We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very welcoming and friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chalet Hotel Gai Soleil
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We received a warm welcome and enjoyed our evening meal in the pleasant dining room. The choice may be limited but the food is tasty and good value, as is the wine. The lounge and gardens are excellent for relaxing after a day on the mountains. Nothing was too much trouble and we had our washing tumble dried, which was a real bonus.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sachertorte_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (117)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 117 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2013

I was here on my way around the Tour of Monte Blanc. I arrived soaked to the skin. The two little old ladies manning reception didn't bat an eyelid, but insisted I head upstairs, get changed and bring my wet clothes down so they could tumble dry them. What a joy!

Dinner was rather traditional, and with limited choice, but beautifully done. (pea and ham soup or smoked salmon, beef stew with prunes, apricot mousse or fromage frais).

My room wasn't huge, but the bed, if smaller than a double, was bigger than a single.

They have wifi.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thirkej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

I stayed here with my husband during our Tour du Mont Blanc hike. The hotel was a bit disorganized--it took us awhile to check in, our room did not have any bath towels at first, and we needed to go back to get the right internet password--all of which was a bit frustrating after a long day of hiking, made worse by a lack of English amongst the staff. Our room was a bit cramped, and the layout was odd, with the toilet in its own little room, and the sink and shower in a separate room across from it. Otherwise, the hotel was quite charming both inside and out, especially the garden area and the dining room. For dinner, we had a delightful mushroom soup, followed by a salad, followed by beef and potatoes served homestyle, then cheese, and finally tiramisu for dessert. Overall, was an enjoyable stay, and I would consider returning again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CourtneyMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Enjoyed two nights at the Hotel . Great find, Freindly welcome, clean rooms and public areas. Good food and would certainly return. Ideal for those walking the GR5 or Round Mont Blanc so probably bext to book ahead

Room Tip: Booking ahead recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aussiehiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Stayed here during an MTb tour of Mont Blanc, even faced with four filthy fellows, the owners/staff bent over backwards to accommodate. The evening meal was excellent in quality and value and the rooms were good. Nice lounge and public areas. Compared with all of the other places that we stayed, this was head and shoulders above the others for quality, service and value.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Rudy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

This is a small traditional hotel, with a nice warm atmosphere, but somewhat old. We stopped there for one night while walking the Tour of Mont-Blanc and felt ourselves very young comparing to other guests… (we are not young). Nevertheless, we were welcomed nicely, the rooms were nice, dinner was excellent - we are vegetarians and the cook overwhelmed us with so many vegetarian dishes we could not overcome all.
The Wi-Fi signal is somewhat weak; we had to stand in the corridor as it didn't reach the room.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sl0ew00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

I stayed here with three friends for a long weekend's skiing in Les Contamines. It was, great value and one of the friendliest places I have stayed in a long while. The interior is very cosy and pleasantly retro. You will need to like orange though. Copious quantities of food are served-up on the half-board package.

Would definitely go back if I were returning to Les Contamines.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CrouchEndDonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Les Contamines-Montjoie
0.7 mi away
La Chemenaz Hotel
La Chemenaz Hotel
#2 of 5 in Les Contamines-Montjoie
199 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Christiania
Le Christiania
#3 of 5 in Les Contamines-Montjoie
41 reviews
6.7 mi away
RockyPop Hotel
RockyPop Hotel
#1 of 14 in Les Houches
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Hotel Le Gai Soleil
Hotel Le Gai Soleil
#1 of 38 in Megeve
255 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hotel Les Campanules
Hotel Les Campanules
#2 of 14 in Les Houches
429 reviews
9.5 mi away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#5 of 73 in Chamonix
1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Hotel Gai Soleil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Hotel Gai Soleil

Address: 288 Chemin des Loyers, 74170 Les Contamines-Montjoie, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Les Contamines-Montjoie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Les Contamines-Montjoie
Price Range: $112 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charming Hotel Gai Soleil was once a farm in the mountains. Dating from 1829, this farm has been renoved with care and furnished with an aim to preserve all its rustic character and warmth. You can relax in among the various flowering trees and you can enjoy the spectacular view of the Montjoie Valley. The Gai Soleil is exceptionally located in the heart of the resort and five minutes from the ski lifts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Chalet Hotel Gai Soleil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing