We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“AMAZING!!!!!”

Review of Hagg Hill Hall

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
175 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
8 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 22
New Tupton, Chesterfield, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 175 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
FranFrien...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“AMAZING!!!!!”
Reviewed November 7, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We stayed at Hagg Hill for my husbands 30th Birthday. This house has amazing facilities for all ages. Hot tubs, pool, open fire, huge dining area!!! Superb.
Sorry for keeping you up Mel with our 'amazing' singing in the hot tub ha. We are already planning our next trip back :) thank you and see you again soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoveTrave...
1 review
“Amazing Time”
Reviewed November 3, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Rented property for long weekend for my Nieces Hen do. The property was awesome full of original antiques and character. Attention to detail was second to none. Swimming Pool was more than expected and if I had really understood the dinning room, its proportions and silver place settings than I would have certainly booked a caterer in to prepare a meal fit for it.

the owner Melv was brilliant, he added to the experience with his tales and stories, nothing was too much trouble for him. As you can imagine this was a Hen do with 14 girls, all wearing make up and self tan. Even when Melv had to sort out the hot tub due to the "product" we were all wearing he did it with a smile. One of the party has already booked for a return visit at Christmas - had to wait a couple of years as it was booked up. I certainly would recommend this to anyone wanting a large gathering with style.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The luxury of the place - great value for money
Liked least: Having to leave
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KateP1468
Lutterworth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing venue for a hen do!”
Reviewed November 2, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Great weekend, everything you could want from a stay in a Hall!

House nice and clean, complementary robes & slippers nice touch.
Dining room is something else, never seen so much silver ware.

Thanks to Mel for being a great host.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterPlum...
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Fascinatingly quaint five star accommodation.”
Reviewed October 30, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Absolutely unique, there's nothing quite like Hagg Hill Hall. Its owner - a perfect gentleman - lives nearby and is always available to deal with any problem that may crop up (but none did for us). The house is fascinatingly quaint and retains the best from its historic past combined with all modern conveniences and facilities. The heated indoor swimming pool is spectacular and there are two hot tubs, one indoors and one out. The outdoor hot tub, some cold beers and a chilly autumn evening are a memorable experience. The immense dining table laid with silver cutlery and candelabras would grace a major stately home: when the dozens of red candles are lit, the atmosphere is magical. The children in our party all enjoyed a couple of fun nights sleeping in the four berth cabin cruiser moored safely on dry land in the extensive grounds. All in all, a five star experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The indoor pool and the spectacular dining room.
Liked least: Some low beams.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saga-Jo
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“18 women, weekend for Traceys 50th birthday, fantastic house, brilliant memories.”
Reviewed September 27, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

18 women stayed for a 50th birthday weekend. The house is beautiful, although some minor repairs needed, it didn't spoil our stay. We were greeted by the owner who were lovely and we invited him to chat with us in the garden the next day. He is both interesting and funny. The swimming pool is a good size and temperature. The 2 hot tubs were amazeballs. The house had everything needed to just chill and have fun and spend time together. Clean fluffy bath towels, slippers and robes for all guests (nice touch). We are all hoping to go again next year. The location is quite close to Chesterfield to enjoy a night out or go to a restaurant if required, but local take-away's will also deliver.
What a fab find. I bet this is a lovely place to stay with the family at Christmas/New year, especially if it snows.
What a lovely touch to give the birthday girl a bunch of flowers for her birthday as we were leaving. Definitely worth a visit.

Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethrox
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best weekend ever!!”
Reviewed September 18, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

This is the second time me and my friends have stayed here and we hope to return next year. The place is absolutely perfect. So authentically old and creaky, with a beautiful, quirky layout and beautiful interior. The pool and hot tubs make an already amazing place even better. The attention to detail in the house is quite astounding, each bathroom has big ornate bottles of bubble bath, the towels and robes, we each got wine and water in every room, the real log fire in the lounge, the table lay out in the main dining room, the list goes on. Then there is of course the wonderful lord of the manor, who is a cheeky chap but really helpful, and actually most accommodating. (Also very tolerant. We were up singing and screeching until 3am the first night and he didn't bat an eyelid!)
I can't recommend this place enough. I walked from room to room in awe when I first saw it. Just stunning.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valerie J
1 review
“Fantastic holiday”
Reviewed September 3, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Party of eight adults and six children (aged eight to thirteen). Had a wonderful week. Amazing house, loved the quirkiness, plenty of room to spread. Favourite room was the garden room, ate all our meals out there, just admired the wonderful dining room as we walked through. Swimming pool and hot tubs were well used. Lots of extras were provided (wine and water, robes and slippers, in every bedroom. Really appreciated all the pool towels.) Mel was very charming and helpful,there to meet us on arrival, made a very good tour guide! He was always on hand to offer help and advice.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing