We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel in a beautiful setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Astarea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Astarea
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Mlini
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel in a beautiful setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed at the Astarea 2 weeks ago. It is only 15mins from Dubrovnik airport. The hotel is in a lovely position with the beach in front and interesting walks along the coast to the next village. The sea is very safe to swim. We had a room in the main hotel with balcony and sea view. It was very clean and comfortable with an amazing shower. The hotel has many amenities including a gym, outdoor pool and indoor sea water pool. The Spa is also recommended. We had booked half board and were not disappointed with the selection and quality of food on offer. There was a huge turn over of guests at the hotel and the restaurant was always very busy but the staff and restaurant manager kept the buffet replenished, took drink orders and cleared the tables promptly. There is a mini bus into Dubrovnik and Cavtat from the hotel at a small charge. A nice alternative is to use the ferry service from the small harbour at Mlini which is 5 mins walk from the hotel. Staff at the hotel were always helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: We stayed in the main hotel, room 104 with a balcony and sea view. The sunsets from this room were a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmatkov, Manager at Hotel Astarea, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and taking your time to write review about our hotel. We are very glad to see that you liked our hotel and that you enjoyed your stay. We hope that we will have opportunity to welcome you again in our hotel.
With very best regards, from sunny Mlini
Mario Matkovic
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

810 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    377
    161
    45
    19
See reviews for
172
408
34
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

very nice hotel,its situated in lovely woodland surrounded by pine trees,with absolutely stunning views of zupla bay.its a quaint little hamlet just 15 mins ride from dubrovnik.going the other way again about the same distance is another olde worlde place called cavtat with a nice harbour front. lots of bars and cafes strewn along the promenade.it is fairly cheap to eat out as well.back to the hotel its lovely and clean with very helpful, staff on reception ,a very easy check in with a 24hr reception.we arrived about 7pm just in time for our evening meal.the meals are varied and we enjoyed everymeal we had there.my only grumble was no jug of tap water on the table.you had to pay 16 kunars for a bottle of water to go with your meal.any alcoholic or soft drinks also had to be purchased.the saga guests have their own lounge and outdoor patio area and free complimentary drinks with their meal,thats great if you are a saga guest but if not like me and my friend we felt a little bit out of it.saga guests also could go down to the dining room at 6.45 pm all other guests had to wait until 7pm.otherwise i would reccomend this hotel to anyone who fancies a restful break in tranquil surroundings.there is a hotel mini bus that takes you to dubrovnik or cavtat at certain times during the day,the cost of each trip is 60 kunars return.or you can go up the hill and catch the local bus service number 10 to ither of these places for 30 kn return.its a lovely little run along the coast road with great views of the sea.we didnt actually stay in the hotel itself we stayed in the annexe 2 .these rooms were spacious with the best views i have ever had whilst been on holiday,marvelous sea view of the bay.the showers are lovely and hot .in fact a nice modern bathroom altogether.large balconies as well perfect for admiring the spectacular scenery.would certainly go there again sometime.and the price is very reasonable.lovely indoor salt water pool and gymnasium and spa.and fab brand new outdoor pool.

Room Tip: not good for people with walking difficulties cause of lots of steps in the annexe but ok if stayin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunkissedjan_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmatkov, Manager at Hotel Astarea, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and taking your time to write review about our hotel. We are very glad to see that you liked our hotel and that you enjoyed your stay. We hope that we will have opportunity to welcome you again in our hotel.
With very best regards,
Mario Matkovic
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

I stayed in hotel Astarea last week and the rooms are comfortable, the food is very good and the new swimming pool is very inviting! What I really liked about the hotel is it's lovely setting and the beach is right in front of the hotel. Although I was in the area on business, I couldn't resist a relaxing dip in the sea and a couple of hours of sunbathing! Next time I will definitely spend more than just a day in Mlini at the hotel Astarea.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mirko S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmatkov, Manager at Hotel Astarea, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel and writing such a nice review! We are very glad to see that you spent nice holidays in our hotel and that our facilities and services met you expectations. We hope that you will be our guest again.
Best Regards
Mario Matkovic
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

Excellent hotel. Friendly helpful staff. Beautiful food even for a veggie like me! Exquisite cakes strudels and creamy pastry type things. Clean room with balcony and nice view. You can hire cars in Hotel Astarea for really competitive prices from great guy Eddie nice cars in top notch condition.You can also book boat trips too. Shuttle bus from hotel to Dubrovnik really convenient. Sea very close and dive centre. Beautiful little harbour. Lovely buildings orange topped roofs. Cute cats. Nice smells coming from tavernas. Absolutely LOVED it here!!!!
DOBAR DAN i Hvala Hotel Astarea.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NatDGav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmatkov, Manager at Hotel Astarea, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel and writing such a nice review! We are very glad to see that you spent nice holidays in our hotel and that our facilities and services met you expectations. We hope that you will be our guest again.
Best Regards
Mario Matkovic
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed for a week late September, the hotel was lovely and they have made a great job of the new outdoor swimming pools and relaxation area, the setting is fantastic. It was busy with regular turnover of visitors but the staff remained helpful and I don't feel the busyness effected services at all. Facilities and Food was very good, lots of choice with lovely salads, soup, meat and fish mains, pasta, deserts, fruit and an icecream counter. Self service arrangement meant you could eat as much or as little as you wanted and worked very well for us.
Mlini itself is a beautiful place, we made boat trips from it's little harbour to Dubrovnik and Catvat, a great holiday and we will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawnmeakin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmatkov, Manager at Hotel Astarea, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time and writing review about our hotel! We are glad that you spent nice holidays and that you were satisfied with hotel. We hope to see you again in our hotel.
Best Regards,
Mario Matkovic
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St Edmunds, UK
Level Contributor
72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

Although hotel was larger and more modern than we expected, once we managed to find our way around it, we found it to be clean, comfortable and with lots of good amenities. The staff were also friendly & helpful.
Breakfast was perfectly adequate and the buffet dinner was superb. I'm a vegetarian and often struggle when abroad; however there was usually something vegetarian - a pasta dish or veg bake, or lovely feta stuffed rolled pancakes and the salad & veg were so tasty I always had a plateful (or two). It was also lovely to eat on the balcony terrace overlooking the sea, but you had to get there early for those tables!
The room was good - with a balcony & sea view.
The little village of Mlini was very picturesque and very nice for an evening stroll, and the beach & sea were clean. I was initially concerned about the distance from Dubrovnik, but actually transport links were good, and it was a pleasant journey on the regular boat services.
I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SanRobbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmatkov, Manager at Hotel Astarea, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time and writing review about our hotel! We are glad that you spent nice holidays and that you were satisfied with hotel. We hope to see you again in our hotel.
Best Regards,
Mario Matkovic
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

The situation of the hotel is superb set in a very quiet bay with wonderful walks along the promenade with plenty of watering holes and a picturesque small harbour.. The new swimming pool and sun decking area are very good. The pool is freezing - colder than the sea,. There were no towels provided and so we had to purchase our own.
The rooms are very basic and need refurbishing. We had a good view from our room but many rooms would have their view obscured by the trees.
My dated hairdryer (the old tube type attached to the wall burnt my fingers and hand when drying my hair. I did ask for a different type but nothing was forthcoming. Take your own shower gel and body lotion as this is not provided. We had to buy our own.
They do provide shampoo
The food was only average and hardly any variety. We arrived back late on two occasions from a coach trip (not our fault) and although the dining room was supposed to be open for at least another hour, much of the heated trays were emptied and half of the food bar closed off. What was left was pretty inedible.
Some of the staff are very pleasant but there are a few that could benefit from some people skills tuition.
The guitar player in the evening was very good and easy on the ear.
The new beach restaurant is in a lovely position but service was very slow. Maryana was very helpful and pleasant and did all she could for us. I don't know how they would cope if they were busy. Burgers were poor but salads were good.
I hope they will improve in a few areas and that would make it more of a special place to stay.
Door closers would be an asset to prevent the banging of doors (some people do not think about others when leaving their rooms)

Room Tip: Lower rooms have virtually no sea view on the Dubrovnik side as the trees obscure the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmatkov, Manager at Hotel Astarea, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time and writing review about our hotel! We are glad that you spent nice holidays and that you were satisfied with hotel. We have taken your comments seriously and will take steps in order to be better.
We hope to see you again in our hotel.
Best Regards,
Mario Matkovic
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mlini
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mlini
Hotel Mlini
#1 of 7 in Mlini
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
#2 of 17 in Cavtat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,360 reviews
2.7 mi away
Remisens Hotel Albatros
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Dubrovnik Riviera Hotel
0.0 mi away
Villas Mlini
Villas Mlini
#4 of 7 in Mlini
4.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Cavtat
Hotel Cavtat
#1 of 17 in Cavtat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Astarea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astarea

Property: Hotel Astarea
Address: Shet.Marka Marojice 40, Mlini 20207, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Mlini
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Mlini
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Astarea 3*
Number of rooms: 307
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Astarea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asterea Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Astarea Mlini, Dubrovnik-Neretva County, Croatia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing