D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heathrow area
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Went for a 3-day break at this hotel, which is in a beautiful position in Mlini. I had a villa room, which was really close to the sea and had a lounge, bedroom, bathroom, balcony, and small kitchenette. The gardens and paths were exceptionally clean, as was the hotel itself. The food was fine, not spectacular, but I am not a lover of buffets anyway. All in all, a hotel in a lovely situation with wonderful views, great swimming pool and gym facilities, and friendly staff. I would return but on a B&B basis, not half board - but that's just my aversion to buffets!

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank iwishiweretherenow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmatkov, Manager at Hotel Astarea, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and taking your time to write review about our hotel. We are very glad to see that you liked our hotel and that you enjoyed your stay. We hope that we will have opportunity to welcome you again in our hotel.
With very best regards,
Mario Matkovic
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tirana, Albania
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

The hotel offers spacious and clean rooms with beautiful sea view and a good breakfast. It is a situated in a very beautiful bay and near the center of Dubrovnik and very good for the price.You can take a walk by the beach and find more interested restaurants around and take a glass boat trip.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gentalb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmatkov, Manager at Hotel Astarea, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time and writing review about our hotel! We are glad that you spent nice holidays and that you were satisfied with hotel. We hope to see you again in our hotel.
Best Regards,
Mario Matkovic
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jevnaker, Norway
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We were 30 persons from a bridge group assembled at Astarea for 14 days and mostly we were satisfied, but one important thing Draw the impression Down: the service in the restaurant: when we ordered something to drink, the wine or beer usually was served when we had finished eating. There were refrigerators on only few rooms and we just got one key each even we shared double rooms.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oystein1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmatkov, Manager at Hotel Astarea, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and taking your time to write review about our hotel. We are very glad to see that you liked our hotel and that you enjoyed your stay. As we are having plastic key cards we are able to issue only one key per room. This is something we are working to improve as well as service which was lacking in main restaurant.
We hope that we will have opportunity to welcome you again in our hotel.
With very best regards,
Mario Matkovic
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed at the Astarea 2 weeks ago. It is only 15mins from Dubrovnik airport. The hotel is in a lovely position with the beach in front and interesting walks along the coast to the next village. The sea is very safe to swim. We had a room in the main hotel with balcony and sea view. It was very clean and comfortable with an amazing shower. The hotel has many amenities including a gym, outdoor pool and indoor sea water pool. The Spa is also recommended. We had booked half board and were not disappointed with the selection and quality of food on offer. There was a huge turn over of guests at the hotel and the restaurant was always very busy but the staff and restaurant manager kept the buffet replenished, took drink orders and cleared the tables promptly. There is a mini bus into Dubrovnik and Cavtat from the hotel at a small charge. A nice alternative is to use the ferry service from the small harbour at Mlini which is 5 mins walk from the hotel. Staff at the hotel were always helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: We stayed in the main hotel, room 104 with a balcony and sea view. The sunsets from this room were a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmatkov, Manager at Hotel Astarea, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and taking your time to write review about our hotel. We are very glad to see that you liked our hotel and that you enjoyed your stay. We hope that we will have opportunity to welcome you again in our hotel.
With very best regards, from sunny Mlini
Mario Matkovic
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

very nice hotel,its situated in lovely woodland surrounded by pine trees,with absolutely stunning views of zupla bay.its a quaint little hamlet just 15 mins ride from dubrovnik.going the other way again about the same distance is another olde worlde place called cavtat with a nice harbour front. lots of bars and cafes strewn along the promenade.it is fairly cheap to eat out as well.back to the hotel its lovely and clean with very helpful, staff on reception ,a very easy check in with a 24hr reception.we arrived about 7pm just in time for our evening meal.the meals are varied and we enjoyed everymeal we had there.my only grumble was no jug of tap water on the table.you had to pay 16 kunars for a bottle of water to go with your meal.any alcoholic or soft drinks also had to be purchased.the saga guests have their own lounge and outdoor patio area and free complimentary drinks with their meal,thats great if you are a saga guest but if not like me and my friend we felt a little bit out of it.saga guests also could go down to the dining room at 6.45 pm all other guests had to wait until 7pm.otherwise i would reccomend this hotel to anyone who fancies a restful break in tranquil surroundings.there is a hotel mini bus that takes you to dubrovnik or cavtat at certain times during the day,the cost of each trip is 60 kunars return.or you can go up the hill and catch the local bus service number 10 to ither of these places for 30 kn return.its a lovely little run along the coast road with great views of the sea.we didnt actually stay in the hotel itself we stayed in the annexe 2 .these rooms were spacious with the best views i have ever had whilst been on holiday,marvelous sea view of the bay.the showers are lovely and hot .in fact a nice modern bathroom altogether.large balconies as well perfect for admiring the spectacular scenery.would certainly go there again sometime.and the price is very reasonable.lovely indoor salt water pool and gymnasium and spa.and fab brand new outdoor pool.

Room Tip: not good for people with walking difficulties cause of lots of steps in the annexe but ok if stayin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunkissedjan_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmatkov, Manager at Hotel Astarea, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and taking your time to write review about our hotel. We are very glad to see that you liked our hotel and that you enjoyed your stay. We hope that we will have opportunity to welcome you again in our hotel.
With very best regards,
Mario Matkovic
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mlini
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mlini
Hotel Mlini
#1 of 7 in Mlini
217 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Dubrovnik Riviera Hotel
3.0 mi away
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
#2 of 17 in Cavtat
2,502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Villas Mlini
Villas Mlini
#4 of 7 in Mlini
35 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Avantgarde
Villa Avantgarde
#5 of 7 in Mlini
53 reviews
2.7 mi away
Remisens Hotel Albatros
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Astarea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astarea

Property: Hotel Astarea
Address: Shet.Marka Marojice 40, Mlini 20207, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Mlini
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Mlini
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Astarea 3*
Number of rooms: 307
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Astarea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asterea Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Astarea Mlini, Dubrovnik-Neretva County, Croatia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing