We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Probably the best birthday ever!”

Review of Hagg Hill Hall

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
156 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
8 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 22
New Tupton, Chesterfield, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 156 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Diana494
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Probably the best birthday ever!”
Reviewed January 17, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

It is hard to over state how wonderful this house is! We had a family weekend to celebrate my birthday and we could not have done better. The house is spacious, warm and cosy with beautiful furniture and fabulous bedrooms with lovely bedding and linen. We were 8 adult couples with 3 children and 2 babies and it suited us all perfectly. The children just loved the pool and the boat, the adults loved the hot tubs (often with prosecco in the thoughtfully supplied non glass flutes) and the sofas that enveloped us. Mel was very helpful and had thought of everything needed for a great stay. We took it in turns to cook and we all loved the kitchen with its surprisingly sharp knives and plentiful tools, and then the piece de resistance - to sit around the stunning dining table, in comfort and in style enjoying our meals, all together. For me, the highlight was swimming in the lovely warm pool, on my own, listening to classic FM, sheer bliss. Thank you Mel, it was absolutely wonderful.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
200Joycey
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Xmas n new year”
Reviewed January 5, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Fabulous house and host. Beautifully in period, large open fires, to inball rooms (signals poor though), pool and hot tub at the warmest of temperatures. Middle of nowhere but within 1 minutes drive to amenities and 10 minutes to centre of chesterfield.
Can't wait to return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuJu37
England
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Big family Christmas.”
Reviewed January 5, 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This is a truly stunning house to spend Christmas in. From the moment our family group of 16 (along with 2 dogs) arrived we felt at home and very comfortable, which is thanks in part to owner Mel, who greeted us and welcomed us into his beautiful home with the open fire roaring and 3 Christmas trees all lit up. Every room is decorated with lovely comfortable furniture, all in keeping with the properties age but my favourite rooms were the kitchen, where me and my sisters cooked Christmas dinner in the aga.. an experience in itself, and the absolutely stunning dining room, which was laid out with all the best silver on the biggest table I've ever seen! The very well heated swimming pool was a definite hit with everyone but especially the children who would of happily spent all day everyday splashing around if they had the chance. The adults enjoyed relaxing in the hot tub and a couple of the most brave amongst us even used the outdoor one! On Christmas morning, Mel dressed up as Santa to surprise the children which was fantastic and added another little bit of magic to the day.. thanks Mel, you make a very believable Father Christmas. It's very obvious how proud Mel is of his house, and rightly so, it proved to be a very magical place to spend the festivities in and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this stunning house to everyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jodiejg
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“70th birthday weekend”
Reviewed December 30, 2016 for a stay in December 2016

What a lovely house! It has everything to suit everyone! Beautifully decorated for Christmas and Mel is a great host!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew G
Hull, England
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Like staying in your own stately home.”
Reviewed December 30, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

What a superb place for 3 generations of my family and friends to stay for a weekend. It has everything to make everybodys stay comfortable. Fabulous pool complex, everything in the kitchen you could possibly need, wondrous dining room, cupboard full of toys for the kids, large and comfortable bedrooms for everyone, easy walks around the hall and village plus the superb Derbyshire touristy things on your doorstep. Don't delay or think about it.......... BOOK IT NOW.
Andrew Goff (Hannahs Dad)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jone5y85
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Another amazing time - booking again for next year!”
Reviewed December 21, 2016 for a stay in December 2016

This is the second time I have been to celebrate Christmas with all my family. The house and facilities are spot on. Christmas dinner at the grand table was such a lovely experience. No complaints what so ever! Mel is such a lovely guy and very welcoming. Can't wait for next year.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“surprise 70th birthday treat”
Reviewed December 7, 2016 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

What a lovely surprise! The family have just returned from a fantastic weekend at Hagg Hill Hall. in celebration of my 70th birthday. What a fabulous place. Very child friendly and while the children loved the swimming pool, the adults made the most of the indoor and outdoor hot tubs. The dining room was breathtaking. Yes, there were cobwebs hanging across some windows but it all seemed to add to the ambience of such an old building. Mel was very friendly and helpful, we even had a visit from Father Christmas. A really special treat, loved every minute, will return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing