We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well we liked it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Vera Playa Club Hotel
Ranked #1 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Vera
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Well we liked it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We went to VP in October 2012 (2nd time in a year), just after the flooding down the road had occurred. The hotel had some damage, but coped well. The beach was a bit of a mess, but considering it had been declared a disaster zone by the EU, our holiday was not too badly affected. Staff are always polite, helpful and the room was kept spotless during our stay. We like this hotel because its quiet and relaxing. The food is good, especially the breakfasts. We enjoyed the quiz evenings and strolling along the beach. I wouldn't recomend this place if your looking for a lot of nightlife and clubs etc.
I know we will be going back this year and are looking forward to it.

Room Tip: Try the allinclusive wine list.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tracey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    251
    105
    35
    17
See reviews for
118
332
55
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
EU
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Having read so many of the previous reviews I finally felt compelled to submit our own subjective view on the resort. However, first of all, let me rectify the description relating to the events of September 28. Yes, we had a severe rain-storm on that day, and the hotel was leaking like a sieve, but the apocalyptic description by a previous reviewer was greatly exagerrated. At no time were our lives endangered, the hotel was definitely not about to be washed away, and the statement that “everything on the ground floor was destroyed” is absolutely ridiculous.

Having said that I would like to address the constant criticism of the food served at VP. We have now been to the resort twice, each time on a half-board meal plan. We think that breakfast contains everything you may possibly wish for, including all components of the full English breakfast. You can have eggs and bacon prepared before your very eyes to your personal liking, or you can have a freshly made omelette (a special credit to Carmen serving the morning grill!), different kinds of bread, bredrolls, cheese, delicate “jamon” (the Spanish air-dried ham), yoghurt, and well… almost anything. And as far as dinner is concerned, admittedly the fish or the meat from the grill is mostly nothing to write home about, but you always have a comprehensive selection of dishes available, salads, soups, three or four main dishes (except for the grill), prawns, “jamon”, pizza-slices, and a great variety of deserts, puddings, mousse, cakes, fresh fruit, and ice-cream. We agree that the VP restaurant probably does not qualify for a star in the Guide Michelin, but among the many dishes served you will always find something to your liking, and you will never have to leave your table hungry. The restaurant is clean, the tables have real table-cloth and napkins from fabric, the waiters are attentive and friendly.

Instead, our criticism is rather related to tobacco smoke. In our view smokers are generally a rude and disrespectful species, this is valid throughout the world, VP not being an exception, but as long as you are inside the hotel you will probably nowhere be bothered by smoke. However, since the evening temperatures in southern Spain are mild in late September you may occasionally wish to dine in the outdoor part of the restaurant, but then you will most likely find yourself wrapped in cigarette or cigar smoke. A similar situation arises at the outdoor part of the pool bar, should you wish to have a coffee or a drink you will soon realize that this part of VP is the daily meeting point of the Chain Smokers Association.

Even more annoying is the situation in the pool area. Although a couple of notices around the pool, by means of internationally recognized pictograms (red circle with a crossed-out cigarette), indicate that smoking is not permitted this is being totally ignored, you can see people everywhere smoking cigarettes, pipes and cigars. We think it is an outrage that VP management does not take appropriate action against this mischievousness.

The beach in front of VP is soiled by cigarette-butts sticking in the sand, this is probably the easiest way to extinguishing and getting rid of your cigarette, the closer you get to the beachside gate of VP the more cigarette-ends you will find in the sand, most of them can be found under the sunshades, the “palapas”, near the beach entrance, it is indeed quite disgusting.

We would also like to address another problem, which however is not directly attributed to VP. In the late afternoon you will see people walking their dogs along the beach, not difficult to imagine what the dogs leave behind here and there. If you are lucky the dog-owners leave these remnants just as is, “au naturel” so to speak, then you can at least see the misery and avoid it. The other more treacherous option is to sprinkle just a little sand over it, according to the motto “what is not seen is not there”, then it becomes a lot trickier to avoid, not very fun when you walk barefoot across the beach. In our view dogs should not be permitted at all on a public beach.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Sorba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leigh, lancs
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

unfortunately this resort as just been washed away with awful flooding that happened on 28th sep, 2012, we were there asn this terrible ordeal happened, would not advise to go to this part of almeria at the moment everything on ground floor level ruined and in awful mess,was so relieved to get back from this hol, as we feared form our lives, but a lovely quiet complex and area, need a car really and do fly to almeria aiport, malaga too too far to drive, 3 and half hours, alicante and murcia good distance too.,

Room Tip: NICE COMPLEX UPSTAIRS ONLY HAVE BALCONIES, but our balcony was in the bedroom, didnt likem that, no...
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank debra t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

We had a fabulious holiday here. Reception staff are very helpful. Cleaner kept our room spotless during our stay. Alinclusive bottled beer great. Food was very acceptable. a very relaxing time. Its very quiet her away form the madness, which is what we wanted. Ali is a real jewel inthe hotels crown.

Room Tip: It can be very quiet here, so don't expect much nightlife or shopping trips, but great if you wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Vera Playa Club Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2016
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your impressions with us and other readers. We are happy about your positive feedback.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and were satisfied with our service. Hope to welcome you back soon.

Regards,
Diego J. González
Vera Playa Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

I submitted quite a detailed review of this hotel in Spring 2010: very little has changed, and I had another excellent holiday. I am astonished by some reviewers’ criticisms of the food: the dishes vary in quality but there are some excellent Spanish specialities. I had some delicious anchovies, marinated tuna and smoked salmon, and some very good empanadas and albondigas. There were also some very good ‘postres’ such as tocino de cielo and various types of creme caramel. My only criticism of the restaurant does not relate to the food, but is that, in the heat of a Spanish summer, it seems unnecessary to insist on men wearing long trousers at dinner: I went back to my room after every meal to change back into shorts.
The entertainment team has increased in size: there were six ‘animadores’ this year whereas in 2009 there had only been three. I particularly enjoyed the gym and aerobics classes taken by Mari Lu who is the longest-serving member of the entertainment team and is particularly helpful and cheerful.
There seemed to be fewer ‘Brits’ at the hotel this year – possibly because Peng no longer have a rep?
One minor criticism is that the TV in my room did not have Sky News, which it has in previous years (I was at Vera Playa during last year’s London riots and remember watching some of the TV coverage).
For those who read Spanish, there was an interesting article about the hotel on http://verano.laverdad.es/reportajes/2589--vacaciones-en-pelotas

Room Tip: rooms at the front of the hotel are noisy in the late evening
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank alantherunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Vera Playa Club Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Guests,

It is a pleasure for us to know that your stay in our hotel as pleasant as you indicate. Your comment makes us feel proud of the work done on a daily basis, with the only aim of satisfying the needs of our guests.

We stay in your entire disposal and hope that you return to visit us in other occasions,

Diego Gonzalez
Gerente Vera Playa Club Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

Just returned from our 7th visit to the hotel. In our opinion very little has changed over recent years. On the plus side this year, the 'Animation team' is new and much better than in previous years and the hotel also now offers 'FoC' a snack lunch (not everyday though) which at about 1pm is served just outside the bar. On the minus side, we agree that a lot of the sunbeds require replacing either because they are broken or just sagging. The waiters/waitresses were more attentive this year, so no complaints on this front.
There has been a lot of moaning about the food, but we think that there is still a lot of choice (especially in the evening) and therefore we do not agree with this criticism.
We used the taxi company recommended in an earlier review and agree that this was both good value and prompt.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank foxy37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Vera Playa Club Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your comments given towards our staff, I will take this comment to them personally, because is in our interest, that all of our guests leave the hotel with a wonderful memory of their vacation.

We stay in your entire disposal and hope that you return to visit us in other occasions,

Diego Gonzalez
Gerente Vera Playa Club Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Calder
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

This was our third stay at the hotel and I can only say that the standard was appropriate to what we paid. Nothing seems to have changed from the previous year. The food as mentioned on previous reviews was nothing outstanding but of reasonable buffet quality and alway plenty. (Although their tomatos are far superior on anything ASDA has to offer). Although as with most buffets the food needs to be warmer. Fish and meat were available cooking 'La Plancha' style. No excuses for under cooked food but i'm sure the cooks would do what you want if you ask. This seems to be symptomatic of the buffet system as I have stayed in far more luxurious hotels and they were pretty much the same.The rooms were clean as was the rest of the hotel. The gardeners kept the place neat and tidy. It was highlighted in a previous review that the waterfalls were not working and weren't the ten days we were there. However a pump and motor appeared at the waterfall one day so i guess the problem was with that. We had no issues with the level of service but it would not take a great deal of investment to make this a great hotel. Prices on hotel street have risen. Ther Broadway Bar in particular from last year. Bacardi And Coke 2011 4.5euros now 6. Benitos just out side the hotel and to right was a good alternative for food a few nights. Basic but efficient. The consum supermarket nearby was also reasonably priced with some items cheaper than the UK. (yes we are getting ripped off for wine in the UK)

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view. It dosen't get battered by the sun in the afternoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CAPTAINSCOTT46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Vera Playa Club Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. Please Know that it is our aim that you spend the best days of your holidays with us and this is what we are working for and trying to improve every day.

We stay in your entire disposal and hope that you return to visit us in other occasions, meanwhile we will continue working in achieving our goal that is that our guests enjoy their stay along their holiday in our establishment.

Diego Gonzalez
Gerente Vera Playa Club Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vera
1.0 mi away
Zimbali Playa Spa Hotel
1.5 mi away
Parque Tropical
Parque Tropical
#4 of 7 in Vera
3.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
1.4 mi away
Adaria Vera Hotel
Adaria Vera Hotel
#5 of 34 in Almeria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Apartamentos Torrelaguna
1.4 mi away
Advise Aparthotel Reina
5.1 mi away
Hotel Best Oasis Tropical
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vera Playa Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vera Playa Club Hotel

Property: Vera Playa Club Hotel
Address: Av. Islas Canarias, 56, 04621 Vera, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Almeria > Vera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Vera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Vera Playa Club Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 281
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed as an oasis by the beach, 4* Hotel Vera Playa Club is the first naturist hotel in Spain. Located in Vera, at the seafront and in one of the best and most sought-after nudist beaches on the coast of Almeria, it is decorated with bright colours and includes different large and bright common areas with natural plants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vera Playa Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vera Playa Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing