We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect choice for Razlog.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Balkan Jewel Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Razlog
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Perfect choice for Razlog.”
Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

Everything was perfect.The rooms were very clean and nice.I didn't like the breakfast.It was really poor.The location a bit far from Razlog and Bansko but it is beautiful and if you have a car there is no problem.I would suggest this place .

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lydia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balkan J, Manager at Balkan Jewel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you for your recommendations, and hope you come back soon. We have addressed the breakfast issues, and promise that next time you come, you will enjoy your breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    72
    24
    10
    8
See reviews for
100
75
1
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
malta
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

My family and friends were there for a week over the new year period, for a skiing holiday. It is a 10 minute ride away from the Bansko slopes, for which a regular transport service is provided free of charge according to a schedule. Though efficient, the last shuttle is only at 16:00 hours from the hotel and 17:00 return from Bansko, which is too early of one wants to enjoy Bansko, and dine there. The apartment was modern, spacious and very clean, with all facilities, including a small safe in the aparrment. Regularly cleaned. and lift service available. Reception understand English and go out all of their way to help you - definitely excellent. Breakfast is good, but nothing to write home about. We had one meal in the restaurant, which was ok. There is also a swimming pool, games room. Recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mfadami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balkan J, Manager at Balkan Jewel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Thank you so much for your recommendation, and hope we can see you
back at the Jewel , where there is so much to do, in all the seasons.
Please note that we can organize evening transport, however, at a nominal
charge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

Reception finishes at midnight and the night porter doesn't speak English, so you cannot report any problems during the night. The walls are paper thin so if, like me, you value your sleep, do not accept a room in the main block (Ruby). Mind the hotel moved us as soon as we asked and the second room was a lot quieter. On a positive note, the rooms were clean and tidy and the underfloor heating was lovely.

We up graded to full board but I wouldn't recommend it as it is the same menu every day and food is basic, bland and repetitive. Breakfast didn't include bacon, sausage, mushroom or beans. One night we had to eat in our room as the restaurant was full with a Bulgarian private party. Packed lunches for the mountain were a bottle of water, a piece of fruit & a sandwich, which was normally a cold fried egg sandwich or left overs from the previous night.

The biggest let down of the holiday was the complimentary shuttle into Bansko/Razlog. Although this free service is invaluable, there is no organisation whatsoever to the service. They have 3 7-seater vehicles and they are supposed to run every 20/30 minutes to Bansko, Razlog and back to the hotel. They ask you to book a slot at reception but it is more a first come first serve basis. If the shuttle fills up before you get a chance to get on, then the driver will leave you in the car park for another half hour. Their is no point in trying to explain or complain as the drivers speak little or no English.

The last shuttle back to the hotel is 5pm so if you want to stay a bit later to eat out or go for a drink, get a taxi number from reception and do not pick up a cab from the street. You will get charged anything between 50-90BGN. The hotel have a contract with a local firm which charged hotel guests a set fee of 25BGN But reception don't tell you this until you have already been stung.

Wifi is excellent in reception and the restaurant but is a little poorer in rooms. This wasn't a problem for us as we go on holiday to get away from it all.

Housekeeping is generally spot on although we ran out of toilet roll 3x. Supplies of shampoo, soap and shower gel were plentiful. We were not provided with bath or shower mats, using a small towel to avoid slipping. We were also left short of supplies to be able to wash dishes.

Maintenance not so good, we had a leak every time we emptied the bath but spoke to reception 4 days in a row before it was repaired.

Reception staff were fabulous, their English was very good and they would do anything to help. They appear to get bad reviews on Trip, but being a hotel receptionist myself I have the utmost admiration for them.

Finally notes for Diamond Resort members:
Take you iphone charger as there are no docking stations in the rooms, I had to go out and buy one.
Towels are quite small however when I asked for a larger towel we were given bathrobes which was a help.
There is not much in the spa, and the hot tub that is advertised on their website is no longer there. You have to let reception know an hour before you want to use the facilities so they can switch them on.
Don't expect he DVD rental for free, we got surprised with a 30BGN bill on day of departure.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank cinders1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balkan J, General Manager at Balkan Jewel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Thank you very much for your detailed productive criticism and merit where due, especially from someone who works in the hotel industry.
Should any problems occur late at night, security knows who to call for language explanation. With regard to the private party , moving you from above the party was the best and only option .
Appreciate the comment on the high standard of our housekeeping.
We apologies that our cuisine was not up to standard, and take fault in not communicating our selection in the right manner.
We have three shuttle buses, and the longest wait is 10 minutes when the request is very high. We however apologies for keeping you waiting .
Reception always provides info on transport , right on request .
We will look into the missing items, however, these are always supplied once reception is informed. Will also check on the delayed repair, which is quite unusual .
Thank you for your comments on the friendly receptionists. .
Will check on the DVD rentals , but believe we only charge 2 Bgn per DVD.
Hope we can see you again at the Jewel .
We appreciate comments like yours, which help us to improve our services .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
1 review
Reviewed December 26, 2013

The hotel was a very lovely place to stay especially for the holidays and the room was big and very warm. The girls at the reception are truly great and glad to help you out and fulfill your every need or provide you with every information you can possibly ask for. I can honestly say that the best thing about our trip was the hotel and I would visit it again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nasia k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balkan J, General Manager at Balkan Jewel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
It is comments like yours, that help to create job satisfaction by the Balkan Jewel
Team, when they work hand in hand, and feel appreciated by our visitors.
Thank you so much, for taking the time to write about us, and we all look forward to
seeing you here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 15, 2013

A very enjoyable stay at the Balkan Jewel, rooms very spacious with self catering facilities and vary clean. Beautiful surroundings, excellent facilities.
We used it as a base while we furnished an apartment we bought nearby, we needed a lot of help with unexpected problems, the girls on reception and the drivers helped us out enormously and we can`t thank them enough.
Thanks to all at the Balken Jewel!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balkan J, Manager at Balkan Jewel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful comments about our team as well as the Jewel itself. Now you know
that you have friendly and welcoming neighbours, when you move in to your apartment. Hopefully,
you will drop in for a chat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton Upon-Trent
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We recently stayed for 4 nights. We have been to the area many times before. The reception staff were lovely and helpful and the apartment was comfortable, clean, well serviced and with FAB views of Pirin Mountains. Facilities were also good including restaurant with pleasant service and wide choice, at prices representing value for money, and sauna/steam room and gym. Pool not heated so did not sample! Only slight complaint; curtains not good enough for strong sunlight in the mornings!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjanmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balkan J, Manager at Balkan Jewel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thank you for complimenting the staff as well as the facilities here
at the Jewel. We apologise for the extra sunlight in your apartment,
and will be looking into it. Hope to see you here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We came here, having booked last minute - and not knowing what to expect. The resort and staff are excellent. The only negative is, the restaurant was poor. Food was served cold and could not be charged to the room - plus credit card machine was not working (only found out when our meal was finished!) .... so cash was our only option! However, there are many restaurants that are excellent to choose from close-by. The location is excellent, but a vehicle is a necessity. However, with a car, you are centrally located for daily travels. We would highly recommend this resort, just eat out!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balkan J, Manager at Balkan Jewel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Thank you for your recommendation .
We will definitely look into the issue of the food bring served cold , and apologize you got this mishap .
Hope to see you back at the Jewel soon, and give us the opportunity to buy you a meal .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Razlog
4.0 mi away
Saint George Palace
Saint George Palace
#4 of 95 in Bansko
276 reviews
4.0 mi away
Premier Luxury Mountain Resort, Bansko
3.6 mi away
Lucky Bansko Aparthotel SPA & Relax
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Regnum Bansko Apart Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Murite Club Hotel
Murite Club Hotel
#3 of 10 in Razlog
237 reviews
4.3 mi away
St. Ivan Rilski - Hotel, SPA & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balkan Jewel Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balkan Jewel Resort & Spa

Property: Balkan Jewel Resort & Spa
Address: PO Box 62, area Betolovoto, Razlog 2760, Bulgaria
Phone Number:
Location: Bulgaria > Blagoevgrad Province > Razlog
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Razlog
#1 Spa Hotel in Razlog
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Balkan Jewel Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the views of the spectacular, natural, tranquil beauty of The Pirin, Rila & Rhodopes Mountains and the Pirin Golf Course. A UNESCO World Heritage environment. As soon as you set foot in The Balkan Jewel Resort & Spa, you will feel relaxed, at ease and cared for by our warm, friendly staff. The all year round Balkan Jewel Resort & Spa, offers well-appointed, comfortable, studios, or 1 & 2 bedroom apartments All apartments come with a bathroom including toiletries and are equipped with flat screen cable TV’s, DVD players, telephones, irons, hairdryers and free wireless internet. The apartments have spacious living rooms with equipped kitchens, sofa bed or bedrooms. Most apartments have a balcony traditional wood burning fireplace and a balcony and are available upon request. We also offer room service. The free wellness and spa centre facilities consisting of a fitness room, 2 indoor pools, saunas, steam room, Jacuzzi and relaxation area, also offers a full range of deep relaxation, beauty and aroma massages as well as treatments for couples, wellness, anti aging, body toning, weight loss and rejuvenation treatments including a solarium. There is also a seasonal outdoor pool, We also have a free games room including amongst other things a pool table, and ping pong table and indoor and outdoor children’s play areas, a Wendy house and a kids club. Guests love to make use of the DVD & book libraries, Offering European cuisine , the traditional intimate chalet inspired restaurant is equally comfortable for morning coffee, breakfast, lunch, a snack, dinner or evening party and guests love to relax by the a cozy blazing open fireplace in the winter The Mountain View lobby bar is a great place to relax after skiing in the winter or outdoor adventures, horse riding, biking or hiking in the spring and summer and offers a large selection of drinks and a comfortable atmosphere. Free scheduled shuttle services is are provided to the ski Gondola and Bansko center in the winter season and Bansko, Razlog & The Pirin Golf course in the spring and summer. Car rental, bike hire, ski equipment are available and Free public parking. Conference facilities are available and we offer a free event management service The Balkan Jewel Resort & Spa. Your home from home ,where your comfort is our pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Balkan Jewel Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balkan Jewel Hotel Razlog

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing