We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,929)
Filter reviews
4,929 results
Traveler rating
2,280
1,742
619
188
100
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
2,280
1,742
619
188
100
Show reviews that mention
All reviews animation team pool area shopping centre sea view lobby bar half board lovely hotel evening shows aqua gym plenty of sunbeds plenty of choice fidelity card reception staff main restaurant courtesy room small shopping games room
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
193 - 198 of 4,929 reviews
Reviewed December 2, 2018 via mobile

We are just back from a 4 day stay at the Elba Carlota Hotel and were very disappointed with a lot of aspects of this hotel. The hotel did upgrade our room to a top floor sea view room as I had notified them we were coming for my 60 birthday. However the hotel is very tired. Our sink had a massive big crack in it and the towels were very thin and threadbare. The bedding had holes in it and was badly marked. The pool area is spacious and lovely however as mentioned by another review on trip advisor the sun beds are very badly stained and you would struggle to find one that wasn’t. There was also hundreds of flies around the pool area which was very annoying but I understand there was an issue with flies across the island. However I also witnessed both at breakfast and dinner flies landing on the food which is not acceptable at all and very off putting. The standard of food was not as good as we have had either in other hotels in recent years. At breakfast Instead of fresh pineapple it was tinned and tinned pears. The staff were also very slow at cleaning the tables and on more than one occasion my husband or I moved dirty plates to an other empty table to get room. I also had to report an issue with the towels put in our room after it was cleaned. One hand towel was wet and there was no bath mat at all. We only stayed on half board as we do not really like all inclusive and found service at the bars terrible with queues and only 1 person serving most of the time. I did mention all of these issues to both Jet 2 reps and the reception staff and was advised by a jet 2 rep that he had been told about a lot of these issues by other guests. Overall this hotel is never a 4 star hotel and what should have been a nice break to celebrate my 60th birthday ended up being a total waste of money. I will also be contacting Jet 2 formally re all of these issues as they should be dealing with these direct with the hotel to try and remedy these points

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Yvonne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2018

We returned to the Carlota as we love the place and try to go twice a year usually we get an upgrade but they must gave been busy this time as we were eventually given room 453. The reason I said eventually was for the first time we had to wait to get into the room as it wasn't ready, and wait we did for over 3 hours which is not what you want after being up early and travelling. We did go for lunch and have a couple of drinks and it was nice for the staff to remember us and make us feel welcomed. The room was fine but overlooked the fans from the kitchen great if you wanted to smell what was cooking but not quiet if you sat on the balcony which we like to do, sitting inside with the door shut was fine. The room it's self was cleaned every day and more than suitable for the 2 of us. The weather wasn't it's usual blistering hot sunshine as we had a couple of cloudy days but still managed a tan so all good and it wasn't so hot when we went out and about. People ask us why we like coming back to the Carlota and the reason is simple it's because everyone makes you feel welcome nothing is too much trouble. Ask the cleaners for extra tea/coffee supply's no problem, ask a question or report a problem at reception some one will always have it sorted out. The entertainment crew work hard ( even harder when it's cloudy) but don't push you to get involved if you don't want to. I love PENA who works the bar he is an absolute showman he speaks lots of languages so interacts well with everyone and he never forgets what your order is, he is such an asset so look after him as he would be missed if he left. Moving on to the restaurant what do some people want I can't understand the moaning minis, there is a wide variety of food on offer including a large salad bar, everything is replenished quickly. the chefs cook most of the meat/fish in front of you so it's not left there for ages drying out, so if you want your steak well done or rare that's what you'll get. The wait staff are very friendly and professional and always good to have a laugh with, Mary is the greeter in the restaurant most evenings she loves to have a chat about your day and tells you what to look out for during your stay, and she is simple gorgeous. The Elba Carlota is right on the beach, the weather is usually fantastic all the staff work very hard to make you enjoy your stay so if they keep doing that we'll keep going back already looking for next year.

Date of stay: November 2018
Thank kathynchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ELBACARLOTA, Director General at Elba Carlota Beach and Convention Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2018

Dear kathynchris,


Thank you very much for all your comments and score.

It is a pleasure to know you have enjoyed our hotel facilities, the food and, above all, our staff.

We are always proud of reading opinions like yours which help us at the same time to carry on working with the same goal.


We are looking forward to seeing you again soon.

With my best greetings and regards,


Miguel Angel Sánchez
Director General

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2018

We landed home last night after a wonderful week at Elba Carlota, the staff are the first to be praised they are fantastic, thank you each and everyone..the food is very good
Deserts could have better choice more rice puddings or creme caramel,flans,but all very good. ,drinks are also good.hotel very clean, not sure how to say lady on pool bar Boala.animation team are very hard working, shows they put on very good, lion king was excellent. The room we had was good, 432. Thank you for obliging my request for room via my email.the walk outside back of hotel really nice, we are going back with family in may hopefully.. thank you Elba.

Room tip: The only rooms I would not like is ground floor.
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank val s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ELBACARLOTA, Director General at Elba Carlota Beach and Convention Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2018

Dear val s

Thank you very much for your comment and your score.

We like to know that you have felt safe and relaxed in Elba Carlota. Our mission is to make you feel at home as well as taking care of you.

It is a pleasure to read you are satisfied with the Animation team, the food and our location


We are more than happy with you next visit in May 2019.

Best regards,


Miguel Ángel Sánchez
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2018

The hotel was of an acceptable standard, but unfortunately there did not seem enough staff for the amount of guests. There were always long queues at the lobby bar. Having said that, the staff we did come into contact with always seemed cheerful and helpful.
The animation team were very good. Energetic and encouraging people to join in. The shows they put on were of good standard.

Room tip: Afternoon sun, then rooms on floors four/five on the left of the pool from the lobby.
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Ivan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ELBACARLOTA, Director General at Elba Carlota Beach and Convention Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2018

Dear Ivan B,

Thank you very much for your comments and score.

We are pleased to know you have enjoyed your stay among us, highligting the animation shows and the staff quality.

We take note about the issues mentioned, as one of our interests is receive the feedback from our guests in order to improve and get better day by day.

We really are looking forward to seeing you soon once again.


Receive our best regards,


Miguel Angel Sánchez
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2018

Stayed a few nights 3rd week Nov 2018, had top floor room facing sea, pool area/gardens, now the room was great, very clean and modern design, only little irk was that even with all the lights on on the room it felt a bit dark! The restaurant to us had a terrible atmosphere, kind of stark and industrial but dark walls and high ceilings with terrible lighting again. The food was ok, choice pretty good but generally only luke warm. We were half board, we saw both drinks bars were understaffed, and usually only had one person serving drinks so at times there was a queue of 6-12 people in the evenings, I guess this is to slow down/control the all-inclusive peoples drinking! We queued and then got to the bar and we saw a sign saying no cash payments for drinks. In the end we spent two nights next door in the Sheraton and had a thoroughly good time there while actually paying for drinks using old fashioned money. The pool area was ok but we saw flies everywhere, all over a lot of the sunloungers and on towels people had placed there, the loungers looked like they needed a good wash and de-grease and then maybe the flies would not be having such a party on them! Its a nice hotel that just needs a bit of attention in a few areas. The staff were friendly and helpful.

Date of stay: November 2018
1  Thank mparker1601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ELBACARLOTA, Director General at Elba Carlota Beach and Convention Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2018

Dear mparker1601,

Thank you very much for you comments and score.

On behalf of Elba Carlota team, we would like to thank you for taking some minutes of your time to share your comments on TripAdvisor after your recent experience with us.

It is a pleasure to know you have enjoyed the room given, the food and, especially, our staff.

We will also take note of all issues mentioned in order to improve our service, as the the care of the swimming pool area or the queues in the bar.

We are looking forward to seeing you soon once again.


With my best greetings and regards,


Miguel Ángel Sánchez
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews