We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyed the stay, would go back”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Elba Carlota

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Elba Carlota
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Kildare
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the stay, would go back”
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Stayed in this hotel for the first time in Late August 2011. We are fans of the all inclusive hotel regime. The service was good in the bars and restaurants. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. I had read reviews on this site that said that the bar service for the all inclusive was slow. I can say that I found the service to be more than adequate and there may have been an occasion that it may have been slow, but, that was due to the large numbers at the bar looking to be served. There are at least 4 persons working at the bar each night.

Food is excellent in the main restaurant. Plenty of dishes to pick from each evening and plenty of it to go around. A word of warning to anyone who would prefer their own home cuisine - this is not the place to go to. There are "no pie and chips" type meals here.

The accommodation is excellent and clean and the "maid" service was top class with the rooms being cleaned each day.
The pool area was clean and tidy and plenty of sun loungers to go around (Odd though the chained them up at night).

As far as I could see there was great entertainment for kids each day and night.

Drawbacks - The toilet in the pool area flooded in the evening as there are showers in the same room and the drainage system was not able to take the volume of water. The showers seemed to be used by people who were going home that day.

The all inclusive finishes at 12 mid day on the day you depart which I thought was poor as most of us Irish/English only flew home late in the evening.

Otherwise this was a good and relaxing holiday and I would return there again.

Room Tip: All rooms on the inside (pool area) have a good view of the pool and sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TinyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ELBACARLOTA, Gerente at Hotel Elba Carlota, responded to this review, September 20, 2011
dear sir/madam

Thank you for writing your comments about our hotel.
It is good to see you have had a nice relaxing holiday with us, and we will surely pass the good notice to all of our staff as they all work very hard to mae your holiday unforgettable.
We definatilly hope you will return soon.

Jose Rodríguez.
Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,762 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,700
    1,382
    473
    131
    76
See reviews for
1,362
1,647
93
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (873)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2011

Booked the Elba Carlota after being very encouraged by the good reviews. Having contacted the hotel by telephone to ask if our two rooms could be close together and told that this would be OK and that I didn't need to follow this up in writing, we got allocated two rooms on different floors. Told that they had no record of this request and that as the hotel was very full they couldn't do anything about it. Asked if both rooms were twins and told that they were, only to find that our kids' room was a double and ours was a twin, so having half-unpacked, we had to swap. The hotel itself is lovely. Rooms exceptionally clean and with excellent facilities. Lights in corridors don't come on until later at night which is a bit disconcerting. Pools and surrounding areas lovely, with plenty of sunbeds and shade. Animation team do not interact with guests as well as in other hotels we have stayed in and didn't always stick around after setting up sports activities. Evening entertainment very disappointing. Some acts were good, but everything had finished in 45 minutes. Food excellent, although they could do with more staff in the restaurant to clear tables and serve drinks (even saw one guy reaching behind the bar to serve himself!). Not possible to keep either room for late check out on last day, as hotel full. Did not even have a courtesy room to use, as over-booked and we were told that if we wanted a shower we would have to use the ones in the toilets by the pool - yes, the ones whose floor was flooded every time someone had a shower. Not good. The final straw was when they wanted to cut our AI bands off at 10.45 on the last day when we handed over our room cards. Pointed out that we didn't arrive until 19.00 on first day and weren't leaving until 17.00. Receptionist said AI finished at 12.00 on last day. As a concession we were allowed lunch in the restaurant, but no drinks in the afternoon. I think that is extremely petty considering how much we had paid for the holiday and certainly not the norm in any AI hotel we have ever stayed in. All in all, a really lovely hotel, but badly let down by the poor customer service.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank familyholidayfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ELBACARLOTA, Gerente at Hotel Elba Carlota, responded to this review, September 12, 2011
Thank you for the comments you wrote about our hotel.
It is a good thing for us that you write about your experiences, good or bad, because
it helpes us to get better day by day.
We are sorry Elba Carlota did not live up to all the expecations you might have had about our hotel, but we are happy you still had a nice holiday with us.

Jose Rodríguez.
Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaminster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 10, 2011

To begin, my family don't go abroad every year, so when we do we like to stay some where decent with quality facilities and surroundings. This hotel was super, very stylish and quite impressive, both outside and in. The rooms were spacious and had very up to date fittings and furnishings, not what you always get in some foreign hotels, unless you book something of quality. We had interconnecting rooms as our two children are teenagers. This was great as we had our privacy, lots of room, two bathrooms but could also keep an eye on the children! The only slight drawback with our rooms was that they were on the side of the hotel facing the shopping area, also where the hotel deliveries and rubbish collections took place, so a little noisy early in the morning! We simply closed the patio doors completely, as it was comfortable enough at night just using the fan facility in the room. The only hidden cost that I don't think was stated in the hotel details, was the 3 euros per day for the use of the room safe, and a charge for the fridge, which we used for our own goods but weren't charged for, just lucky perhaps? The restaurant, food, service and choice was wonderful. The menu, as such, did repeat over the holiday, but you just try different things on different nights, you couldn't possibly eat every option all on one night. All Inclusive was a good choice as the resort, Island in fact, is not cheap! The pools were very good and never seemed too busy, plenty of sun beds, but despite hotel warnings not to reserve beds, it did happen and sometimes, especially if you wanted an umbrella, you just have join the rest! At first the only thing around the pool that was irritating was the daily pool "fitness" workout to music. After a while though you just got used to it and it was quite good fun although a little loud at times. The free activities running during the day were good, darts, shooting/ rifles and pistols, water polo, volleyball,archery etc. lots to choose from! Sadly the indoor games room, though plenty to use, was expensive. The hotel is right on the beach front, through a private gate, good sand and due to breakwaters, calmer waters than around other parts of the Island, which is very geared to wind type sports. The climate on the Island is very comfortable with a constant and welcome breeze, it never felt too intense. A definite advantage of this resort, especially if you have children, is the very short, around 10 minutes, transfer from the airport, you just have to be prepared to put up with planes flying over the hotel from time to time, it didn't bother us.A suggestion should you decide to hire a car to see other parts of the Island as we did,( top to bottom in two days, good roads),is to look at the choice of rental outlets on the road at the back of the nearby shopping area/bars etc.(Ecocar) on the way around to the harbour, hotel was expensive and cover was no better. All-in-all I would recommend this hotel and resort, which has a little of everything without being in excess, and definitely return, we had a very pleasant stay! without problem. As they say...You get what you pay for!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ELBACARLOTA, Gerente at Hotel Elba Carlota, responded to this review, September 20, 2011
Thank you for the comments you wrote about our hotel.
We are happy to see you enjoyed your holidays with us.
And we are surely looking foreward to see you return!

Jose Rodríguez.
Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2011

We have just stayed here All Inc. and think it was quite a nice relaxing break for a 4* Hotel. The walks from the hotel are quite pleasant and the good thing is there are not too many brits. The Canarians are quite friendly and the campus is modern with good vantage terraces and large rooms. The only blemish was the power of the Air Con - nice to have a more powerful cooling effect whilst sleeping.
Local marina worth a visit and the Hotel is minutes away from a shopping centre which includes EuroSpar supermarket - which proved useful for a bottle of Champers on an evening on the Balcony before having an evening meal in the Restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yorks-LeedsTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ELBACARLOTA, Gerente at Hotel Elba Carlota, responded to this review, September 12, 2011
Thank you for writing about your experiences at Elba Carlota.
It is a pleasure for us to see that you enjoyed your holiday with us and you are left with a
satisfied memory of your stay.
For that we hope we may welcome you again one day.

Jose Rodríguez.
Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2011

This was our 2nd visit, our first was in June 2009 and we loved it so much we were determined to go back, and we did, and this time it was for our honeymoon.
We were only able to go for a week this time and that was our only disappointment really.
We booked a sea view this time, via Millhouses Travel in Sheffield who tailormade our holiday for us.
We had read before in a brochure that honeymoon couples are upgraded free to a Junior Suite. This was mentioned but we didn't get one as they were fully booked. But the room was lovely, fantastic view, 6 foot wide bed and complimentary fresh fruit and bubbly when we got there!
We love everything about it, the food, the hotel, the resort, the weather.
Costa Caleta has everything for everyone but one of the things we like about the location of Elba Carlota is that it is situated in the quieter end of the resort which suits us fine. The shopping centre and Eurospar is a couple of mins walk away and very handy!

Now onto a few minuses but they are very trivial and wouldn't stop us going back :-
Our return flight got us back at about 1.45 in the morning, we wouldn't want to do that again in a hurry!
The cooked food at breakfast could be warmer
The maid service wasn't as good this time - we had to ask reception for hand towels and loo rolls when there were none and the bath mat was taken away early on and not replaced til the last day despite our request. The balcony table wasn't cleaned, we had to do this ourselves rather than leave it sticky from drink/fruit.
Our one and only telephone call to reception left us frustrated - we had two calls on our room phone that we couldnt pick up so my husband rang reception to see if he could find out what was going on but the receptionist didn't understand what he was talking about! We never did find out!
Main disappointment was not being able to pay for a later checkout or have somewhere to get showered and changed. We weren't picked up til 530pm. That wasn't the hotel's fault tho as they were full.

We recommend the adult only trip on the catamaran, was fab!

Can't wait to go back but not sure we can afford it next year, .lots of expense this year, unless Elba want to give us a special discount? :o))))))

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Loris61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ELBACARLOTA, Gerente at Hotel Elba Carlota, responded to this review, September 5, 2011
First of all we would like to congratulate you once more on your recent wedding and we want to thank you for writing your comments about our hotel.
It is always nice to see our guests comming back, especially for a special ocasion like this(your honeymoon).
We willl surely take your comments in notice, as we work hard every day to improve and comments like yours help us achieving that.
We would like to see you back again, so please do not hessitate to contact our bookings departement for any special offers!

Jose Rodríguez.
Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2011

Stayed for 10 days only got back 03.09.11 but had a really great time. The food was very good for all inclusive hotel,loads of choice.Very clean hotel and rooms nice too.
The only two things to moan about is the air con was'nt very good and was turned off at midnight so very warm nights .The evening entertainment was bad,the animation team tried very hard and was o.k but some of the acts were terrible especially one that performed twice in our ten days called Illiosions (a couple mimeing very badly).
But in general a very nice hotel

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CornwallMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ELBACARLOTA, Gerente at Hotel Elba Carlota, responded to this review, September 5, 2011
Thank you for writing your comments about Elba Carlota.
It is a pleasure for us to see that our guests comment about our hotel as we can see a job welll done and/or can work on getting better every day.
We are glad you enjoyed your holiday with us and we would like to welcome you in our hotel again one day.

Jose Rodríguez.
Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2011

We stayed here for a week from 6-13 August. The complex is only 10 mins away from the airport, so save your money on transfers and get a taxi outside the airport. Although the taxi's only take 4 people (we were a party of 5) it took less than 10mins to get a small people carrier. Fare was 10ish euros. The reception was very professional looking and the staff quickly checked us in.

We were given 2 rooms (2 adults and 3 kids), the rooms were adjoiining, and the kids had 3 seperate beds. The 'childrens' room, was a regular room, and had en suite etc. The rooms were very clean, and quiet (We had 3rd floor rooms). The resort had 3 pools, adults, family (same size as adults) and a toddlers pool, the beach was a 2 min walk outside past the gardens, about 5 mins from the pools. The sand was clean and not at all dirty. There was a kids club, we paid it a visit for a couple of hours, the children very much enjoyed it (6,7,7 years old) and the animation team worked hard to make it all fun. Incidently the hotel provided beach towels so you dont need to use valuable luggage weight with towels, (10 euro deposit / towel), you are allowed 2 beach towel changes / week and you get the full 10 euros back when you leave.

We stayed all inclusive, and once the kids got into the swing of it, and we stopped worrying about not enough veg and too many chips (it was their holiday as well as ours !!) , they really enjoyed the food, and the desserts etc. They were quite happy to go to the buffet on their own and pick their own food. The quality was generally very good, with an excellent range of deserts.

Nearby there is a small shopping centre 5 mins walk away with a supermarket if you need any essentials, we picked up some buckets, spades and sun cream.

Apart from that not that much to do nearby, there is the town (small) of Caletta de Fuste (4 euros in taxi), for a bit of tourist shpping etc. We broke our trip up with 2 tours, Waterpark and Oasis both expensive, but the kids loved it.

Overall we thought the hotel did an excellent job, the children had a brilliant time, and were happy to play in the pools together all day long.

The best family holiday we have ever had.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jndavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ELBACARLOTA, Gerente at Hotel Elba Carlota, responded to this review, August 30, 2011
We want to thank you very much for the comments you wrote about our hotel.
We work hard every day to make sure our clients have an unforgettable stay with us.
And we are happy to see we succeed in that for all ages, families and children.
We will pass the good commemts you wrote to all our staff as also they will be happy
to see a job well done.
We hope we will see you again in the future.

Jose Rodríguez.
Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Antigua
0.3 mi away
Hotel Elba Sara
Hotel Elba Sara
#3 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
3,529 reviews
0.7 mi away
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa
0.4 mi away
Geranios Suites & Spa Hotel
Geranios Suites & Spa Hotel
#7 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
2,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Barcelo Castillo Royal Level
Barcelo Castillo Royal Level
#2 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
597 reviews
23.8 mi away
Barcelo Corralejo Bay
Barcelo Corralejo Bay
#6 of 46 in Corralejo
4,318 reviews
29.0 mi away
Melia Gorriones Fuerteventura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elba Carlota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elba Carlota

Property: Hotel Elba Carlota
Address: Carretera Jandia Km. 11 | Fuerteventura Golf Resort, 35610, Antigua, Fuerteventura, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Antigua
#5 Romantic Hotel in Antigua
#6 Family Hotel in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Elba Carlota 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Elba Carlota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elba Carlota Hotel
Elba Carlota Antigua
Hotel Elba Carlota Fuerteventura/Antigua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing