We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely!”
Review of Posada Ziga

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Posada Ziga
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Mazunte
Reviewed July 21, 2011

I stayed there with my mate for 3 nights. We got the double room just next to the sea. The view was amazing. The price was very reasonable for what the accomodation offers. People were very friendly. You have to share the bathroom and the water was not that warm.. I personally did not care about the details and I enjoyed a very pleasant stay. If you are very picky and fussy about certain things probably this is not the right place for you. Better go to Maldives...

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank orfanio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (94)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 94 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2010

We recently stayed here having left Posada del Arquitecto (our room was reserved by someone else). The room was nice enough, spacious with mosquito net over the bed. Not over the windows though, nor were there bars so they could not be left open at night. We had a nice terrace with hammocks and there was a wi fi signal. Cold water shower but that's the norm in these parts. The management and staff were friendly.

On the down side there was building work going on which spoilt the ambience. Rooms with better sea views were being renovated/built. The bar/restaurant was ungoing similar work. It will probably be really nice when it's all completed. The cost was 450 pesos which I think was a bit much but cheaper rooms we saw elsewhere were a BIG drop in quality.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Supadappa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2009

We missed our plantation tour ....... long story .... but our hotel was not available on the night we arrived ( Casa de Pan) .... so this hotel took us by surprise. It was relatively clean - on the ocean - and THANK GOD we had a bathroom ( our friends didn't) .... If I were 25 I think I would have been happy here. One bar of soap and two small towels later .. we left early the next morning. I think this hotel might appeal to a much younger crowd. As such, I am sure it is fine.

The food was good and inexpensive

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ldtc2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2008

The ZIGA was beautiful. We stayed there for 6 nights in the wet season. We also stayed in the rooms above the reception area for the best views. However, we only paid about $25 a night. Perhaps that's because it's the "off season". The staff was VERY friendly. I found the food all around Mazunte delicious.

However, this is not the spot for you if you are used to air conditioned, Americanized resort style accomodations. During the night there was absolutely no breeze coming into our room so it was very hot and humid. There is a fan provided, however, as soon as you put down the mosquito net the fan may as well not be there. Also, the waves were very very LOUD! not gentle lapping but crashing waves! Also, be sure to shower before bed to remove any sand...i spent a couple humid, hot, sandy nights. We had a great time and just resigned ourselves to not getting much sleep during the night and taking midday siestas. The breeze was stronger during that time, the waves quieter, and the town was slow so it was nice. overall Mazunte is a great place to visit filled with great people and beautiful beaches!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pamela_Marie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2008

super friendly, great place, clean!
We stayed here in feb 2008 and loved it. The rooms are 350 pesos with bathroom. But we stayed above the reception in wooden, clean rooms with a view to the ocean. It has a fan, but you wont need it because there is always a breeze coming through so its never too hot.
The beach is amazing, THE backpacker destination with a laid back atmosphere and very low prices. We have been to the caribean too, 3x the prices for the same thing!
Ziga makes your bed every day, which didnt happen again anywhere else on this trip. Towels are given to you, if you want every day. The food at the restaurant is great and cheap.
Say hi to the friendly lady at the reception who is perfect in english (doesnt happen very often in mexico) and reads hermann hesse under her table.
overall: perfect place!

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank coconuts1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled on business
Thank Gonzalo d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Frederic R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mazunte
0.5 mi away
El copal
El copal
#4 of 6 in Mazunte
114 reviews
0.5 mi away
OceanoMar
OceanoMar
#2 of 6 in Mazunte
157 reviews
0.2 mi away
ZOA Hotel
ZOA Hotel
#3 of 6 in Mazunte
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Punta Placer Bungalows
Punta Placer Bungalows
#3 of 4 in San Agustinillo
107 reviews
0.3 mi away
Altamira
Altamira
#6 of 6 in Mazunte
44 reviews
2.3 mi away
Posada Buena Vida
Posada Buena Vida
#3 of 6 in Zipolite
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Ziga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Ziga

Address: | Mazunte Beach, Mazunte, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Mazunte
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Mazunte
Price Range: $55 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 192
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Posada Ziga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Ziga Mazunte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing