We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We were very positively surprised by Hotel Astarea”
Review of Hotel Astarea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Astarea
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Mlini
Certificate of Excellence
Luleå
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“We were very positively surprised by Hotel Astarea”
Reviewed August 29, 2011

We were very pleased with our stay at Hotel Astarea, and would gladly recommend it.

+ We paid for a room with a double bed, balcony and sea view, and we were very happy when we got our nice room with TWO double beds, a big balcony and nice view.

+ The staff at the reception was very kind and helpfull.

+ The beach was nice and close to the hotel.

+ The breakfast was OK

+ The cute cats that live in the area

We really don't have much bad to say about the hotel...

- The only thing would be that the slope from the hotel to the bus station is really tough during a hot day, even for a couple of 20-year olds.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Carolina1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

865 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    400
    174
    48
    19
See reviews for
178
443
35
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2011

Stayed at the Astarea as part of a 'Croatia Family Adventure' package - hotel arranged by the travel company. The cost of the holiday was quite high and we expected a high level accommodation to reflect this and whilst some of the cost is attributable to the tour company it was clear from the prices charged at the hotel for various services, drinks etc. that much of this cost was down to the hotel.

The hotel does not justify the prices charged - whilst the public areas are generally smart, some of the furniture is badly in need of replacement (the hotel seems to allow smoking both in the rooms and public areas and the smell of cigarettes was everywhere) and the service is decidedly hit and miss. The rooms are small, badly in need of refurbishment, most have limited sea views, being 90 degrees on to the sea, the showers regularly switching from hot to cold, no fridge (impossible to keep drinks cool) and air conditioning so noisy that it drowned out the sound of a rock band in the village! Maid service however was excellent with the sheets changed mid week and towels replaced when required.

The worst problem however is the food, we like it seemed most people staying at the hotel, were on half board; the breakfasts were very limited, no prepared fresh fruit, juice that was watered down, coffee from the sort of machines found in motorway service stations and one (small) pastry offering per day; evening meals were generally better with reasonably good salads and fish but each member of our party struggled to find anything palatable at all on at least one occasion. If you do visit remember to keep your knife and fork after each course otherwise the staff will take them away and there are no replacements available without raiding another table.

The location is another matter, the gardens and lower approach to the hotel being near perfect. Mlini itself is small but absolutely delightful with good clean beaches, excellent little restaurants, we can recommend Konobo Astarea, the Pizzeria at Hotel Milini and Lanterna. There is a good ferry service to Dubrovnik (30 minutes) for 80 Kuna return (10 euros) although check the times carefully on the day as the published timetable bears little resemblance to the reality. The walk to Srebreno is also very pleasant for a change of atmosphere.

This part of Croatia is absolutely fascinating with its stunning coastline, signs of the war still apparent and of course Dubrovnik which is a must. The people are very friendly and welcoming. The Astarea could be superb with it's setting, it just needs to try a bit harder.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a full sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ADCottenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

I was unsure at first what this hotel would be like. I had read previous reviews of several hotels in Dubrovnik and none of them made me panic as we had booked an allocation on arrival package. The hotel is set into a hill, surrounded by pine trees and gardens, overlooking the sea and Milini beach below. What struck me was how green and clean it all was. The public areas are clean and bright and the hotel has lots of facilities. There's an indoor pool, shop and hairdressers and spa treatments as well as pool and table tennis and a gym. We didn't use all the facilities though. More level access to the hotel is from the beach area, up a path beside the pool and then there is a ramp past the pool tables and shop to the lifts. Bear in mind the lifts are very narrow though. The receptionists were polite and helpful. We loved the location, very near to the beach just down a small hill. The lifts are very small and narrow but beautiful with mirrors and glass. Our room was fine and had a small balcony and it looked out to one side over the sea. Our room was very clean with a small fridge. Our room was cleaned every day. It was just fine for what we needed as we stayed half-board. My only criticism, which I think is not just their issue, as the guests hold some responsibility, was the food. It was very safe. Many of the guests gathered hugh amounts of food to their table before each meal. Lots of it was just left and this made me very sad. Quantity over quality sadly. However, we always found something tasty and the fish dishes were always very nice. Sadly there was nothing much Croation or Dalmation about it.

Location wise the hotel was great. We would walk along the path that runs along the coast to catch the tourist ferry to Dubrovnik, Cavtat and some of the islands each day. There was also a bus service run by the hotel to places of interest. The beach is small and pebbley but lovely and clean. The sea currents are quite strong but we enjoyed snorkelling there most days and sunbeds are cheaply available. The hotel runs a cafe nearby and there is a shop for water and ice-cream. There is also a couple of restaurants nearby.

The staff were polite and friendly. I will be more than happy to return there. Loved Croatia, like finding somewhere before everyone else!! Very relaxing.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank kelyness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newquay
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2011

The staff were so friendly and welcoming. On arrival we were a bit disappointed to find that our room was in the annexe: Astarea 2, after having read the reviews. But having a slightly less modern room was compensated by a superb view of the bay from our balcony and the sound of the sea gently lapping on the shore at night ,if we left the doors to the balcony open. Also, being away from the main building meant it was quieter as we were some distance away from the bars and social areas.
The food was good with plenty of choice for breakfasts and evening meal. However, we think the hotel is missing an opportunity in not providing a cheap ,yet basic packed lunch.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 1purpleronnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Notts
Level Contributor
112 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2011

We stayed for a week late June/early July after a week in Montenegro. Our room was in the annexe, a bit small, but it was adequate. Twin beds comfortable. No fridge, but we asked maid for one on arrival and it arrived in minutes. Small balcony with a lovely uninterrupted view down the gardens to the shore and across the bay. We were in a room in the 800 series. Although we think the annexe rooms may be marginally cheaper than the main building, it seems the view may well be better. Rooms on the entrance side of the main building all face the driveway and their balconies are completely visible to anyone approaching the hotel. We were therefore far more private in the annexe. Something of a walk up and down a slope to get to the main building and its restaurant and other facilities. A bit tiresome for anyone with a mobility problem. Storage in the room was sufficient but it had one of those irritating narrow wardrobes with the rail front to back so constantly messing up clothes trying to grope for those further back! However this hardly faults the holiday overall! Room kept very clean but towels only changed when left in shower. TV OK. Air conditioning strange in that it came on automatically when closing the balcony doors. Could not control it otherwise. A bit noisy. Best to leave it off at night, leave doors open but close the exterior louvred shutters for ventilation.

Restaurant very good as ALL meals are buffet style. We were half board with a very wide choice of dishes at breakfast and at dinner. Restaurant staff very efficient and friendly, constantly moving around to clear used dishes away. We could have had a buffet lunch at an extra fixed charge (quite expensive we thought) but found the Astarea 'Konoba' on the beach much better where you could pick and choose from a varied menu at moore modes prices. The hotel has pleasant gardens, a nice coffee bar and we found the reception staff all helpful with a reasonable command of English. One strange thing - the swimming pool is indoors and hardly seemed to be in use by more than 4 or 5 persons at any one time.

Mlini beach is nice - pebbly - not crowded - pleasant to stroll along to the small harbour. The small Mlini Hotel is on the beach (owned by the Astarea group) also the Konoba and a couple of other little cafes, a tiny shop, old tiny churches but that is all we needed. We like to get away from crowds at the place we stay. From there to use it as a base for excursions.

From the harbour there are regular boats to Dubrovnik and Cavtat. The Astarea has its own shuttle bus for both these places or one could use the regular buses from the main road - up a VERY steep hill from the hotel. Gradient 17%. Poor mobility persons please note. Tried the glassbottom boat trip but nothing like as spectacular as those we happen to have experienced in tropical waters.

We found old Dubrovnik old city a wonderful place - even managing to walk the walls despite high temperatures for time of year. Another long excursion to Mostar in Bosnia-Herzegovina was a worthwhile experience. The Croatia interior is rugged and worth exploring by coach excursions.

Overall we liked Mlini and think did well to stay a little away from the crowded towns. We would recomend to others

Room Tip: Get a room with an uninterrupted view. Annexe could be a better bet. Hilly area could be difficul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank historian90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kings Lynn
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2011

We stayed at the Astarea for four nights as part of a trip with Newmarket Holidays and after staying in a four star in Split for the first part we had a shock to find that the three star Astarea came as a bit of a let down to say the least. All of our party , some of which had difficulty walking leave alone climbing stairs could not manage the floors in the annexe (Astarea 2 ) The hotel was full to the brim so there was not a chance of moving to the main building which looked so much better, although we did not look at the rooms. Our room was small and dark but in fairness was clean and had Air Conditioning when the patio door was closed. The food was average in the evenings but the breakfast eggs had been welded together and were not at all appetising. On the plus side the location was lovely with a pleasent walk along the bay and we found the hotel staff helpful. We did not use either the pool or the spa but they both looked clean , and there is a terrace for sunbathing if required. I am sure that if we had been accomodated in the main building in the first place I woul have been much more positive regarding our stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank biscoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orpington, Kent
Level Contributor
41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2011

We were very disappointed to be situated in the annex of this hotel, as it resembled an army barracks. However, our room wasn't too bad at all. We had a small balcony with a sea view, but no fridge or safe in the room. The main hotel building was very nice, with an indoor swimming pool, gym, hairdresser etc. The restaurant is huge, with two areas with food. There was plenty of choice, but they kept running out of dishes, and being a buffet, it was not hot. The waiting staff did their best, but were very busy, and quite slow at clearing tables. The hotel is nicely situated very near to the sea, and there are a few cafes and restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sladie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mlini
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mlini
Hotel Mlini
#1 of 7 in Mlini
215 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Dubrovnik Riviera Hotel
3.0 mi away
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
#2 of 17 in Cavtat
2,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Villas Mlini
Villas Mlini
#4 of 7 in Mlini
35 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Avantgarde
Villa Avantgarde
#5 of 7 in Mlini
53 reviews
2.7 mi away
Remisens Hotel Albatros
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Astarea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astarea

Property: Hotel Astarea
Address: Shet.Marka Marojice 40, Mlini 20207, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Mlini
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Mlini
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Astarea 3*
Number of rooms: 307
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Astarea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asterea Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Astarea Mlini, Dubrovnik-Neretva County, Croatia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing