We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic holiday”
Review of Hotel Loewe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Loewe
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Serfaus
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic holiday”
Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

we've just finished a weeks skiing and will definitely be back
Hotel is great with amazing kids facilities. Waterpark has proper slides. I enjoyed it as much as my 6 year old. Great way to end a days skiing. Soft play and kids club. The 6 and 4 yr had dinner there and complained when I fetched them for bed. Always a good sign. Left 1 yr in child care during skiing. Easy and well run.

Room was large and well appointed. Food at restaurant was excellent. Apple strudel for afternoon tea. Dinners varied, tasty and beautifully presented. Great service.

Will be back and highly recommend for an easy ski holiday with kids

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evan2711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    35
    17
    8
    3
See reviews for
141
1
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 1 week at the hotel Baer with three children (6 years and younger). We liked the service and general friendliness of the staff, food was very good (not too fancy, just what you would expect from a very good Austrian hotel), our room was very spacious (we had the Leading Family Suite) and perfect for a couple with 3 kids. The pool area is nice for kids and we loved the spacious spa. Gym is a bit limited.

Our older children loved the kid's club. The younger ones (2 and 3yrs) felt a bit lost. In general the staff didnt engage very much with the children and seemed very occupied with looking after babies. For the older kids that was not an issue because they met other kids and had great fun but for the younger ones it meant that we didn't leave them own their own much.

The location of the hotel is great if you send your kids to the beginner's ski school, which is right in front of it. For the older kids (and also for us), the logistics were a bit of a pain (a general issue of Serfaus and probably a reason for us not to go back). You have to take the subway first (no lift) and then the chairlift up the mountain to get to the main ski school.

So, overall a great holiday but a pity that the town isn't better connected to the skiing area.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fluc_21st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

Great Ski region. Nice hotel, large suits and good entertainment for the kids. Bit of a walk to the subway station with smaller kids. Restaurant was a bit dissapointing, food sounded better than it tasted.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Birkenhead007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Ten days in July with a 7 and a 5 year old. Children loved the hotel and the whole town seemed to go the extra mile to make things easy and affordable (free lift passes, what appeared to be free town child care!, free buses). We had a car but didn't use it while we were there. Hotel kids club was good although only one of the staff had good english, but then they made sure she was around for our children. Great indoor water park (although only turned on in the afternoon) and an average sized plain indoor pool. Restaurant turned out to be very good with a varied menu through the week. Make use of the sister hotel up the hill where you can also take your meals and use the facilities. Thouroughly recommend it as a different family holiday and will probably go back when the kids are a couple of years older and can try the climbing things, zip wires etc.

Room Tip: The Baghira Suites work well with a small seperate room for the children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2012

We stayed for a week in March 2012 at hotel Bär. Overall the stay was rather disappointing as there were a couple of incidents that do not fit into this class of hotel but are rather expected in a three star one.

Let's start with the true 4 star items:

- Food was excellent although the grill event was not to our liking (the prawns already cooked, a focus on 1-2 types of meats and side dishes would improve the event). Or why do this kind of thing at all. It does not really fit in the context of other evenings. We appreciated the asian flavored cuisine. And also were grateful that the sizes of the dishes were adequate.

- Service in the restaurant was also excellent, efficient and very friendly. We appreciated the staff taking care of getting baby food for our 4 months old daughter (the selection at the baby buffet only contained food suited for 8 months+ (we still do not understand why the planning did not work out as there were at least half a dozen babies below 8 months staying at the hotel in the same week).

- The kids club in the evening (for >3) was also very well liked by our oldest (3 years old). The animation team had different offerings throughout the week and took great care to make the stay enjoyable for the kids. Thanks again to the staff!

- The staff at the baby club was also excellent, although we noticed a couple of points for improvement listed below.

- The swimming pool area is of a good size and offers enough entertainment.

- The spa area is very nice (although it only opens in the late afternoon) and was never crowed.

- The room(s) (in our case a leading family suite) was/were of a good size but the floor plan for the room is a catastrophe (better not be claustrophobic, see also below).

- The price was also 4 to 5 stars :-(

And the list of the negative items (as said most of these items are ok if found in a 3 star hotel):

- Reception was very frosty and unacceptable to us. One could at least expect a plan on where to find what. Furthermore, a couple of the items requested were not available despite promises during reservation: a) as mentioned already no adequate food for our baby had been organized, b) no pram as promised was available, c) no bathrobe for babies, d) ski course booked was the wrong one (luckily we noticed and asked why there was only a morning time; the second correction booking was also wrong, so we did the third booking ourself and guess what: the corrections did not make it to the bill...), d) no side protection was mounted on the children's beds. Complaints were handled very efficiently (for the hotel :-(): the responsible person was never available and we were always asked to come back later. On the leaving day, we finally only managed to get somebody to pick up our luggage after threatening to not vacate the room and go to the pool instead.

- Baby club opening hours caused a lot of stress. The baby and toddler club (<3) opens at 9:30 only. The kids club at 9:00. Ski classes start at 10:30 and we managed only once to get up to the ski class ground in less than an hour. Again, we ask ourselves why the hotel does not plan for the parents also to enjoy their holidays with less stress and open the baby club at the same time.

- Baby club offering in itself: We only learned the second day of our stay that the babies stayed inside all day (a consequence of not having prams for babies) and changed our plans accordingly.

- Rooms: no blinds in the children room (so the kids get up when the sun gets up), no blinds also in the living room. The parent's room has no windows. So no blind issue there. But again even in full sunlight, artificial light is needed to see something in the suite. We did not stay much inside (luckily the weather was good), because of the gloomy feeling inside the room. The furnishing is very nice but not adequate for children., a couple of examples: in the bathroom for children, the mirror was mounted at 1,40m; the small table in the living room had sharp edges at a high of 1m, in order to get to the bathroom the children had to cross the parents sleeping area. Also as a note: the whole hotel has exactly one elevator connecting the main rooms to the rest of the hotel.

- Cleanliness: children bed lines were not changed during the week despite chocolate spots on the children ones.

- Location: The hotel is located around 45 minutes away (either taking the “subway” or walking in ski shoes) from the Komperdell station. With children, it will take you significantly longer.

Finally, we again managed to get (as the majority of the other hotel guests) sick during our stay in hotel Bär. This time it was the noro virus. We do not know why this only happens to us while we are staying at the hotels of the leading family hotel chain and not when we stay at any other children hotel (which we regularly do 2 to 3 times a year). Again, the spreading of this virus was well known by the hotel staff but no information passed through to the guests from the staff (fitting our overall impression of the service provided).

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank SofieZurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Our family stayed for one week. The hotel is friendly and helpful. The rooms are very clean and well appointed. The hotel is large so expect lots of walking to and from the rooms. There is a water slide and pool complex with a great heated outdoor pool, probably our favourite place to relax after skiing. The food was good, but the full board option that is pushed is not really worthwhile if you plan to ski all day as it is situated at least 15 min walk from the ski lifts. We found the train slow and usually walked through the village to get to and from the lifts. The kids are very well catered for and there is no pressure from the staff for them to conform and join in the activities if they didn't want to, a welcome change in Europe. We had perfect ski conditions, so it wasn't hard for the hotel to be good in such fabulous weather, but we would recommend this as a family place to stay, so long as you don't want ski in ski out accommodation.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Quadrupeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2011

This is a great top end family hotel. Everything is done so that both you and your kids enjoy your holiday. Large pool, Spa facility (only for adults), 4-5 daily events for the kids. And it's all inclusive (except wine and ... coke), so that you don't get some really bad surprise at the end of the trip. Room are 100% adapted to kids, with special phones distributed so that you can enjoy a drink at the bad while checking from time to time if your sweety is sleeping well. Food is great, even though sauces and creams could be served in smaller portion (but then, this is Tirol). Personal is nice and friendly (and patient with kids). My wife said that she wanted to go back.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swissguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Serfaus
0.2 mi away
Hotel Baer
Hotel Baer
#4 of 21 in Serfaus
96 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wellness-Residenz Schalber
0.1 mi away
Hotel Maximilian
Hotel Maximilian
#12 of 21 in Serfaus
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Jenny's Schlossl
Jenny's Schlossl
#8 of 21 in Serfaus
64 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tirolerhof
Tirolerhof
#21 of 21 in Serfaus
38 reviews
1.2 mi away
St. Laurentius Family Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Loewe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Loewe

Property: Hotel Loewe
Address: Untere Dorfstrasse 5, Serfaus 6534, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Serfaus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Serfaus
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Serfaus
#4 Family Hotel in Serfaus
#5 Spa Hotel in Serfaus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Loewe 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with seekda GmbH so you can book your Hotel Loewe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotels Loewe & Baer Hotel Serfaus
Hotels Loewe And Baer
Hotel Loewe Baer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing