We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Vera Playa Club Hotel
Ranked #1 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Vera
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Another great holiday”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

I have just paid my 10th visit since 1992 - very little has changed. The pool is as good as ever, the facilities are very good and although very much weather dependent, my holiday went well. That said, as others have mentioned, the fabric could do with a bit of TLC here and there, and the jacuzzi needs attention.
The restaurant staff were attentive and helpful, and the variety of food never ceases to please.
However, one thing in the restaurant does irritate - when trolleys, particularly those laden with used crockery, are rolled from the outside part of the restaurant to the kitchen, the noise is horrendous. The trolleys have small wheels, made of hard material, and they hit every depression between the floor tiles. The noise stops conversation and totally dominates the atmosphere. It would not be difficult to fill in the depressions on the trolley route(s) and make the room quieter.
Would I go to Vera Play again? In a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the side next the car park - the view isn't up to much, but they are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank majadope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Vera Playa Club Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Guests,

I would like to thank you for your comments, as it is through them the best way we can improve the quality of our service, understanding the perception of our product and most important the quality and friendly service we provide.

We always like to know the opinions of guest like you, who are coming for more than ten years. It is a pleasure you reserve your time to spend with us.

Thank you for your kind comments of our facilities. And I have to tell you about the trolleys at the restaurant, I take note of that, and try to improve this point as soon as I can.

We stay in your entire disposal and hope that you return to visit us in other occasions, meanwhile we will continue working in achieving our goal that is that our guests enjoy their stay along their holiday in our establishment.

Diego Gonzalez
Gerente Vera Playa Club Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    262
    114
    35
    19
See reviews for
123
352
59
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Pleased to report an excellent 10 stay, half board. Lovely room (327 ) . Enjoyed the food provided without exception it was excellently cooked, Perhaps the number of choices was less than some hotels but very well presented. The pool is sublime and naturist pefection offering sun and shade as necessary; it is the main feature of the hotel. One step and you are on the naturist beach alongside for a morning stroll and swim. The prices for wine with your meal were very fair and the wine good quality. the happy hour also helped control holiday cost and is recommneded. We drink a lot of coffee and the taste of the coffee was good and a resonable pirce too. I also apprciated the free car parking. The entertainement at night was a bit tame and the animation team dont really speak english which makes particaption in the daytime event a bit challenging, but what the heck I should learn spanish, No hesitaiton in recommending this hotel and will return hopefully next year. Onl;y one request, it it possible to increase the englsih language channels on the tv? Sky news for 10 days made me long for something a bit more lighthearted lol
Suggest you also visit the local bars nearby, very friendly

Room Tip: we were on third floor facing pool , very good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karaoke594
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Vera Playa Club Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Guests,

First of all thank you for your comments, because it is the best way to learn about the experiences of our guests during your holiday.

I am so glad you enjoyed your staying with us as much as you comment. Thank you for your kind consideration about our buffet and cooking.

The only thing you seem not enjoyed is part of entertainment, and I take note of that in order to improve the points remarked.

We stay in your entire disposal and hope that you return to visit us in other occasions, meanwhile we will continue working in achieving our goal that is that our guests enjoy their stay along their holiday in our establishment.

Diego Gonzalez
Gerente Vera Playa Club Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ringwood hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Our visit this year to Hotel Vera Playa, Vera, near Almeria, was once again excellent. We
make an annual visit and this year we had excellent weather, good accommodation in one of
the apartments with a balcony looking across the beach and the sea.

Staff at Vera Playa Hotel are very good. They see to your every need, nothing is too much
trouble.

The reception area, which hasn't changed in years, still looks fresh and it has an air of
spaciousness, being light and airy.

Weather was excellent, pool warm and the hotel facilities excellent....A really restful place to
stay....

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the sea........ and on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank june j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Vera Playa Club Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking a time to provide your feedback of your staying at the hotel.
It is always nice to know our guests keep a trust in us for their holidays every year.

We stay in your entire disposal and hope that you return to visit us in other occasions, meanwhile we will continue working in achieving our goal that is that our guests enjoy their stay along their holiday in our establishment.

Diego Gonzalez
Gerente Vera Playa Club Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Just got back from what I must say was a very pleasant experience. I had no idea what to expect from a naturist holiday except for the fact that I will be naked. The hotel is not as bad as what some reviews said. Ok it can do with a bit of sprucing up but only very little. The rooms were immaculately clean and of a very good size and the bath/shower was big enough for three to four people to chill out in, magic. The whole of the hotel is very well maintained and superbly clean. The pool area was a real gem, lots of sun beds and a pool you just didn't want to get out of. The indoor pool was in my opinion even better, it was warm and very peaceful. The food in the hotel was ok and plenty to choose from. The beach is very nice too, although I spent most of my time sitting with friends in the pool area drinking and chatting. Made some great friends too, had a real lough. As for the naturist aspect it was truly fantastic. The only thing I thought was not so good was the fact that you had to be dresses after 8pm. Being a naturist means staying clothes free as long as one wants to, here we had no choice but to be dressed after 8pm. Also why are all the stuff dressed? They should employ stuff that are willing to work naked, cleaners, waiters , reception stuff they should all be naturist too. This is what all the other guest were also saying to me. if the stuff were naturist the guests would feel more relaxed. Please management sort this out, this is my only criticism. Overall this hotel is great, if it wasn't for the stuff being dressed I would have given 5 stars for sure. And oh yeah, if the management from the hotel is reading my review please give me a huge discount for next summer lol. Vera playa club I'm missing you big time already. PS remember I want a huge discount lol. PS i was the big guy at the hotel for any guest that is wondering who I am. The handsome bodybuilder from London lol.

Room Tip: Pool facing rooms are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mysonjosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Vera Playa Club Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind comment about almost everything in our complex. It is a pleasure for me to know in your first visit you were that satisfied.
It is good to know you enjoyed your holidays that much and your surely come back soon. The only criticism you say is about the not naturist staff. But, as you know, part of them, they work in a naturist form, the entertainers. The rest, we need to work dressed in order to identify ourselves to guests and guarantee the rules of security at work.

We once again thank you and are looking forward welcoming you to any of our establishments

Diego Gonzalez
Gerente Vera Playa Club Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

A truly naturist paradise. Why pay for expensive swim wear when you have your own free
birthday suit, hear you can wear it with like minded people and enjoy the freedom all day long both inside the Hotel and its huge pool complex.
Cloths are only required after 8pm and before 8am and in the restaurants for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
My wife and I found all the staff from the management to chambermaids all very cheerful and helpful. Everywhere be it our hotel room, communal foyer around the pool complex and restaurant it was all spotlessly clean.
We had half board and found there was plenty to choose from the buffet meals. As the hotel attracts many international customers so the choice of food reflects this.
I titled this review "Heavenly Bliss" and that is what it was to us. Where else can you wake up in the morning, done some light clothing to have breakfast, then shed it for the rest of the day. You can leave your cloths in your room, then walk nude through the hotel to the foyer and get a newspaper from the hotel shop if required or just bring your towel to use on the many sunbeds that surround the tropical effect pool area. This vast pool has a walk-in slope with hand rail or you can climb down one of the several sets of steps. Unique rock formations add to the attraction with water falls and water slides a huge hot-tub, all surrounded with palm trees to give shade if required.
If this is not enough it is only a level out of the hotel gate straight onto the huge Naturist beach. For a small charge the hotel hires out sunbeds on the beach if you do not want to lay on the sand. Like many others I enjoyed daily walks along the waters edge for the whole length of the naturist area and even further when there were few textiles about.
If any recommendations were required for this hotel you only have to ask the many, many repeat customers that have been coming back for many years, several even coming twice a year, that speaks volumes for this bit of naturist heaven on earth.

Room Tip: You can have a choice of either looking out into the pool complex or look out on to the next complex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rodney J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Vera Playa Club Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear guest,

It is a pleasure for us to know that your staying was as good as you comment. That make us proud of our work and keep your satisfaction as our final job.

Thank you very much for your kind appreciation of everything at cleaning, swimming pool area, cooking and staff. I will personally talk to them and explain all your impressions.

We once again thank you and are looking forward welcoming you to any of our establishments.

Diego Gonzalez
Gerente Vera Playa Club Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

My partner and myself stayed at the Club Vera Playa 3 years ago and found it a most enjoyable experience ranking it amongst some of the best hotels we have ever stayed in, we just couldn’t fault it. Unfortunately this latest visit 14 September 2013, we found it has lost much of it’s sparkle and though it’s possible to see some of the reasoning behind this it will mean a decline in visitor numbers until improvements are made.

While it’s only fair to say there is still some appeal to this hotel and one of which is that it is only one of two naturist hotels in Europe, here is an honest account of what we found.

The hotel in general is looking tired, badly patched up paintwork in some area’s, old lusterless décor, and bathrooms in need of a refit. Tired sagging sun beds, and common areas in the hotel is some need of repair of refurbishment.

The food started well at the beginning of our week but the choice on offer took a nosedive with a lot of pork suddenly on the menu midweek. One of the other guests proffered this was because the hotel had moved into a cheaper price band and therefore the food followed suite. On a more positive note the All-inclusive now seems to have become a little more inclusive and there are less traps to be caught out on with the drinks. Even the bottles of wine in the restaurant are now included with the exception of the special or reserve labels. The last time we stayed we had a 60-euro surprise on leaving but this time only ten euro for bottled water. On that note just beware the bottled water in the fridge behind reception is not included at a costs 2 euro a bottle.

The staff for the main part are still rather friendly but some are appearing to be as tired as the décor.
We asked for a room facing the sea and was given this choice however the bed was to say the least hard, and saying this I’m used to a firm mattress but it still took be three nights to get used to this one and can genuinely say it was bordering on uncomfortable. The other problem and again this may have been as a result of the sea view room which overlooked a few tress and shrubs but we were devoured by the local mosquito population and spent a lot of money on all sorts of products to repel the little blighters and treat our bites. This was not helped by the insistence of the maid in leaving the balcony door on tilt everyday.

Out and about the 4 euro a day sun beds on the beach are locked up at lunchtime so late arrivals have to walk a few hundred meters along the beach in front of the old Nat sun if they want a bed in the afternoon. We had a walk along the beach on evening to the beach bars but these were dead with only the barman to keep his self-company in one bar. It is fair to say the local economy is visually still on it’s knees and this does nothing to improve the ambiance of the place. On the subject of the atmosphere it is quite obvious there are a lot of guests have been returning here for a lot of years and although the numbers are declining. Quite a few of the old guard have formed little cliques and the newbie visitors can be excused for thinking they have suddenly grown three heads as they are often ignored by other guests, it’s often only when this is explained and pointed out that one understands why there being ignored by the fellow country men.

We were really looking forward to our visit here and really wanted to put out a good review, unfortunately being honest although the hotel has far from become one we would not recommend it has lost its je ne sais quoi and left us feeling a little bit flat. I truly hope Club Vera Playa can find its way back, it may unfortunately struggle for a while, as investment is not easy to come by from the Spanish banks at the moment. We would like to return to the hotel in the future and hopefully find it restored to its former glory in both

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Vera Playa Club Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Guests,

First of all thank you for your comments, because it is the best way to learn about the experiences of our guests during your holiday.

I am very sorry to read in your comments that your staying with us was not as good as the last time was. In reference of our cooking, just say our quality has not changed, but maybe you noticed a change because our cycle changed from summer to autumn. As you say, we have improved the quality of TI in order to satisfy the asks of our guests.

Also say our hotel is not one of our newest ones, but we make a big effort always to keep it in a perfect mode of cleaning an maintenance.

We stay in your entire disposal and hope that you return to visit us in other occasions, meanwhile we will continue working in achieving our goal that is that our guests enjoy their stay along their holiday in our establishment.

Diego Gonzalez
Gerente Vera Playa Club Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Arrived on 23sept a bit worried having read all the reports before leaving England, but was very pleasantly surprised, were on an all inclusive week and so far all seems excellent, the hotel is very good in all departments including food, presentation, room quality and friendliness of staff, fingers crossed the weather too! for us (a couple)everything seems clean , quiet and relaxing just the way we like it .
Speaking as a builder, and responding to previous comments the hotel is a bit shabby, I would disagree, in my view it down to the hotel having so many decrative wall and floor tiles with such a vast array of colours making it feel a little seventies,(but hey! nothing wrong with that!) and many walls throughout being filled with huge mirrors, but how boring hotels would feel if they were all painted and tiled the same!
The pool and spa area has got to be one of the best we've ever seen, with the palm trees, water slides and of course hot spa(even my partner will get in there! very hot!) and yessssssss some of the sun loungers do need replacing, but for us, not a problem as the hotel is obviously not full we are able to select the less saggy ones.
so far very impressed and love the fact this is a multi national hotel, where whatever country you live in, here, with or without clothes your all treated equal! We will definitely be back, maybe even with our young daughter, but for now gonna lie back and enjoy the rest of the week and start to plan the next visit!.
well done to the manager and staff, thanks

Room Tip: not really any better or worse, all seem to point at the pool area but all have palm trees obscuring...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mark b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Vera Playa Club Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your kind comment, is always a pleasure to know your impressions, and your experiences.

I am very pleased to know you enjoyed your staying, our cooking, pool area, cleaning and everything in our complex.

One of our interest it’s make your holidays the best days of the year.

I will be very pleased to greet you in your next visit.

Diego Gonzalez
Gerente Vera Playa Club Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vera
1.0 mi away
Zimbali Playa Spa Hotel
1.5 mi away
Parque Tropical
Parque Tropical
#5 of 7 in Vera
328 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Adaria Vera
Hotel Adaria Vera
#1 of 1 in Playas de Vera
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Advise Aparthotel Reina
5.1 mi away
Servigroup Marina Mar
Servigroup Marina Mar
#4 of 24 in Mojacar
754 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hotel Best Mojacar
Hotel Best Mojacar
#6 of 24 in Mojacar
1,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vera Playa Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vera Playa Club Hotel

Property: Vera Playa Club Hotel
Address: Av. Islas Canarias, 56, 04621 Vera, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Almeria > Vera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Vera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Vera Playa Club Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 281
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed as an oasis by the beach, 4* Hotel Vera Playa Club is the first naturist hotel in Spain. Located in Vera, at the seafront and in one of the best and most sought-after nudist beaches on the coast of Almeria, it is decorated with bright colours and includes different large and bright common areas with natural plants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Vera Playa Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vera Playa Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing