We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relaxing environment and good massage”
Review of Cabanas Balamjuyuc

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cabanas Balamjuyuc
Reviewed February 2, 2011

I had a massage by the female owner which was very good and relaxing with the sound of the ocean. Only thing was she told me to come at 3pm and then seemed surprised that I was there and didn't get my massage until 4pm - but it was a good massage and a highlight of my trip.

Thank lslToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (91)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 91 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2011

Everything in balamjuyuc is very good. The massages from emilliano are very relaxing, the food is great and the rooms are beautifull and clean. The view is amazing.
U feel like famili there, is a beautifull place to stay. And if u have any problem u ged help and suport

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aivilo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2011

This place is the perfect escape from the world, situated on top of the cliff over looking a pristine beach with a view out over the clear blue ocean. Built within the trees the basic cabanas give you the feeling of living in tree houses tucked in to the hill side. Sleeping in the jungle but with the luxury of soft mattress and a mosquito net in place, i had a good night sleep with the sound of crickets and birds to entice me into my dreams.
This is a place you will meet friends or can relax on your own with out any opinion. The short walk down the steps to the beach below give easy access to local beach cafes.
My stay was too short and I plan to go back as soon as life will allow. I would recommend this tranquil piece of paradise to any traveler heading that way.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoannaBeavan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2010

The cabanas lay on a nice hill with a beautiful view (see pictures). Its possible to make a lot of daytrips (turtles, magroves, crocodiles, dolphins, snorkeling, hinking in a great landsscape). The beach is about 1 or 2 minutes from the cabanas and ist very wide and you can chill out there without any stress. The owner Emiliano is very nice and helpful like the most other people in this small village. Its very clean and the atmospere is just great.
We absolutly recommend this 'Hostel' and would go the a second tome, if the world wouldnt had so much other countries to visit.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stellan1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2010

We had an amazing time at the Balamjuyuc last September. Our stay was enhanced my the presence of the owner, Emiliano and his family. Definitively a great place to stay to relax and enjoy your stay in Mazunte.
Bernard and Jacinthe from Quebec

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jasroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2010

we have stayed in the balamyujuc cabanas for one week and have enjoyed our stay a lot.
the view is stunning, the owner a lovely person who takes good care of his guests (even if you get sunburned you can hope for a special aloe vera treetment).
our cabana paulina was nice and equipped with a good bed, a hammock and more to hang out and spend nice evenings up on the hill. the food is delicious and theres even free wlan available for those who cant live without.. the owner did also arrange a pick-up for a dive trip with a local diver operator as well as dolphin watching tours etc.
the walk up on the hill is a bit of an effort, but totally worth it.
i can totally recommend cabanas balamjuyuc and would love to stay there again one day.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nessi88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017
Thank Ana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mazunte
0.5 mi away
ZOA Hotel
ZOA Hotel
#3 of 6 in Mazunte
118 reviews
0.2 mi away
El copal
El copal
#4 of 6 in Mazunte
113 reviews
2.6 mi away
Posada Buena Vida
Posada Buena Vida
#3 of 5 in Zipolite
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Casa Pan de Miel
Casa Pan de Miel
#1 of 6 in Mazunte
683 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bungalows Tierra Viva
Bungalows Tierra Viva
#6 of 16 in Mazunte
11 reviews
0.2 mi away
Los Jacalitos
Los Jacalitos
#8 of 16 in Mazunte
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabanas Balamjuyuc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabanas Balamjuyuc

Address: Camino a la punta cometa | Esquina Callejon de Todos Los Santos, Mazunte 70946, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Mazunte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Mazunte
Price Range: $10 - $463 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balamjuyuc is a hostel with the more amazing ocean view in all Oaxaca coast, surrounded by a tropical garden were the birds chant and if you awake early you can see the sunrise on the ocean making it an almost mystical experience breakfast and dinner is made whit love and patience to the spa service with massages and Temaxcal (traditional sauna from the Mexican ancient) there is a different places in Mazunte were combine the eco turism and the comfortables days with a good budget Balamjuyuc is your home in the paradise and you are more to a guest you are the our friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Cabanas Balamjuyuc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing