We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“...mellow atmosphere”
Review of Konoba Lanterna

Konoba Lanterna
Ranked #1 of 18 Restaurants in Mlini
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Croatian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Family restaurant in the center of Mlini located directly by the seaside
Warrington England
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“...mellow atmosphere”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Lovely service and splendic Croatian 'classical' music...

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nontouristy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    260
    171
    47
    14
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Unacceptable food and service”
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Maybe it was an off day when we visited but the food served was dreadful. I ordered an omelette which arrived swimming in a plate of old oil. It had also been given a chance to crisp up in that old oil. It was truely disgusting and I can't understand how anyone could make an omelette this badly. My husband's seafood risotto hadn't been given enough time in the microwave and was lukewarm. When the waiter asked us what was wrong, I showed him the bundle of napkins I'd used to try to mop up the oil on the omelette dish. I asked him to try it but he refused and took the plate away. All I could hear from the kitchen was laughter and they still had the cheek to charge us for it. I paid as I was on holiday, didn't want the hassle and it was only a matter of a few pounds but I can't help feeling that a restaurant that laughs at you when it serves you dreadful food doesn't care about it's customers.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Happytraveller12397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karol M, Manager at Konoba Lanterna, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
In the time when the review was writen Konoba Lanterna in Mlini (a village near Dubrovnik) was closed. It started to work on the 30.04.2012. There is a restoran named Lanterna in the city Dubrovnik.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Simply the great”
Reviewed December 9, 2010

Been there with my friend on our vacation to Dubrovnik.
Its situated next to more well-known and in my opinion "overrated"
Taj Mahal.
The menu was extended and had a great choice of Croatian
meals, I ordered mixed grill plate, beer, and my friend got juice and
beef goulash with rice.
Friend didnt liked the meal, but rice was undercooked.
For me mixed grill plate was simply the great and portion was huge.
It was more than enough for 2 persons. Meats were fresh, tasty and
well-cooked. Local draft beer was great.
The place is family owned.
The owner of the place served us, he was nice and polite. His wife was the cook, and very good one indeed. Expressed my gratitude, and admiration
before leaving the place.
Price was reasonable, main courses and drinks for 2 costed around 35 EUR.
Totally recommend this place to the visitors of Dubrovnik.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eugedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Excellent home cooked Croatian food”
Reviewed December 3, 2010

A family-run restaurant next door to the slightly more well known Taj Mahal, but very worth visiting. Very tasty home cooked meats and dishes with tables out on the cobbled alley outside, and at a reasonable price for the town centre

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MayesTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Konoba Lanterna also viewed

Mlini, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Mlini, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 
Mlini, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Mlini, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 
Plat, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Mlini, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 

Been to Konoba Lanterna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing