We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Balkan Jewel Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Razlog
Certificate of Excellence
Razlog, Bulgaria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“wonderful stay”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

The hotel is located at the edge of the beautiful national park of Pirin.
The apartment in which we stayed was clean, spacious, warm and well designed with a wonderful view and anatomical mattresses.
The personal was very helpful and polite.
You can choose between 5 deferent breakfasts which are satiating.
If you want to ski there is a minivan almost anytime you like which brings you to the lift station of Bansko in 10 min.
And of course the price of the apartment is unbelievable cheap.

In the area are a lot of other resorts which were not in use and they looked like a ghost town. But we never felt exposed to “ghosts” because the hotel was always under the control of a security service.
There was a smell in the room which went away when we opened the window.

Room Tip: Choose an apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pavlos B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balkan J, Manager at Balkan Jewel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Providing value for money to our visitors is always at the forefront
of our agenda, and we thank you for your appreciation.
As you rightly pointed out, we are at the edge of the national park,
and a year round destination for all.
Hope to see you back here soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    69
    23
    10
    7
See reviews for
95
73
1
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Immaculately clean apartment. Staff friendly and very helpful.The shuttle service to Bansko is excellent. We had some really good meals in Bansko and in a pub in Razlog recommended by staff which was really good. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balkan J, Manager at Balkan Jewel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Receiving this kind of feedback makes us proud, and motivated the team to
keep delivering a high standard of service. Thank you so much, and hope to
see you here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north lincolnshire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for a week skiing in February. The staff were very helpful and polite and the transport back and forth to Bansko was really good, we used it every day. We tried the restaurant twice but it was very poor so we ate in Bansko and the hotel arranged transport back for 25 lev which is just over £10. The kitchen equipment in the apartment was fairly sparse, only oans were a frying pan and a large casserole/saucepan, no microwave either. We had emailed and asked for a two bedroomed apartment as some friends were coming with us. They had replied saying none were available. Our friends decided not to come so we were surprised to be given a two bedroomed apartment. Nice place to be as long as you only want to relax.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank debbsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balkan J, Manager at Balkan Jewel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Thank you so much for all the positive comments about the Jewel ,
as well as the constructive criticism on the restaurant , which we are dealing with to upgrade the product. We look forward to seeing you back here at the Balkan Jewel in other seasons , when there is do much to do .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thessaloniki
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Great hospitality satisfied stuff nice place with amazing view, but the service and food isn't good.What can I expect its not Greece!!!! Bansko is Worthvisit place, what can I say just amazing and fantastic. The ski center is absolutely great, spectacular view especially from the top. GOD PLACE one of the best in BALKAN!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balkan J, Manager at Balkan Jewel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Thank you so much for your positive comments, and pleased
that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Regarding the restaurant, let us know in advance next time you come,
and we will make sure to prepare some good greek dishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veroia, Greece
Level Contributor
63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We choose this hotel by travel agency in very low prices . We were group of 12 people and we stayed 2 nights . My room was comfortable . Everything in the room was new and clean , aside from my sheets . In the room everything works fine . Staff was very polite . Breakfast was the bad piece of that hotel . Products was not so fresh and there wasn't many choices to eat . The second day we decided to taste something from Bulgarian kitchen but it was bad idea . We regret it . They should keep the same quality in the restaurant to keep their guests inside . in the hotel there was enough things to spend your time like , gym , spa center and play room . Hotel is absolutely value for money .

Room Tip: The best choice is the main building .
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Panagiotis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balkan J, Manager at Balkan Jewel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Thank you for your recommendation, as well as your praise for our staff
and the good state of the rooms. We will definitely check into the
restaurant issue, and apologise that this was not up to standard. Hope
You can give us the opportunity to visit again and make up for it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skopje, Republic of Macedonia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

I stayed here with my family and friends for one week, for a skiing holiday. If you want quiet and relaxing holiday, this is the right place. We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment, with big and spacious rooms, very clean and very warm. The equipment in apartment was new and clean, although microwave is missing.

The resort is 15 minutes by car to Bansko, but the transport service is provided by the hotel free of charge - fantastic. Last shuttle from Bansko is at 17,oo which is not the best.

Best regards, Sasko


I would recommend the hotel for the summer and autumn season.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sask0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balkan J, Manager at Balkan Jewel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank you very much for your compliments, and hope that you will decide to return
to the Jewel in other seasons, when we have many other exciting things happening.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

Unbelievable well...although this period of the year should've been a little different(i mean more snow so more tourists),i was very well impressed by this bulgarian resort...
Everything was working properly,the staff was very pleasant and involved,and the place wonderfull.
I kindly recomand it!

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Madalin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balkan J, Manager at Balkan Jewel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
This is the perfect fuel to keep the team motivated, when we receive
such positive comments. Thank you so much, and hope you can find
the time to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Razlog
4.0 mi away
Saint George Palace
Saint George Palace
#4 of 95 in Bansko
274 reviews
4.0 mi away
Premier Luxury Mountain Resort, Bansko
3.6 mi away
Lucky Bansko Aparthotel SPA & Relax
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Murite Club Hotel
Murite Club Hotel
#3 of 10 in Razlog
237 reviews
3.5 mi away
Regnum Bansko Apart Hotel & Spa
4.0 mi away
Green Life Ski & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balkan Jewel Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balkan Jewel Resort & Spa

Property: Balkan Jewel Resort & Spa
Address: PO Box 62, area Betolovoto, Razlog 2760, Bulgaria
Phone Number:
Location: Bulgaria > Blagoevgrad Province > Razlog
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Razlog
#1 Spa Hotel in Razlog
#1 Luxury Hotel in Razlog
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Balkan Jewel Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the views of the spectacular, natural, tranquil beauty of The Pirin, Rila & Rhodopes Mountains and the Pirin Golf Course. A UNESCO World Heritage environment. As soon as you set foot in The Balkan Jewel Resort & Spa, you will feel relaxed, at ease and cared for by our warm, friendly staff. The all year round Balkan Jewel Resort & Spa, offers well-appointed, comfortable, studios, or 1 & 2 bedroom apartments All apartments come with a bathroom including toiletries and are equipped with flat screen cable TV’s, DVD players, telephones, irons, hairdryers and free wireless internet. The apartments have spacious living rooms with equipped kitchens, sofa bed or bedrooms. Most apartments have a balcony traditional wood burning fireplace and a balcony and are available upon request. We also offer room service. The free wellness and spa centre facilities consisting of a fitness room, 2 indoor pools, saunas, steam room, Jacuzzi and relaxation area, also offers a full range of deep relaxation, beauty and aroma massages as well as treatments for couples, wellness, anti aging, body toning, weight loss and rejuvenation treatments including a solarium. There is also a seasonal outdoor pool, We also have a free games room including amongst other things a pool table, and ping pong table and indoor and outdoor children’s play areas, a Wendy house and a kids club. Guests love to make use of the DVD & book libraries, Offering European cuisine , the traditional intimate chalet inspired restaurant is equally comfortable for morning coffee, breakfast, lunch, a snack, dinner or evening party and guests love to relax by the a cozy blazing open fireplace in the winter The Mountain View lobby bar is a great place to relax after skiing in the winter or outdoor adventures, horse riding, biking or hiking in the spring and summer and offers a large selection of drinks and a comfortable atmosphere. Free scheduled shuttle services is are provided to the ski Gondola and Bansko center in the winter season and Bansko, Razlog & The Pirin Golf course in the spring and summer. Car rental, bike hire, ski equipment are available and Free public parking. Conference facilities are available and we offer a free event management service The Balkan Jewel Resort & Spa. Your home from home ,where your comfort is our pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Balkan Jewel Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balkan Jewel Hotel Razlog

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing