We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“What a fab place for a big gathering of family or...”

Review of Hagg Hill Hall

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
160 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
8 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 22
New Tupton, Chesterfield, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 160 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
myntea
manchester
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“What a fab place for a big gathering of family or friends!”
Reviewed September 19, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

This fabulous sprawling hall is a great venue for a gathering, loads of characterful bedrooms, great baths, a decent pool and hot tub too.
Open fires offer comfort and warmth.
Huge dining table is brilliant for a formal or fun dinner.
We had caterers who loved the Aga, and if there are a lot of you I'd go that route too.
Don't expect pristine, but just love it for the comfort.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Space for everyone to spread out, and big enough rooms to all be together.
Liked least: Arriving and seeing other places in front, but once you're in it doesn't matter.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chellenur...
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfect Hen Party Venue”
Reviewed September 10, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We stayed at Hagg Hill Hall for 3 nights for a Hen party and the venue could have not been more perfect! Plenty of space for all 13 of us. All the rooms have character and feel very homely. The hot tub and swimming pool are perfect for a pool party with a CD player in both areas and plenty of towels! The log fire in the living room is amazing for curling up in front of and watching films. There's plenty of cutlery etc. in the kitchen including plastics for the hot tub and swimming pool. All rooms have plenty of space and antiques to look at! Mel couldn't do enough for us even helping us find a Naked Butler at the last minute! The location is a 10 minute taxi ride into Chesterfield and there is a pub and shop in the next village. There is a local company which delivers Sunday lunches which we can recommend. The owner does have 3 friendly dogs which pop by to say hello if your in the garden or the kitchen which we loved! We will definitely be back again! Thank you for a fantastic weekend we will never forget! P.S The post code for the property does take you to a farm just before the Hall, ignore the Sat Nav and continue up the hill and take the next Left at the bottom.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The swimming pool and hottub
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roxynaylo...
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Amazing in every way”
Reviewed September 8, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

What a fantastic and special place.stayed here for a hen do this weekend and it was perfect.the pool and hot tub was the icing on the cake.it would be just as perfect for a family or short break with a group of friends.the owner is part of the package and pops round to make sure you have everything you need.hes such a character .id love to book again for Christmas it would be magical .cant rate this place enough

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathryn S
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous historic home - unbeatable for large gatherings”
Reviewed August 31, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We spent an unforgettable week here, celebrating my 60th birthday, with a party of 20 ranging from 67yrs to 3 mths. The facilities are not easily faulted - we
have never been in such a wonderful warm swimming pool and the fantastic jacuzzi was amazing. Our host, Lord Humphreys, was very welcoming
and he obviously makes it his prime concern to make his guests feel welcomed. He provides many little extras which just make you feel at home, wine in the rooms, plentiful supply of towels, candles etc. The house itself is full of character
with magnificent four poster beds and filled with paintings and interesting
antiques. It is a very well equipped house and the communal rooms are of a generous size which is ideal for large parties. The best recommendation is that we have all agreed that we would love to return here for the next celebration.
Thank you Mel, I have such wonderful memories of last week.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pool, Jacuzzi, Four Posters
Liked least: Lack of doors on two of the bedrooms
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madam249
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful Weekend at Hagg Hill Hall.”
Reviewed July 28, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Recently returned from a weekend at Hagg Hill Hall with my family of fifteen. Wonderful house, lovely garden, great outside play area and fantastic indoor pool also childrens pool, plus hot tub. Everything you need for a great weekend.Lots of little extras provided which were appreciated. Lord Humphries was very helpful and accommodating, even returning to us two pairs of slippers which we left. Thank you. Everyone had a lovely time
and I will certainly recommend Hagg Hill Hall.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The House. Pool. Ouside area.
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PETER D
MKT. HARBOROUGH
1 review
“HAGG HALL WAS ALL IT SAID IT WOULD BE AND 200% BETTER !!!”
Reviewed July 15, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Our large and varied party of 17 enjoyed all aspects of the property, especially the children and the warm pool. Adults could make up for this in the hot tub in the evening when tthe kids were in bed ! The quirky nature of the rooms with clutter of all types all added to the atmoshere and the imitation ''tinder boxes' were most surprising. By the Saturday evening we had decided to book the property for next year it really was that good. Please be aware there are friendly dogs on the site.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The clutter and personal details in each room.
Liked least: The number of toilets downstairs
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
otherbeck...
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A really special place to spend a weekend with friends”
Reviewed July 1, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We stayed here for my hen do. The house is amazing. The weather was beautiful so we spent a lot of time in the garden but it wouldn't have mattered if it had rained because the pool and hot tub would have kept us occupied! The facilities were great although we ran out of hot water at one point so a couple of us had cold showers. This was a minor issue though and not enough to mark the rating down. The owner was friendly and checked we had everything we needed. I can't recommend this place enough, I would definitely go again. Happy happy customer!!!

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing