We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here!”
Review of OceanoMar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
OceanoMar
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Mazunte
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stay here!”
Reviewed May 3, 2014

Oh, paradise on the Pacific coast of Mexico, how well you treated us during our three-day stay! Oceanomar is situated on a hilltop with a view onto the ocean, looking out over an evergreen forest. Once you arrive, you will not want to leave.

First thing in the morning, you will be eased out of bed by the subtle chirping of tropical birds and the faraway sounds of crashing waves. How do you wake up best? With a dip in the pool, the scent of an excellent espresso, or perhaps a breakfast of your choosing on the terrace? Oceanomar gives you options as simple or elaborate as you'd like them to be, and appeals to all your senses.

Once you're up, before the sun gets too hot, take a few hours to walk down to Mazunte or San Augustinillo, explore the beaches and the local food, and perhaps experience sunset at Punta Cometa. Otherwise, spend your day lounging poolside, and get to know the friendly and knowledgeable staff, who can chat with you in English, Italian, Spanish or French.

In the evening, enjoy a drink at the hotel bar and move onto the trattoria, which serves authentic pizza, tiramisù and other delicious fares. You'd think you were in an Apuglian beachtown were it not for the palm trees you see, the discreet Spanish you hear mingling with Italian, and the superb piña colada you're sipping on.

When you're comfortably stretched out in the hammock, under the thatched roof of your balcony, you might find yourself reflecting upon your day. If you don't feel like going out, you retreat to your room, which feels luxurious and is complete with a delightful shower, and you fall asleep instantly in complete peace and darkness.

In the morning, you do it all again -- and remember you can stay for five more weeks if you want to, or until your cash runs out. Because they don't take credit cards. It's that wonderful.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nathalieserpagulli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
69
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Without doubt the best place to stay in Mazunte. Everything about OceanoMar has been thought out so well - the rooms are lovely, the food is superb (best pizza on the pacific coast), the setting is gorgeous and the staff couldn't be nicer. It was starting to get pretty hot when we were there, so it was great to have the pool, you could sit in there all day watching the sea. Thank you so much, we had a lovely stay and I'm sure we'll be back!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014

NOthing but the sound of the waves.
This place was the only place that we found available. We were lucky.
The place is fantastic, and the owners so friendly.
It is not an excellent just because they would not accept credit or debit cards.
If this is not an issue, for you, don´t hesitate to come.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed April 12, 2014

My partner and I stayed in Mazunte/San augustinillo for about 6 weeks and stayed in several hotels... Some on the beach some off the beach... The oceanomar is the nicest place in the whole area in our opinion. The staff are wonderful the architecture and finishes are just perfect and the Italian food is delicious.. There is a gorgeous pool with a panoramic view of the ocean. If you are lucky you can see whales swim past in the ocean below. The only reason we left is because they were prebooked and they still let us come and use their pool for free because we liked it so much... Don't bother staying anywhere else in Mazunte! We loved it!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HannahJoP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 31, 2014

If you're looking for paradise, look nu further. Beautiful place, super friendly staff, great views. Rooms are huge. Italian cook makes the best pizzas on the coast. Tip: choose one of the upper level rooms.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnetteAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carbondale, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 21, 2014

The pool is defintiely the highlight, and the location sells itself. The architecture is unsurpassed, with mosaics and flowers everwhere, the vibe tranquil and positive. Staff is outstanding and super kind. Thanks for a great stay! Worth every peso!

Room Tip: Any room is perfect. Aesthetics, comfort, cleanliness, peacefulness....beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colleens521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

I have stayed at several different places in San Agustinillo and Zipolite and love the chill rustic atmosphere of the Oaxacan Coast. This was my first stay in Mazunte at OceanoMar and was impressed with the location and proximity to Playa Mermejita. There is plenty of chilling to be had at OceanoMar. The room was very clean, beautifully designed and very comfortable. The terrace had a nice hammock with a decent view of the ocean in the distance. The Italian restaurant was excellent and delicious. The staff were very nice and helpful especially Carlos who was very responsive on email we were trying to decide where to stay. I got to enjoy the pool at night which was just magical to look up and see all of the stars. Playa Mermejita is a beautiful, wild, undeveloped playa just a few minutes walk from the hotel. I would not recommend trying to swim there though. I was very pleased with OceanoMar and will certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Second level has a better view while the first level has a larger terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mayaluna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mazunte
0.7 mi away
ZOA Hotel
ZOA Hotel
#3 of 6 in Mazunte
115 reviews
0.1 mi away
El copal
El copal
#4 of 6 in Mazunte
110 reviews
2.4 mi away
El Alquimista Yoga & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Casa Aamori Hotel
Casa Aamori Hotel
#1 of 4 in San Agustinillo
211 reviews
6.5 mi away
Bahia de la Luna
Bahia de la Luna
#1 of 7 in Puerto Angel
309 reviews
2.7 mi away
Posada Buena Vida
Posada Buena Vida
#3 of 5 in Zipolite
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to OceanoMar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about OceanoMar

Property: OceanoMar
Address: Camino a Playa Mermejita, Mazunte 70946, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Mazunte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Mazunte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — OceanoMar 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
OceanoMar is a little resort located very close to playa Mermejita beach, it has a welcoming round pool with a children's area. This forms a true oasis of peace surrounded by lush vegetation where you can enjoy the scents of nature, sea breezes and an exceptional view of the ocean. Sun beds are available for your comfort, where you can lay and enjoy your favorite drinks by the pool, freshening up from the tropical sun. Our Typical Mexican Bar, with a lovely view of the open Mermejita beach, offers moments of relaxation and peace through an area with free Wi-Fi and Internet access. The bar service provides a wide selection of aperitifs, cocktails and modern classics, prepared with passion and imagination, served until late at night, as well as coffee products of traditional Italian tastes and flavors, and various snacks. Here you can also have a tasty Italian pizza, cooked in a wood-burning oven. Feel totally relaxed: surrounded by nature, enchanted by the beauty of the scenery... Feel the power and the soothing rhythm of the ocean's waves and enjoy our beautiful beaches... Fall asleep under the quiet charm of starry nights and wake up to the music of birdsong... Get captured by the magnetism of this area, sacred since ancient times... You will experience the delight of an unforgettable vacation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your OceanoMar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing