We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great wk”
Review of Hotel Elba Carlota

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Elba Carlota
Ranked #5 of 27 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great wk”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We have just just returned from a fantastic wk with our 5yr old daughter,the hotel itself is excellent very clean and modern with a even mix of nationalities .the standard rooms are nice and spacious for a couple but become cramped when having to use a additional child's bed and very well look,ed after buy room service .Food was very well cooked but not the greatest of variety especially for youngsters that are not fans of chips,all restaurant staff were v friendly and helpful.the pools are fantastic especially the cuccuzzi and child's pool our daughter was never bored the daytime entertainment was superb and very jovial .unfortunately the evening entertainment didn't quite match this standard largely with the room layout to blame with a very formal seating arrangement.The holiday was fantastic and would highly recommend to others ,but would recommend upgrading room to get some additional privacy if travelling with children.The only real negative was the man in the hotel gift shop who was quite possibly the rudest person I've ever met whilst holidaying abroad ,very abrupt and miserable .
All in all had a great time made some great memories and met brilliant friends

Room Tip: Upgrade to junior Room if travelling with children
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ELBACARLOTA, Gerente at Hotel Elba Carlota, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
dear Mister Martin,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write about your experiences in our hotel.
I am very happy to see you write that you have enjoyed your holidays here with us, as this is what we try to achieve for all of our clients.
The reviews we get about our hotel are a great motivation for us, and also help us to impove, thank you very much for that and I hope to see you again very soon,

Jose Rodríguez.
Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,952 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,794
    1,448
    494
    139
    77
See reviews for
1,426
1,742
98
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (918)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bishop Auckland, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Just been here for a week returned on the 28th August was fab great location yes the airoplanes fly over but not a problem at all it's like a few seconds and they gone . Lovely and clean great staff brilliant animation team. Lovely bar upstairs if you did not like the entertainment . Don't read the picky bad reviews this is a lovely hotel and I would definitely return .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ELBACARLOTA, Gerente at Hotel Elba Carlota, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
dear miss Susan,

Thank you very much for the kind words yoou have spoken about our hotel.
It is a great pleasure and very satisfying to see you have enjoyed your time with us and have apreciated our hotel, our facilities and our staff, as that is our main goal for all of our guests.
I am looking forward to see you again, hopefully very soon!

Jose Rodríguez.
Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a 7 night holiday at this hotel with our 13 year old nephew. We had an ok stay but given the amount that we paid I do feel that the hotel provided only a mediocre place to stay. Our room was rather tired the bed hard and pillows somewhat lacking. The bed for our nephew was just a basic "put you" up despite having paid full price for him. The view from our balcony was the next door supermarket carpark and for much of the night we had a large neon sign blazing through our window. The air conditioning was not of a sufficient level to keep the room cool at night despite having it set to the maximum capacity. Beneath our room was also the drop off point for deliveries to the hotel so it was particularly noisy. Steer clear of room 279!
The cleaning of the rooms was of a good standard however, towel change was sporadic, sometimes with only 2 of the 6 towels being changed.
Meal times at the hotel were very busy, chaotic and noisy - avoid peak times! Flies in the restaurant area and on the food were rather off putting. There was not much variation between the lunch and dinner menus and after a couple of days it all became very much the same.
The pool area was nice however we were very disappointed to return to our sunbeds after going to collect a drink at the pool bar to find a sign on our sun beds telling us that we were not allowed to reserve sunbeds which we had watched the lifeguard place on the sunbed. Whilst we fully support the non reserving of sunbeds, surely guests are not expected to pack up all their belongings etc everytime they pop to the loo or go to get a drink. Also whilst the lifeguard was checking the sunbed situation he was not actually watching the pool area ensuring the safety of the adults and children in the pool.
The daytime activities were of the right level and were well run, however the nightime entertainment was very amatuer with poor scenery and not enough seats in the entertainment bar which was very basic.
Nearness to airport meant only a 15 minute taxi ride to hotel however you need to bear in mind airplane noise as the planes are on their final approach for landing which begins approx 7.30am.
Overall an enjoyable holiday but would only go to this hotel with children. The staff particularly Reception Staff and Restaurant Staff were helpful and efficient but we felt the hotel was more of a high 3 star than a 4 star hotel. Am doubful that we would return.

Room Tip: Avoid room 279
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ELBACARLOTA, Gerente at Hotel Elba Carlota, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
dear Miss Michele,

I would like to take the opetunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experiences in our hotel.
I am happy to see that overall you have enjoyed your stay with us.
I am sorry to see you have had some issues, and I am glad you mention them, as all comments, good and bad, help us to improve, so thank you for that.
I must say that reading your review I get the impression that many of your issues we could have prevented and fix if you would have informed us whilst here.
For example, we have ways to make the beds more soft and comfortable to your choice, and we could heve brought up more pillows.
I would also like to inform you that the price you pay does depend a lot on how you book, and with wich touroperator, and paying a suplement would have given you a seaview room if that is what you would have prefered.
Like I said before, I do thank you for you comments, as they help us to improve.
Thank you.

Jose Rodríguez.
Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

For the first tie, we went on a holiday with our 11 month old baby.
We have been to hotel Elba carlota before, so we knew it would be a good choice to go again.
I was happy to see that the hotel that was already good before had made some small changes to satisfy their customers even more.
The rooms have kettles now, so we could easily boil the water for our babys bottle in the room.
On arrival we were greeted with a glass of cava, which I think is a nice touch.
many of the lovely staff ws still working in the hotel, they have to put uo with a lot of different guests from different countries, bt they are all so professional, hardworking and polite.
Also the food seems to have changed, I especially loved the theme nights, and they wuld even prepare the food for our baby every day.
needless to say we will be returning, hopefuly very soon!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sanne d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ELBACARLOTA, Gerente at Hotel Elba Carlota, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
dear Miss Sanne,

I would like to thank you for the review you have written about hotel Elba carlota.
I am very happy to see you chose to come back to our hotel!
It makes me very proud to see you think we have improved, especially in little things, as we always try.
Please come back again for the third time, we are all looking forward to it!

Jose Rodríguez.
Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skelmersdale, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

What a fantastic holiday we had at this great hotel, we arrived very late and tired on the 5th June due to the french air traffic control strike, but the hotel had very kindly left the dining room open with a lovely selection of food and drinks for us..Thanks!
The room was lovely,very well equipped, spotlessly clean.with very tasteful decoration. the only downside to the room was the view, but we understand that not everyone can have a sea or pool view.
Food was bountiful (you'll never be hungry or thirsty at this hotel) with chef's themed nights. Fresh meat and fish cooked in front of you! vast amounts of fresh fruits,cheese,salads,breads and puddings galore! in fact every food you could think of and to suit everyone's taste.
Staff were so friendly and helpful and any problem was dealt with instantly( we had a little problem with key card not working, reported at reception,when we got back to the room maintenence was waiting and problem had been solved, so efficient! )
The pools are fantastic, with one being slighlty colder than the other, so safe and easy to enter and exit...and for me who can't swim no deep end. we especially loved the large jacuzzi pool! the hotel also offers a beach towel service, you can rent a beach towel for 10 euros( refundable at the end of your holiday) tokens are given and you change your towels for clean ones at the poolside.
The entertainment at the poolside with the aqua aerobics and dances, out of this world! the team are so friendly and enthuseastic you will have a smile on your face all day! Lot's and lot's of activities to join in, and if not lot's of fun and games to watch.
Entertainment every night in the Sinatra bar (bit tongue in cheek sometimes but still good fun)
and in our two week stay every night was different.
If you don't want to eat in the restaurant at lunchtime try the Cafe bar at the poolside with very friendly hardworking staff, Fresh food served daily,hamburgers, hotdogs, pizzas,chips, salads, sandwiches, fresh fruit,cakes etc teas and coffee, water, soft drinks and of course all the usual alcoholic drinks all served with a smile.
The hotel is set in beautiful well kept grounds ( very user friendly for any disabled travellers) with the gorgeous sandy beaches a very short walk through the gardens. Nearby is the local shopping centre with a large supermarket and shopping opportunities.
A short walk takes you to the town with restaurants, cafe bars and lots of night life if you fancy a change.
All in all a fantastic holiday whether your a couple or a family with small children, we enjoyed this holiday so much we have booked another for september, just writing this review has brought back so many happy memories, so only another 27 days to go and we'll be there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank carol m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ELBACARLOTA, Gerente at Hotel Elba Carlota, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
dear miss Carol,

Thank you very much for the kind words you have spoken about our hotel.
I must say your review is a real pleasure to read, and I think also a very good source of information for future guests.
I am really pleased to see that you are comming back again in septeber, a really good sign!
If there is anything we can do to make your next stay even more enjoyable, please let us know!
Looking forward seeing you in september!

Jose Rodríguez.
Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

After a 11 night stay In the Elba we were very happy customers !! All staff are polite, the cleaners do a very good job, bar men/ women are very fast and always up for a laugh and serving staff in the restaurant are attentive. The best part of the stay for us was the quality of the animation team who tried their hardest to get everybody having fun. They obviously loved kids and very all round happy people. The crazy aqua gym they put on was very entertaining !! Rooms were clean, spacious and all round good views either of the pool or sea. Only thing you could improve on is the heat of the food at breakfast but that's being slightly picky !! Thank you to all the staff for such a good holiday !!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AlixDav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ELBACARLOTA, Gerente at Hotel Elba Carlota, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
dear sir / madam,

I would like to take the opertunity to thank you for the comments you have written about our hotel.
I am vry happy to see you were satisfied during your holiday, as that is our main goal for all of our customers.
In your review you thank our staff for such a good holiday, but it is us who have to thank you!
I hope to see you back again very soon!

Jose Rodríguez.
Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Well just returned from what started a fantastic 10 day holiday, until the 5th night in my 7yr old daughter. got chased by crazed hotel guest with a studded belt in his hand! which the hotel did nothing and continued to let this person continue his holiday! which in turn everytime my daughter seen him she would hide! we ended up spending most days and nights after the event in our hotel room due to this! which ruined our family holiday ( Room 449 ) if a manager would like to contact me.

But, before the crazy drunk guest incident, i had nothing but great things to say about our holiday, Staff was great , pools was amazng, location and beaches was out of this world and rooms was fantastic.

we wont be returning to the Elba Carlota but we will to Fuerteventura next year!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ELBACARLOTA, Gerente at Hotel Elba Carlota, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
dear mister Lee,

I would like to thank you for writing a review about our hotel on this site.
I am happy to see that although the things that have happened you speak postive about the hotel.
I must say I am a little disapointed to read that you say the hotel did nothing about the issue.
The entertainment team intervered the same night,and our public relations lady, part of our management team, spoke with you personally the morning after, took the actions there needed to be taken, and informed you again, so I really don´t understand why you would write that.
It is a shame because like you write, you have nothing but great things to say about hotel Elba Carlota.

kind regards,

Jose Rodríguez.
Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Antigua
0.3 mi away
Hotel Elba Sara
Hotel Elba Sara
#3 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
3,692 reviews
0.7 mi away
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa
0.4 mi away
Geranios Suites & Spa Hotel
Geranios Suites & Spa Hotel
#7 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
2,447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.6 mi away
Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real
0.7 mi away
Barcelo Castillo Royal Level
Barcelo Castillo Royal Level
#2 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
670 reviews
36.3 mi away
Occidental Jandia Playa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elba Carlota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elba Carlota

Property: Hotel Elba Carlota
Address: Carretera Jandia Km. 11 | Fuerteventura Golf Resort, 35610, Antigua, Fuerteventura, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Antigua
#5 Romantic Hotel in Antigua
#6 Family Hotel in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Elba Carlota 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Elba Carlota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elba Carlota Hotel
Elba Carlota Antigua
Hotel Elba Carlota Fuerteventura/Antigua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing