We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently very good food and friendly and efficient service”

Los Angeles Bar and Restaurant
Ranked #23 of 80 Restaurants in Vera
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Spanish, International
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Consistently very good food and friendly and efficient service”
Reviewed May 5, 2014

We returned to eat at the LA restaurant during our recent 'Easter 2014' stay for the first time since the change of ownership and were not disappointed - we ended up eating there 4 times during our 2 week stay.

The food cooked by Maria, the owner and chef, was excellent and the desserts made by Ioanna (her daughter) and Raul (her son-in-law) were first class - the lemon cake was absolutely divine.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank caracoles_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    47
    14
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Meal”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Just had a meal to day Enjoy the Romanian tortilla also fish. Steak pie a home made desert .
Lovely friendly family resturanant thank you loanna Raul. Maria

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 777Elm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Return Visit to Los Angeles Bar since Chris and Lenka left”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Having returned to Palomares for the first time this year, we were sorry to hear that Chris and Lenka had left Los Angeles, however, we have always relied on Maria to prepare for us, I would say, the best Paella in Almeria. Having tried all the restaurants in the area, she has never failed us and it's such a pleasure to be able to visit somewhere that doesn't dish up the same old 'easy English dishes' that you easily prepare yourself back in the UK.... and all her deserts are homemade, making a change from 'Iceland frozen' rubbish. Having met Joanna, her daughter and son in law (when we had a platter of fish lunch time, which again was excellent), I am so pleased that they are still there, and hope they succeed. Such a lovely family and we cannot wait to return. It just needs a bit of 'solar lighting' outside, or candles on tables, to create a more atmospheric warm feeling, to attract more people there. Good luck

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice but not great”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Has to be said the venue its self is nothing special, the food portions are large enough but served on a cold plate pasta and vegetables go cold so quick, will Restaurants ever learn? Decent service and value for money but, roast potatoes covered in pepper and gravy tasting like tomato soup is not for us.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Following ownership change”
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Visited Los Angeles for the first time since the departure of Chris and Lenka. Still met with welcoming staff and an acceptable choice of food for the reasonably priced Menu del Dia.
For a Friday in February the restaurant was reasonably full, 2 tables of 6 and plenty of couples but the husband & wife who run front of house coped well. Nobody felt like there were any unnecessary delays or lack of attention.
Walking distance from Palomares so no worry about having a drink and then having to get a taxi.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JulieOD82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Los Angeles Bar and Restaurant also viewed

Vera, Province of Almeria
 
Vera, Province of Almeria
Vera, Province of Almeria
 

Been to Los Angeles Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing