We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely brilliant!”
Review of Pension Hoffelner

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pension Hoffelner
Certificate of Excellence
Bovington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely brilliant!”
Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

We were very well looked after from start to finish by Rob & Joanna, the food was amazing and the accommodation was a nice as the the view. There was everything you need in a chalet, wifi, TV, pool table, ski room, relax room, the list goes on - not forgetting the bar!
The snow gods were on our side as we had a 2ft dump in the 1st 36hrs & the sun followed shortly after for the rest of the week. There was a massive range of skiing for all abilities giving us access to 4/5 inter joining mountains and all within a 15 minute drive (we had our own transport but I believe there is a good bus service available).

I would highly recommend it. We look forward to going back next year.

Thomo. CW.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    16
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
56
67
4
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Horsley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We booked a last minute holiday through Chalets Direct and thankfully choose Pension Hoffelner.
It was so different from any other Ski Resort we had been to and offers far more than just skiing. It is also the most beautiful area, we left feeling that we would return, summer or winter.
Janna and Rob were perfect hosts and couldn't have been more helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sue c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Having been told by relatives that the place we were staying was brilliant there was a lot of expectations to be lived up to. They were all met and more. We arrived before lunch and the rooms were already awaiting our arrival and were spotlessly clean. After being welcomed and shown around the family were never too far away and always seemed to be around if you needed something and not if you didn't. A perfect balance for people who have a life of their own to enjoy as well as looking after the needs of their guests. The only way the service could have been better is if Joanna herself was waiting at the end of your bed with a paper and a cup of tea and coffee just in case that was what you wanted upon first awaking. The food was excellent a wide selection of breakfast choices and the evening three course meals were cooked to perfection with a different three course meal every night, Duncan the chef is extremely talented. The portions were great and the food that went back to the kitchen were not through any issue with the food but just that we couldn't eat anymore.

Joanna and Rob will go out of their way to make you happy and the other staff will always help if there is any issues. They also have a great deal of knowledge about the local area and are happy to give advice on what else to do with your stay other than ski. The night tobogganing and restaurant tips were excellent. When we bumped into them on the slopes they were happy to show us around too and even collect skis and poles after one attempt of mine at front crawl in the air. All in all a great week passed too quickly but as much as the hosts can do many things for their guests sadly slowing down time isn't one of them.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesAAPickles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We've just returned from pension Hoffelner after a fantastic week skiing. We arrived at the chalet to a very warm welcome after a long drive from the UK, and as soon as we arrived we knew we had found somewhere special. The whole chalet is scrupulously clean with a lovely mix of modern and antique furniture, creating a stylish interior. The chalet is set above a large open valley, surrounded by mountains on all sides, the views are breathtaking. Our room was large, beautifully furnished with an antique bedstead and benefited from views across the valley. We stayed on a half board basis but self catering apartments are also available. The food was great, a simple breakfast buffet and in the evening a delicious three course dinner served with wine. The chalet has a heated ski room, complete with heated boot rack, so we enjoyed lovely warm ski boots in the mornings. The skiing was amazing, a large ski area with well groomed pistes and beautiful scenery.
Thank you for a great holiday.

Room Tip: All rooms have amazing views but we chose a superior room which we loved.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3-Butterflies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Cannot thank Rob and Joanna and Henry and Hugo (their very helpful and entertaining sons) for having us in what felt at times like their home. Our fussy eaters were accommodated. The bedrooms and apartments are all lovely - still Austrian but nice curtains and linens to bring it up to date and all the bathrooms very modern and well equipped. At times, I'm sure our large party took over but we hope that the New Year entertainment made up for it. The skiing area is great - all abilities catered for. We completely recommend a visit to Pension Hoffelner!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 0910Catherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Instantly you feel welcome, really a home away from home. Joanna, Rob and their two sons Henry and Hugo were very accommodating and helpful with any requests. We had three spacious bedrooms, each with their own ensuite, a kitchen/dining area between the three bedroom (5 adults). Fully stocked kitchen, but we went downstairs to enjoy a continental breakfast and absolutely wonderful dinner meals (big thanks to Duncan) with the other house guests. All the staff were very pleasant and helpful, we did not want for anything and if we did, it was there before we even asked for it. Rooms were tidied and cleaned daily, towels and sheets changed once a week. Take your slippers as your shoes will be parked on a shelf near the entrance. There is a separate room outside for ski boots, skis, snowboards, etc. with warming hooks that dry your ski boots over night. Pay washer & dryer are also available in this room, laundry soap is supplied. All the comforts of home. The common room downstairs has comfy sofa's and chairs, a table to play cards on, a small billiard table, a book library, movies to borrow and refreshments for purchase. There is also a bar area in the dining room for those who wish to indulge but I do caution that there is plenty of wine included with your dinner. Skiing was amazing. Ski ticket gives you access to a number of ski hills in the area which provide plenty of opportunity for the beginner up to expert. Definately require a car to get around. If you don't ski, you can hike, horse drawn sleigh rides, cross country ski, etc. We were very fortunate in that all the guests in the house that week were more than open to striking up a conversation and it became, very quickly, a family atmosphere. This accommodation was above our expectations, a real hidden gem. Would not hesitate to highly recommend this accommodation.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NormaMapleLeaf4Ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 5, 2014

It was the most spontaneously chosen vacation so far, but by far, the most sensational and we will surely come back to the Hoffelner pension in the summer too, if your schedules will allow us.
Right after we parked our car, we were welcomed by Joanna and Rob, the Hoffelner pension`s owners, who are so kind that we felt like we arrived to our family`s house.
The pension has an antique style decoration with very fine things and very thoroughly placed. The place was neaten, not even in a 5 star hotel from important cities I found such a clean and shiny shower cabin as the one in Hoffelner Pension.
The dinners were a real treat, exceptionally well chosen and cooked, with healthy ingredients, nicely seasoned and truly delicious, that made us feel like we were in a health resort. The whole staff of Hoffelner was very well trained and very polite.
The room overcame our expectations: neat, warm and with a dreamy window panorama towards the mountains. What can be more charming than seeint the peaks of the mountains through the clouds, directly from bed?
The activities to be done in the area in the period of the year are so diverse you could not get bored: you can start the morning with a healthy and tasty, the with very good advices from Joanna and Rob you can choose from the following: hiking up to 1500 m point, skiing from 3000 m or above (depending on the abilities), taking skiing lessons, which is very easy and accessible (what we did, as beginners), sleighing, taking the cable to 3000 m point where a great ice museum is, having traditional cakes and cheeses and the list can go on.
At the end of this dynamic activities, the best you can get is a warm welcoming an the Hoffelner Pension with a special dinner, you can choose a movie from their great movie collection and go back to the room or spend the night playing pool with your friends or other games the Chilling room offers you.
Back to your every day like, we stop and ask ourselves: was it real indeed? 

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liliana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ramsau am Dachstein
0.9 mi away
Hotel Annelies
Hotel Annelies
#2 of 17 in Ramsau am Dachstein
39 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ferienhotel Knollhof
Ferienhotel Knollhof
#10 of 17 in Ramsau am Dachstein
26 reviews
0.6 mi away
Almfrieden Wander- und Langlaufhotel
Almfrieden Wander- und Langlaufh...
#5 of 17 in Ramsau am Dachstein
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Matschner
Hotel Matschner
#1 of 17 in Ramsau am Dachstein
58 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Berghof
Hotel Berghof
#4 of 17 in Ramsau am Dachstein
39 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Schuetterhof
Hotel Schuetterhof
#1 of 34 in Schladming
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Hoffelner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Hoffelner

Property: Pension Hoffelner
Address: Hochfellnerweg 271 | Vordere Ramsau, Ramsau am Dachstein 8972, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Styria > Ramsau am Dachstein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in Ramsau am Dachstein
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pension Hoffelner 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You can be assured of a warm welcome at the Pension Hoffelner which is situated in a stunning location, featuring panoramic mountain views. Stylish, comfortable, recently renovated accommodation, extensive facilities, fantastic food, excellent service, a friendly atmosphere and hosts whose main concern is that you have the very best holiday experience, make this accommodation a great choice. The perfect base for a winter of summer holiday. Located Just 1 hour from Salzburg in the pretty alpine village of Ramsau am Dachstein, on a high and sunny plateau above the resort of Schladming & at the foot of the majestic Dachstein. Flexible accommodation - en-suite rooms & self catering Apartments available, offering breakfast during the summer season and half board in the winter season. The Schladming-Dachstein "Summer Card Partner Hotel" - is included in Summer Rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Pension Hoffelner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Hoffelner Hotel Ramsau Am Dachstein
Hoffelner Hotel Ramsau
Pension Hoffelner Austria/Ramsau Am Dachstein

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing