We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic staff and hotel”
Review of Hotel Elba Carlota

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Elba Carlota
Ranked #5 of 27 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic staff and hotel”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

Great reception staff. Always available. Always helpful, and knowledgeable. Speak several langauges.
Rooms very clean. Air condioning excellent. TV stations in English only BBC 24 available in the main. Towels changed daily. Bedsheets twice per week. Tea making facilities in room.
Two main pools very safe, and cleaned daily. One kids pool. Huge Jacuzzi ! Unfortunately people put towels at 7.30am onwards to reserve sunbeds around the pool. This despite many warnings not to do so.
Animation/Entertainment team. Daytime fabulous/brilliant. Nighttime average shows.
Food: Pool bar: great staff from 10.30am. Hot and cold drinks until 5pm. Food snacks all day are ok. Hot dogs, pizza, chips and burgers at 3pm daily.
There is no beach bar belonging to the hotel.
Beach lovely and sandy and safe. Long promenade. Does not belong to the hotel. Therefore, sunbeds and parasols expensive on the beach.
Food in restuarant. Excellent variety breakfast, lunch and dinner. House wine with dinner - just about ok! Breakfast plenty choice. Dinner theme evenings. Great restaurant staff. Very clean.
Overall: Very clean hotel, great food and superb staff. Well done Elba Carlota. We would not hesitate to return.

Jas, Sandra and Danielle.

Room Tip: Sea view or Pool view are better - but cost more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank JAS B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ELBACARLOTA, Gerente at Hotel Elba Carlota, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Jas:
Thank you very much for taking the time to evaluate our hotel. We always ask our clients to give us their feedback,because we are constantly trying to improve, so your comments are also very much apreciated.
Myself and all the staff are looking forward seeing you again!
Jose Rodríguez Alcala
Director Elba Carlota
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,968 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,802
    1,452
    495
    142
    77
See reviews for
1,434
1,749
98
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (921)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 27, 2014

Over all not good food not good quality poor house keeping bedding only changed one in ten days frade towel holes in sheets not what you expect from a four star hotel the fight to get a unberella people having to get up at six so they can be out for seven fifteen not good hotel staff work very hard it would be nice for them to work when people are happy entertainment staff excellet it has put me off visiting Fuerteventura again

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorrainelomas808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ELBACARLOTA, Gerente at Hotel Elba Carlota, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
dear sir / madam,


Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel.
I am sorry to see that your stay did not turn out to be what you expected.
Unfortunatly you did not give us any notice during your stay, and I must say that also in your evaluation you do not really explain the reason why.
Bedlinnen is changed every 4 days, but if you want to have it changed more often, we are more than happy to.
Official opening times of the pool are from 10.00 - 18.00, sunbeds are not liberated untill 09.00/09.30 so no need to "reserve" them at 06.00am, something wich is not allowed.
I do not know what you mean with the food not good, and I must say that this is quite new to me, as there are many guests praising our food, as you can also see from many other reviews.

Jose Rodríguez.
Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2014

We stayed start July for 11 days. I would agree with other guest reviews responding positively about the following areas. However, don’t forget you are a paying guest at a 4 star hotel, so such things shouldn’t really be a surprise or optional extras:
- Lovely, clean, spacious rooms, good aircon
- Pleasant, hard working staff
- (Modern) decor throughout, well maintained, very clean common areas
- Nice exterior grounds/surroundings
- Good selection of well prepared food
- Great pool area, never felt overcrowded even when very busy
- Good location right on a lovely beach
- Retaining our AI band after checkout (noon) until we left (5pm)

Nice touches:
- We arrived late in the evening, after restaurant closing. At check in were advised to go to the dining room at 11pm to get a cold platter (ham/cheese/salad/bread)
- Bottled water is included in AI - superb!
- Waiter service for drinks in restaurant and served in glasses - no plastic cups, no DIY for all inclusive guests, liked this
- Games room - table football,tennis, air hockey, pool
- No nuisance noise whatsoever - the hotel seemed to fall silent around 11/ 1130 pm

Niggles affecting overall enjoyment:
- Flies in dining areas. Unless you don’t mind them around you & your food, there is a problem. Forget eating outside on the dining room terrace. Inside, away from the doors, was better, typically only needing one hand free to swat, rather than both!
- Restaurant seating availability poor during lunchtime when half the restaurant was closed off. This, along with slow clearing of tables, made seating our combined party of 7 difficult - the larger tables were in the closed off area, with only 3 in the open section, situated at the open terrace doors (and more exposed to flies!). Whilst the staff would open up the closed area, this was only after trying to convince you to take the fly seats and particularly, only if you could get hold of someone - there didn’t seem to be enough staff at lunchtime. A couple of evenings saw a shortage of dessert spoons, substituted by tiny, plastic spoons which could barely hold the ice cream sprinkles and simply useless for eating with. This was remedied but really?! Tables are set, so perhaps spoons could be added alongside the knives & forks?
- 2 drinks policy – we’d seen this in reviews and thought it surely couldn’t be such a big deal – wrong! Sometimes enforced, sometimes not, but in any case useless if you’re a party of 3 or 4, even just trying to get soft drinks. I personally don’t agree children accompanying you to the bar is the answer. Perhaps self serve and plastic cups have some place after all.
- Bathroom towels not provided on more than one occasion – yes we got them when we raised this, but should we really need to ask? And more than once?
- Reserving sunbeds/parasols – makes for some early morning entertainment if your room is poolside :-). We never saw the hotel policy of “don’t reserve” enforced. In fairness, I can’t imagine that would be easily done, but it’s no deterrent if not enforced. If you can’t beat them, join them, nothing else for it really!
- Lobby bar or Sports bar? – this is a lovely area to sit and relax with a drink, unless taken over by the World Cup. Unfortunate timing! For those that love their footie, it was nice the hotel accommodated this event, but it was to the detriment of other guests. Perhaps the hotel could consider using the “Sinatra Bar” downstairs next time, or a conference area? Downstairs the seats in that bar were largely laid out in rows already anyway.
- Courtesy Room – doesn't appear to be a dedicated room, just whatever is free. By the time you locate/reach it, mindful to exit your slot on time, you generally have about 20 mins use max. Maybe okay for a couple, not so great for a family. I have never experienced a set up where the previous ½ hr slot occupants had no option but to leave their used towels in the room, on the bathroom floor. Our friends were in before us, so not a big deal, but I could only offer embarrassed apologies to the family going straight in after us, who by now had 2 lots on the floor. The hotel must remedy this immediately e.g. alternating different rooms to use or at the very least provide a laundry box or give you a bag to deposit used towels back at reception. I think more could be done to accommodate later checkouts. We discovered our original room was still vacant at 5pm, so it’s a shame later checkout was still out of the question.
- Lost (?) property – We inadvertently left 3 cardigans (for homeward travel) hanging in the wardrobe when we left the room. We noticed this when getting ready for travelling home and reported to reception. They were very helpful, engaging housekeeping, with 2 of the 3 items returned almost immediately. But, the 3rd was nowhere to be seen, though it had been hanging underneath one of the others. Odd?!. I completed a complaint form before we left and have emailed since home, but no response. And no, it wasn’t in the suitcase after all! I’ve not read similar in other reviews, so maybe just bad luck for me; but still a disappointing end to our stay.
Did not use:
- hotel entertainment in evenings (although we did not use this, in passing you couldn’t help but observe the enthusiasm of the staff)
- casino
- El Arrecife Snack bar – was not open our entire stay (snacks and drinks available poolside yes, but this covered poolside restaurant dining area was not open)
- Fidelity card – we had one and a few days in received complimentary fruit and wine, but didn’t reap any of the primary benefits it claims. Maybe out of season you’ll have better luck with this, or perhaps if you book directly with hotel
- Wifi – not a big deal for us, but if you like your internet, brace yourselves, it’s not good
Location:
- Right on a lovely beach with sunbeds/parasols for hire

Away from the hotel:
- We took 2 trips organised through the Last Minute office in the shopping centre. 1) Visit to the Water Park at Corralejo, great day out. Don’t expect Florida style for size or variation, but kids and adults alike had a lot of fun 2) Jeep safari – great day out off the beaten track, seeing some lovely parts of the island we would have otherwise missed.
- Nice, small shopping centre next door
- Refreshing walk along into the resort, though I’d say a bit isolated for a dark evening. Didn’t find much there to be honest, few shops/bars/mini golf. Beautiful coastal scenery beyond the Barceló hotel though, worth a walk
- It feels like this resort has been somewhat a victim of the economic downturn. It is a shame to see buildings empty/started/unfinished. This maybe isn't so noticeable if not staying on the outskirts. We stayed at Corralejo previously so if you’re wondering whether to go back there or try here for a change, we’d say go back there.

In summary we had a nice stay, but not the perfect stay other reviews might suggest. Of course, each to their own. I wouldn’t choose this particular hotel/resort again, but wouldn’t rule out trying another Elba hotel in a different location and maybe outside of peak times to maximise opportunity to enjoy the full Elba Fidelity experience.

Room Tip: Poolside, higher floor, ask for room with glass fronted balcony - lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KKDMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ELBACARLOTA, Gerente at Hotel Elba Carlota, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
dear sir / madam,

Thank you very much for writig such a detailed review about your stay in hotel Elba Carlota.
Reading your comments, I can really tell that you have taken your time to write tem, and this is very much apreciated.
It is clear that you have read other reviews as well, so you know how important the feedback of our clients is to us.
With an average ocupancy of around 750 clients of different nationalities and age groups, it is not always easy to satisfy every single one of them, and to make every bodys holiday perfect, although this obviously is our goal.
Knowing where we should improve is important to us, especially from a clients point of view, and this is the reason why I am really pleased with you detailed evaluation.
I am aware of the problem you have had with the lost cardigan, and I can asure you that we will certainly not forget about you, we wil keep our eyes open, and having your contact details, if it turns up, we will be more than happy to send it to you.
With kind regards,

Jose Rodríguez.
Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2014

We might come back to this hotel, it was very good fun, very helpful staff on arriving time. Good hotel for family, every night animations for kids and disco, also good animations for adults. Restaurant - was also very good but sometimes cutlery and plates was just dirty, there was not many vegetables to choose but generally ok. Swimming pools- to get a chair with some shadow sometimes was difficult, there is four swimming pools for kids, heated water , cold and Jacuzzi the floor in Jacuzzi was little danger because some of tiles where broken and the little plastic things sticking just above the floor may cause skin abrasion. But there is a lot of fun for kids and adults all games indicated by staff. Very close to airport and city, cost of taxi is about 13E, or bus 2.40E/p to get in to hotel. We recommended this hotel for family for single person it could be boring.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Alpharooms

Helpful?
1 Thank Grzegorz D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ELBACARLOTA, Gerente at Hotel Elba Carlota, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
dear sir / madam,


I wwould like to thank yu for taking the time to write about your experiences in our hotel.
We always encourage our clients to give us their feedback about their stay, mainly because we want to keep up our service and especially to keep improving.
Also your comments help us to do that, so thank you very much!
Myslef and all the staff of hotel Elba Carlota are looking forward seeing you again!

Jose Rodríguez.
Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed July 24, 2014

We have just returned from a lovely week at the elba Carlotta hotel in fuertaventura. The hotel was very pleasant and the hotel staff were very professional and friendly. Everywhere was kept clean and the staff work hard to ensure that everything is done to accommodate their guests.
The pools can get busy especially in school holidays, if you want a sun bed you need to be out early, was not a problem for us as we enjoyed walking in the mornings and swimming in the afternoons. The all inclusive was new to us but it really does take all stress away!
Would go back to this hotel maybe when it is out of school holidays. If you have children then the entertainments team seem to be very good . Only other comment was the hotel is on the flight path but it didn't bother us.

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Maureen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ELBACARLOTA, Gerente at Hotel Elba Carlota, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
dear miss Maureen,


Thank you very much for taking the time to evaluate your stay in hotel Elba Carlota.
I am very happy to see that you have enjoyed your holiday here with us, and that you have apreciated our services and our staff.
I hope we may welcome you again very soon!

Jose Rodríguez.
Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2014

In a couple of weeks we will be returning to the Elba Carlota for the second time. We stayed here a few of years ago and had a fantastic time. The hotel was fantastic as was the food and our son, then aged 6, had a wonderful time. We are returning this year with our 3 year old daughter who we know will love the hotel as much as he did. We haven't returned to a hotel before but we loved this place so much we couldn't wait to return. Last year we stayed at the Elba Sara (the sister hotel) which was equally as good, but this was because we couldn't get into the Carlota. We are all looking forward to our stay which is only a few weeks away. We can't wait.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ELBACARLOTA, Gerente at Hotel Elba Carlota, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
dear miss Jane,

Thank you very much for your review about hotel Elba Carlota.
It is a great pleasure and very satisfying to see that you have enjoyed your last stay here with us, and I am very proud to see that you have decided to come back!
If there is anything we can do to make your stay even more nejoyable than last time please let us know!
We are all looking foward to see you soon!

Jose Rodríguez.
Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014

An amazing hotel. Food, room, staff pools, and gardens are second to none.clean towels and room every day every member of staff very cheerful making our holiday even more special. We like to go to different places for our main holiday but we feel we will always compare the Elba Carlota with others and we know it will take some beating. I am sure we will go back (which will be a first for us) 11 nights and we could have stayed a lot longer. Straight out of the complex on to the beach, fell in love with the place and found lots to do. The entertainment team are amazing and get all ages involved. My last praise has to be about th he food, i am the most funniest person when it comes to food but every single day i looked forward to it the choice and quality was excellent. Again i would not change a thing.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ELBACARLOTA, Gerente at Hotel Elba Carlota, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
dear miss Christine,

Thank you so much for your review about your holiday experience in hotel Elba Carlota.
I must admit that reading your comments makes me feel very proud, as it shows me we have achieved our two main goals, to satisfy our clients and to make them want to come back.
Obviously we are all looking forward seeing you again soon, if there is anything we can do for you to make your next stay even more enjoyable, please let us know!

Jose Rodríguez.
Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Antigua
0.3 mi away
Hotel Elba Sara
Hotel Elba Sara
#3 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
3,712 reviews
0.7 mi away
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa
0.4 mi away
Geranios Suites & Spa Hotel
Geranios Suites & Spa Hotel
#7 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
2,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.6 mi away
Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real
0.7 mi away
Barcelo Castillo Royal Level
Barcelo Castillo Royal Level
#2 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
670 reviews
36.3 mi away
Occidental Jandia Playa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elba Carlota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elba Carlota

Property: Hotel Elba Carlota
Address: Carretera Jandia Km. 11 | Fuerteventura Golf Resort, 35610, Antigua, Fuerteventura, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Antigua
#5 Luxury Hotel in Antigua
#6 Family Hotel in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Elba Carlota 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Elba Carlota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elba Carlota Hotel
Elba Carlota Antigua
Hotel Elba Carlota Fuerteventura/Antigua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing