We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great local food served in a traditional atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of L'Air du Temps

L'Air du Temps
Cuisines: Italian, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great local food served in a traditional atmosphere”
Reviewed February 10, 2012

Food was very good, we tried lots of the local dishes. It was a freezing night and the place was slightly on the cold side but that did not deter us from enjoyed an excellent night with great beer and wine. The owner offered us a homemade dessert FOC and digestifs FOC at the end of the evening. Nice end to a memorable evening.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank PheebEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    19
    4
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Could have nearly ruined our New Year's Eve.. :(”
Reviewed January 8, 2012

We booked in advance from England for New Year's Eve and at the time there was no mention of the menu being any different. We arrived for our booking with our two children and looked at the menu that was placed in front of us which made us absolutely panic as the set menu, even for children, was 75 euros per person! The waitress really apologised and told us that she had felt like calling us as the menu had only just been changed by the owner! However, she didn't and we've never done this before as it is so very embarrassing but we walked out...and then walked to every single restaurant in Les Contamines to try and find somewhere to have a meal....We were very lucky with Le Husky and were welcomed with open arms..!!!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Pinkwindsor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Fantastic atmosphere - a great host!”
Reviewed March 29, 2011

We have been coming to L'Air du Temps for several years now. We have had 3 of the last 6 New Year's Eve parties here and the atmosphere is truly excellent on those occasions (music, party streamers, pea shooters which turn into warfare by the end, all in a good way). The food is very good - excellent meat dishes, great pizzas all cooked by Jan in the wood oven. Ask for the calvados apple pie and home-made chocolate mouse for desert - you won't be disappointed! On busy occasions, the service can be slow - be prepared and soak in the atmosphere and complimentary spirits!

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexLamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ealing
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Delicious but slow”
Reviewed March 5, 2011

In February 2011 we came to L'Air du Temps for our fourth annual visit. The food consists of local dishes such as Pierrade and Raclette or Italian such as Pizzas or Pasta and was as delicious as ever, but it took two hours for it to arrive. It was a Friday evening admittedly and we were a group of 13, but we couldn't help feeling that the proprietor (who also hand cooks every pizza in the stone oven) is packing the punters in too tight for his own good. The waitress was unflappable and very kind, and glasses of Juniper liquer were provided on the house to make up for our long wait. We will come back next year in the hope that not so many people choose pizza all at the same time!

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ealingglobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Air du Temps also viewed

Les Contamines-Montjoie, Haute-Savoie
Les Contamines-Montjoie, Haute-Savoie
 
Les Contamines-Montjoie, Haute-Savoie
Les Contamines-Montjoie, Haute-Savoie
 

Been to L'Air du Temps? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing