We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“We loved it!”

Review of Hagg Hill Hall

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
174 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
8 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 22
New Tupton, Chesterfield, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 174 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
352hayley
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
“We loved it!”
Reviewed February 23, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We had a fantastic week at Hagg Hill Hall with family and friends to celebrate my husband's 40th Birthday.

It offered everything we'd hoped and more. So well equipped there was nothing we needed that wasn't available.

This offers something very different to the norm and has the 'wow' factor from the minute you enter with a grand tour from Mel the owner.

Everyone in our party would definitely recommend....fantastic.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kellyboot...
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Such a treat”
Reviewed January 31, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

We stayed as a group of 12 adults and our little Shih Tzu for my 40th birthday. The house is wonderful so much to look at and wander round. We stayed in the family room which is lush, the bathroom is great and so spacious! Eating our meal on the Friday night in the fabulous dining room was so memorable. The hot tubs....awesome, the pool brill! Kitchen and living rooms so cosy and we all spent a lot of hours in there! Lovely touches with the games, wood, wine and water provided. Everything you need you have. Mel is so friendly, we were glad he agreed to join us for a nice Merlot. Thank you so much for my flowers was so thoughtful of you. Until we meet again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freddie S
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Just wow ”
Reviewed January 23, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

From the very first second you enter the house you realise it is special, it feels like going back in time but with the modern comforts of pool and two hot tubs which were very much enjoyed.
The house was everything we hoped for and having big group dinners around the lavish dinner table was the highlight of the weekend.
We would like to thank the owner Mel for making it such a special weekend for us and would recommend this venue for anyone looking for a weekend escape from city life

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana494
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Probably the best birthday ever!”
Reviewed January 17, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

It is hard to over state how wonderful this house is! We had a family weekend to celebrate my birthday and we could not have done better. The house is spacious, warm and cosy with beautiful furniture and fabulous bedrooms with lovely bedding and linen. We were 8 adult couples with 3 children and 2 babies and it suited us all perfectly. The children just loved the pool and the boat, the adults loved the hot tubs (often with prosecco in the thoughtfully supplied non glass flutes) and the sofas that enveloped us. Mel was very helpful and had thought of everything needed for a great stay. We took it in turns to cook and we all loved the kitchen with its surprisingly sharp knives and plentiful tools, and then the piece de resistance - to sit around the stunning dining table, in comfort and in style enjoying our meals, all together. For me, the highlight was swimming in the lovely warm pool, on my own, listening to classic FM, sheer bliss. Thank you Mel, it was absolutely wonderful.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
200Joycey
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Xmas n new year”
Reviewed January 5, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Fabulous house and host. Beautifully in period, large open fires, to inball rooms (signals poor though), pool and hot tub at the warmest of temperatures. Middle of nowhere but within 1 minutes drive to amenities and 10 minutes to centre of chesterfield.
Can't wait to return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuJu37
England
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Big family Christmas.”
Reviewed January 5, 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This is a truly stunning house to spend Christmas in. From the moment our family group of 16 (along with 2 dogs) arrived we felt at home and very comfortable, which is thanks in part to owner Mel, who greeted us and welcomed us into his beautiful home with the open fire roaring and 3 Christmas trees all lit up. Every room is decorated with lovely comfortable furniture, all in keeping with the properties age but my favourite rooms were the kitchen, where me and my sisters cooked Christmas dinner in the aga.. an experience in itself, and the absolutely stunning dining room, which was laid out with all the best silver on the biggest table I've ever seen! The very well heated swimming pool was a definite hit with everyone but especially the children who would of happily spent all day everyday splashing around if they had the chance. The adults enjoyed relaxing in the hot tub and a couple of the most brave amongst us even used the outdoor one! On Christmas morning, Mel dressed up as Santa to surprise the children which was fantastic and added another little bit of magic to the day.. thanks Mel, you make a very believable Father Christmas. It's very obvious how proud Mel is of his house, and rightly so, it proved to be a very magical place to spend the festivities in and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this stunning house to everyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jodiejg
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“70th birthday weekend”
Reviewed December 30, 2016 for a stay in December 2016

What a lovely house! It has everything to suit everyone! Beautifully decorated for Christmas and Mel is a great host!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing