We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Please read this”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Vera Playa Club Hotel
Ranked #1 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Vera
Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

This has to be the worst hotel I have ever stayed in allied with a poor experience. I booked in advance to save money and arrived a day late, I had informed the HQ but this didn't seen to make any difference, pandemonium on arrival as the hotel decided to up the rate, never mind after a 40 minute check in I was given a room key. On entrance to the
room it had been recently cleaned the cleaner had left a bucket and rancid cloth by the side of the bed for me. The tired decor didn't bother me but the broken door lock, none functioning toilet and AC and missing light bulbs were pretty unacceptable! To be fair all got fixed promptly except the AC and I got on with my day. The pool area was absolutely packed the only free sun beds in the crowd were covered in bird crap, most if not all of the sun beds I tried were worn out and had given up any kind of support, excruciating on the back and generally poor. Breakfast was a hideous event with poor quality food and 10-15 minute queues for an omelette. The whole naturist thing is great and i love it and enjoy the remoteness of naturist beaches but the sight of octogenarians walking around all areas of the hotel the was slightly random, I won't dwell on this but will continue in the future to book into normal hotels and not the freakish vera playa club. After a day and a half i decided enough was enough, checked out bought some speedos and went in my car to Mojacar, it would be pointless to complain when the hotel was heaving and all seemed accepting of the conditions. As I sit tonight fully clothed drinking rose and eating grilled sole I can only think back on the experience with a smile. I should have checked the negative feedback most of which is up to date. Should you wish to let it all hang out get a nice hotel and commute, please do not stay at the vera play club hotel it's dreadful!
Toilet broken
Light broken
Door lock broken
Air con broken
Shabby everywhere
Old needs a refurb
Dreadful breakfast
Queues all of the time
Cramped to within a a foot of most of the naked guests at the pool: Awful.

I haven't been emotive with my feedback just honest. Be warned this
Place is awful. The only positive was the staff who were lovely, I speak great Spanish but I couldn't be bothered to complain, I happily accepted my part refund and made a hasty retreat, please don't make the same mistake as me!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank AdrianM853
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (640)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 640 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2013

Our holiday at the Vera Playa was fantastic. The hotel was clean and the facilities were great. Thanks to the friendliness and the staff we all had a wonderful time. Although all the staff were friendly and helpful we would like to especially say thank you to Miguel, Sarah and Ali in the restaurant as they made our son very welcome and feel special. The animation team of Lidia and Mary-Lu helped to make the days and evening a fun time for everyone.

Don't believe the wingers in other reviews who complain about the food. The menu is varied and delicious with lots of traditional Spanish dishes. Carmen cooks a perfect egg and bacon in the mornings.

Not even one mosquito bite between the three of us in two weeks. How good is that!

This was not our first time at this hotel and it definitely won't be our last.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gymnophiliac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Vera Playa Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Dear guests,

I appreciate your comments that proffers to our establishment, and to our staff and I will personally convey and send you this comment, because our interest is simply to make all our guests leaving the hotel with a wonderful souvenir of your vacation.

Our bufet, as you kindly say, is varied and delicious. We offer everyday the best dishes, showcooking and deserts in a good presentation.

We once again thank you and are looking forward welcoming you to any of our establishments.

Diego Gonzalez
Gerente Vera Playa Club Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Located at the northern end of Vera Playa, this specialist naturist hotel adjoins other naturist residential developments fronting the beach. So, the naturist theme is strong both in and around the hotel, to include the nearby bars on the beach.

The pool area is fantastic. The pool has differing depths, flumes, a central island and waterfalls. The surrounds are full of lovely palm trees offering full sun or shade to the area. Because of the shape of the building the pool area is protected from the coastal winds that whipped up each afternoon during the visit.

The restaurant area has an indoor seating area or an open terrace fronting the beach.

This is a great place to be in good weather. The whole experience of the stay was relaxing and enjoyable.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ian p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Vera Playa Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Dear Guests,

First of all thank you for your comments, because it is the best way to learn about the experiences of our guests during your holiday.

We are very proud of our complex, and we enjoy when our guests spend their holidays having a good time. Our poolarea and the palms are made to offer you the best experience whatever the weather is.

The restaurant situation offers you both possibilities, in or outside. It is always nice to have
lunch overlooking the sea.

We stay in your entire disposal and hope that you return to visit us in other occasions, meanwhile we will continue working in achieving our goal that is that our guests enjoy their stay along their holiday in our establishment.

Diego Gonzalez
Gerente Vera Playa Club Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We have just returned from a weeks holiday all inclusive. Before going we had read some negative reviews of this hotel so wasn't sure what to expect. Both my wife and I were pleasantly surprised. The hotel was kept spotless, the staff were excellent always attentive, serving you quickly and efficiently, nothing was too much trouble. The service was better than other 4 star hotels we have stayed in Spain. Many of the guests return year after year and I can understand why. Lots of different nationalities and no lager louts our idea of a great holiday. You can eat in the restaurant walk out of the door and be on the beach in less than a minute.
We had no complaints whatsoever and will be returning soon !

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank manfromkent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Vera Playa Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. Please Know that it is our aim that you spend the best days of your holidays with us and this is what we are working for and trying to improve every day.

We stay in your entire disposal and hope that you return to visit us in other occasions, meanwhile we will continue working in achieving our goal that is that our guests enjoy their stay along their holiday in our establishment.

Diego Gonzalez
Gerente Vera Playa Club Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This was our third visit to this hotel which is unique as far as i know in as much as its the only Naturist Hotel in Europe. First the pros 1 the frontage of the hotel is quite grand together with a family of caged parrots at the entrance. 2 The pool area is breathtakingly beautiful laced with palm trees which are lit up after dark.
Sadly there are many cons as shabbiness is beginning to set in including many loose tiles. Also we were unable to locate any safety instructions in the event of a fire.If you speak German you are ok here but only one or two of the staff have even a basic knowledge of English including only one of the reception staff (we encountered a language barrier with the other receptionist. We made the mistake of coming to the Hotel in late April only one day after it had opened for the season. Food choice was incredibly limited and invariably cold. It did improve however from about 1st may onwards, one of the problems for the opening period was the Chef who was never there to cook the eggs and bacon (served outside to order) and the waitresses couldn't seem to be bothered to go and fetch him (rather chat to the German guests!!!)
We were all inclusive except this proved to be semi all inclusive. For our 11 day stay we were charged 57 euros for the key to our room safe of which only 10 euros were reclaimable. Their excuse was that it included insurance theft cover (whether we wanted it or not)
The weather was terrible when we arrived for the first 4 or 5 days, but the air conditioning still appeared to be full on throughout most of the building. Consequently many were huddled in the Bar with their Winter coats on!!!
By the way do not come here if you want evening entertainment. Very little on offer and the TV in the room only offered one English speaking channel and that was CNN!!!! Plenty of German ones though.So bring your own entertainment.
after we arrived we vowed never to return because we were so miserable but the weather improved and the food improved slightly and we probably will return purely because of the freedom of restriction from clothes.

Room Tip: Top floor facing the sea. Therefore no high heels as no rooms room above!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ANTONY D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We went to VP in October 2012 (2nd time in a year), just after the flooding down the road had occurred. The hotel had some damage, but coped well. The beach was a bit of a mess, but considering it had been declared a disaster zone by the EU, our holiday was not too badly affected. Staff are always polite, helpful and the room was kept spotless during our stay. We like this hotel because its quiet and relaxing. The food is good, especially the breakfasts. We enjoyed the quiz evenings and strolling along the beach. I wouldn't recomend this place if your looking for a lot of nightlife and clubs etc.
I know we will be going back this year and are looking forward to it.

Room Tip: Try the allinclusive wine list.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Tracey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Having read so many of the previous reviews I finally felt compelled to submit our own subjective view on the resort. However, first of all, let me rectify the description relating to the events of September 28. Yes, we had a severe rain-storm on that day, and the hotel was leaking like a sieve, but the apocalyptic description by a previous reviewer was greatly exagerrated. At no time were our lives endangered, the hotel was definitely not about to be washed away, and the statement that “everything on the ground floor was destroyed” is absolutely ridiculous.

Having said that I would like to address the constant criticism of the food served at VP. We have now been to the resort twice, each time on a half-board meal plan. We think that breakfast contains everything you may possibly wish for, including all components of the full English breakfast. You can have eggs and bacon prepared before your very eyes to your personal liking, or you can have a freshly made omelette (a special credit to Carmen serving the morning grill!), different kinds of bread, bredrolls, cheese, delicate “jamon” (the Spanish air-dried ham), yoghurt, and well… almost anything. And as far as dinner is concerned, admittedly the fish or the meat from the grill is mostly nothing to write home about, but you always have a comprehensive selection of dishes available, salads, soups, three or four main dishes (except for the grill), prawns, “jamon”, pizza-slices, and a great variety of deserts, puddings, mousse, cakes, fresh fruit, and ice-cream. We agree that the VP restaurant probably does not qualify for a star in the Guide Michelin, but among the many dishes served you will always find something to your liking, and you will never have to leave your table hungry. The restaurant is clean, the tables have real table-cloth and napkins from fabric, the waiters are attentive and friendly.

Instead, our criticism is rather related to tobacco smoke. In our view smokers are generally a rude and disrespectful species, this is valid throughout the world, VP not being an exception, but as long as you are inside the hotel you will probably nowhere be bothered by smoke. However, since the evening temperatures in southern Spain are mild in late September you may occasionally wish to dine in the outdoor part of the restaurant, but then you will most likely find yourself wrapped in cigarette or cigar smoke. A similar situation arises at the outdoor part of the pool bar, should you wish to have a coffee or a drink you will soon realize that this part of VP is the daily meeting point of the Chain Smokers Association.

Even more annoying is the situation in the pool area. Although a couple of notices around the pool, by means of internationally recognized pictograms (red circle with a crossed-out cigarette), indicate that smoking is not permitted this is being totally ignored, you can see people everywhere smoking cigarettes, pipes and cigars. We think it is an outrage that VP management does not take appropriate action against this mischievousness.

The beach in front of VP is soiled by cigarette-butts sticking in the sand, this is probably the easiest way to extinguishing and getting rid of your cigarette, the closer you get to the beachside gate of VP the more cigarette-ends you will find in the sand, most of them can be found under the sunshades, the “palapas”, near the beach entrance, it is indeed quite disgusting.

We would also like to address another problem, which however is not directly attributed to VP. In the late afternoon you will see people walking their dogs along the beach, not difficult to imagine what the dogs leave behind here and there. If you are lucky the dog-owners leave these remnants just as is, “au naturel” so to speak, then you can at least see the misery and avoid it. The other more treacherous option is to sprinkle just a little sand over it, according to the motto “what is not seen is not there”, then it becomes a lot trickier to avoid, not very fun when you walk barefoot across the beach. In our view dogs should not be permitted at all on a public beach.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Sorba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vera
5.1 mi away
Hotel Best Oasis Tropical
1 mi away
Zimbali Playa Spa Hotel
1.4 mi away
Hotel Adaria Vera
Hotel Adaria Vera
#1 of 1 in Playas de Vera
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Servigroup Marina Playa
2.2 mi away
Apartamentos Torrelaguna
1.5 mi away
Parque Tropical
Parque Tropical
#5 of 7 in Vera
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vera Playa Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vera Playa Club Hotel

Address: Av. Islas Canarias, 56, 04621 Vera, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Almeria > Vera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Vera
Price Range: $60 - $329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vera Playa Club Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 281
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed as an oasis by the beach, 4* Hotel Vera Playa Club is the first naturist hotel in Spain. Located in Vera, at the seafront and in one of the best and most sought-after nudist beaches on the coast of Almeria, it is decorated with bright colours and includes different large and bright common areas with natural plants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Vera Playa Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vera Playa Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing