We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful 5* resort with amazing scenery” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Balkan Jewel Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Balkan Jewel Resort
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Razlog
Certificate of Excellence
Blackpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Beautiful 5* resort with amazing scenery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

We had a lovely time at this 5* resort. The hotel was spotless, restaurant was great. I had a lovely massage in the spa, and there is a fully equipped Gym although I neglected to use it!. The staff are very accommodating and nothing is too much trouble, they helped to arrange activities with shuttles arranged. We went to the famous Rila Monastery and horse riding, but it was lovely to relax by the pool too, it is a very tranquil place. The scenery is amazing as the resort is in the mountains. It was 28 degrees but we could still see the snow capped mountains in the distance. Im planning a trip back there soon, will probably go for the ski season next. Just love the place, and would highly recommend whether you want activities or a relax!

Room Tip: I would think most rooms have a lovely view as there is amazing scenery all around. Our room overloo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balkan J, Manager at Balkan Jewel Resort, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
We know how lucky we all are ,to work in such a wonderful environment with all year round activities, and look forward to hosting you here in the coming skiing season .

Balkan Jewel Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    66
    22
    10
    7
See reviews for
89
69
1
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sofia, Grad Sofiya, Bulgaria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

My girlfriend and I visited the hotel this year as a gift from our friends. I liked the stay very much and would recommend it to anybody who wants peace, quiet and homecooking. The best thing for me was that every room has a fully equipped kitchen and you don't have to spend your time in the restaurant. Just go to the hotel grocery store and buy what you need, then eat in your room while relaxing in front of the view of Pirin mountain.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balkan J, Manager at Balkan Jewel Resort, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
A substantial amount of our work comes from recommendations, and the whole team

Would like to thank you for your contribution. We are also looking forward to seeing you

Back at the jewel in the near future.

Balkan Jewel Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thailand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

Excellent skiing trip. We were very lucky with the weather and since it was not peak the slopes were not as busy. The resort organised everything for us from the ski equipment rentals to the transport to the slope and back so we it was all very hassle free. We also booked a couple of hours skiing lessons at very affordable rates as well as a snowmobile session which was great fun! Overall the staff at the resort are clearly more organised than previous years and the presence of the mini market is also welcome! Another great experience in Bansko and at the Balkan Jewel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kev010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balkan J, Manager at Balkan Jewel Resort, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you for appreciating our continuous efforts to keep improving

Our services, and we look forward to seeing you here again soon.


Balkan Jewel Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valletta, Malta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

The hotel itself is ok. The downside is that it is located amidst a building site which might not be completed before a couple of years. No facilities in the area and transport is required although occasionally, access to and from the hotel is blocked by snow for a couple of hours.

Room Tip: On my next trip, I will make it a point to book a hotel in Bansko.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristB76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balkan J, Manager at Balkan Jewel Resort, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. Please be informed that our transport

Is always available, and all facilities are within a few minutes drive.

The good news is that this unique location is a new destination, with

many new projects being concluded.

Balkan Jewel Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Just returned (Feb 2013) from a Skiing trip to Bansko and used the hotel as a base. The hotel is great. Its warm and friendly and the rooms are spacious also all the key staff speak English.

The TV has limited English channels, we could only find BBC News, Discovery Channel and Animal Planet.

The hotel run an hourly service into Bansko between 8 and 11 and again at 3 and 4 returning on the 1/2 hour. This is ideal for skiing as it takes you to the lifts in the morning and collects you from the bottom of the mountain in evening. The last return journey is too early to fully enjoy the après ski. Local taxis can be expensive for this journey but we found that the company the hotel recommended were very reasonable and reliable.

The only downside was a lack of facilities around the hotel. The majority of the other hotels were either closed or not complete. The hotel did not provide entertainment so it was necessary to go into Bansko where there are numerous choices.

In the winter the views of the snow covered mountains from the hotel are spectacular and when the snow melts in the valley this will be complimented by the golf course which runs along the front of the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chaska101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balkan J, Manager at Balkan Jewel Resort, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Appreciate your feedback and constructive criticism, which
helps us to improve our services, and provide our guests
with the excellent service they deserve. Hope to see you
back here at the Jewel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

We spent 6 days in 1 bedroom apartment. Very clean, warm and cosy place. Kind and helpful stuff which is a but unusual for this area. Very reasonable prices. me and my wife both have worked in the hotel business and usually have very high expectations and we were surprised that this time everything was absolutely perfect. The fireplace in the apartment gave us a very warm and cosy evenings with glass of red wine and homemade pasta. We have a small kid and we refer to prepare our food. The kitchen is fully equipped and you do not need anything additional. The fridge is a full size one, you just need to turn it on. The cleaning service was again above our expectations - bathroom, bed, floors - every day. The only think as a minus - the spa is in a different building with the restaurant - we were in the building with the spa and we needed to walk 10 meters to the building with the restaurant for breakfast

Прекарахме 6 дни в едноспален апартамент - семейство с едно дете - много просторно и уютно място, камината дава допълнително усещане за топлина и комфорт. Нямаме абсолютно никакви забележки, въпреки че и двамата със съпругата ми сме работили в хотели. Обслужването - ресторант, рецепция, почистване - перфектни (супер приятна изненада като се има предвид региона и опита ни до момента - обиколили сме почти всички хотели около голф игрището). Кухнята е напълно оборудвана с всичко необходимо за семейства като нас, които предпочитат да си готват сами.

Room Tip: Single bedroom apartment with fire place and with golf view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yavor F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balkan J, Manager at Balkan Jewel Resort, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Your words on trip advisor is music to our ears, and hope to see
you here again and again.

Thank you

Balkan Jewel Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

Spacious and cosy apartments, warm and well equipped. Staff was very freindly, English speaking and helpful. Reasonable prices, facilities working, shuttle bus available for the guests, snowmobiles were great experience. Meeting room available and although there were slight inconviniences related to the ventilation staff did their best to keep us comfortable. Wonderful view and very well maintained hotel area. Food might be a bit better. Excellent coffee though.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valentina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balkan J, Manager at Balkan Jewel Resort, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Our conferences are the pride and joy of the Balkan Jewel staff, and we strive to create a memorable experience for the whole group throughout their stay. Thank you all for coming.

Balkan Jewel Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Razlog
3.6 mi away
Pirin River Ski & Spa
Pirin River Ski & Spa
#1 of 96 in Bansko
5.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
4.0 mi away
Premier Luxury Mountain Resort, Bansko
4.0 mi away
Saint George Palace
Saint George Palace
#4 of 96 in Bansko
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Murite Club Hotel
Murite Club Hotel
#4 of 10 in Razlog
3.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
3.6 mi away
Regnum Bansko Apart Hotel & Spa
4.3 mi away
St. Ivan Rilski - Hotel, SPA & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balkan Jewel Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balkan Jewel Resort

Property: Balkan Jewel Resort
Address: PO Box 62, area Betolovoto, Razlog 2760, Bulgaria
Phone Number:
Location: Bulgaria > Blagoevgrad Province > Razlog
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Razlog
#1 Luxury Hotel in Razlog
#1 Spa Hotel in Razlog
#2 Family Hotel in Razlog
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Balkan Jewel Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Balkan Jewel Resort is located in the Razlog Valley near Bansko, surrounded by Bulgaria's three most beautiful mountain ranges Pirin, Rila and the Rhodopes, providing easy access to the ski slopes. The area has undergone considerable investment which has resulted in the recent opening of the Pirin Golf Course - an 18-hole golf course of the highest standards, endorsed by Ian Woosnam. The Balkan Jewel Resort overlooks the beautifully designed course and so provides an ideal destination for those looking for a new golf challenge. In the Spring and Summer there are plenty of activities and excursions in and around the resort including Hiking, Mountain Biking, Horse Riding, River Rafting and fishing along with more extreme sport and activities. During the winter, skiing is the key activity with the nearby high mountain ranges (over 11,000 feet) providing some of the best slopes in eastern Europe. Spacious apartments are furnished to high standards, including parquet flooring, underfloor heating and fully fitted kitchens. Complementing the resort are various amenities including a lobby bar, restaurant, fitness and spa center, ski rooms and laundry, children's indoor and outdoor playing areas, indoor games room and indoor and outdoor swimming pools. All common areas are wheelchair accessible. Whether you are looking for a family vacation, a romantic couples get away a spa break or an active holiday, adventure, relaxation. The Balkan Jewel Resort is the place to visit! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Balkan Jewel Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balkan Jewel Hotel Razlog

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing