We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I keep going back!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Halesworth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
School Farm Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 30, 2011

The farm is a wonderfully peaceful country place to chill out and take a break from the city, with comfortable cottages that have a home from home feel. The friendly owners, David and Claire, couldn't be more accommodating.

It's a great location as a base to explore but also ideal simply to stay on site and enjoy either a quiet break or make use of the facilities like the games room.

I've had a holiday / break there a number of times, both on my own and with others... either way I've never been disappointed. It's a super place and I'll be back!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pam5902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (158)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 158 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2011

This is our seventh visit to school farm cottages ,and the standard is still first class
claire&david do everthing possible to make sure that you have a good holiday
nothing is to much trouble for them,The new games room that was built last is first class ,as usual i was fishing with several large catches of carp,wed i had aprox
80 lb of fish largest about 4 lb it has been good to see the fish grow in the last 7 years
the pond is well stocked and well looked after,well done David
we hope to see you again next year love to you both k&b

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ager61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2011

We have stayed at School Farm Cottages twice now with 3 other families and just love it. All you could want is provide in the cottage, with a lovely welcome pack of tea and juice. The location is perfect with lots to do and everythiing thought of. When we go with our friends there are 17 of us in total and the childrens ages range from 3 to 15 - there is something for all of the children and it is very safe for the younger ones.
Clare and David are very welcoming and have thought of everything.
Whilst we enjoy going out and about in Suffolk we could all happily stay at School Farm playing rounders, pool, table tennis and football. There are also slides and swings for the younger children.

Room Tip: All of the cottages are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank venns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2011

School Farm Cottages provides a very comfortable base from which to visit some fantastic Suffolk tourist attractions. The 'locals' are friendly and welcoming, and my initial feeling on walking into the cottage was "someone was expecting me" with everything I could have wanted being provided. Amongst other things, in a weekend I visited two castles, the coastal resorts of Southwold, Pakefield and Lowestoft (all close by), the first Morello Tower I have ever seen, a local church complete with boxed pews, and some fantastic restaurants by the Waveney River. Halesworth is a beautiful historic town, well worth a visit - as are Bungay and Beccles.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank reminiscencegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2010

Excellent cottages with all the things you might need and a games room, chickens to feed and an outdoor area for play. reasonable base for touring the area as 20 minutes or so from the coast.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peterborough1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2010

We stayed at School farm cottages in June and from the very start new that we would love it here.
We were met on arrival by David the owner who runs the holiday cottages with his wife Claire.
The four cottages are beautifully situated in the village of Cratfield just west of Halesworth suffolk.
We stayed with our 14 month old daughter in Swan cottage which has one bedroom that overlooks the farm pond. There's other cottages that accommodate more plus disabled friendly.
David showed us around and made us most welcome, and very kindly fitted us a stair gate and provided a high chair and cot.
Everything is provided in the cottage except for towels which can be provided, there was even a pint of milk waiting in the fridge!
You can collect your own eggs in the morning for your fry up if desired and feed the ever hungry ducks and fish on the way back.
There's a lovely play area behind the cottages as well as a pool room and table tennis for any rainy days. Theres also a football pitch.
Cratfield is 16 miles from Southwold and a little further from Aldeburgh.
Both are nice quite beach resorts, admittedly some restaurants are expensive but not all, we redeemed some tesco vouchers for the Italian prezzos and had a lovely meal.
You can have a lovely walk along the front at Southwold to blow the cobwebs away.
All in all we had a lovely relaxing weeks holiday, and enjoyed the company of David and Claire who were always there to help.
A countryside retreat not far from the coast gives the best of both worlds.
Only 20 miles from africa alive animal park as well.
Whether you are a couple or a family looking for a quiet holiday you will enjoy school farm cottages but it's not a place for night owls!
Ruisenor norfolk

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruisenor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2010

lovely cottage,peaceful surroundings,welcoming hosts.every need a young family has thought about and catered for.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank busymum30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to School Farm Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about School Farm Cottages

Address: School Farm Church Road | Cratfield, Halesworth, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Halesworth
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Halesworth
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four high quality (4 star) self catering cottages in a lovely rural setting in Suffolk, within easy reach of Suffolk's Sunrise Coast. Each cottage sleeps 2 - 4 (plus 2 if the sofa bed in each lounge is used) with full central heating, electricity and bed linen included in the price. With a secure garden, climbing frame, pets corner and games room (pool table and table tennis) as well as cycle hire and fishing we offer a family friendly getaway. Free WiFi is provided in all cottages, two of which are ground floor and wheelchair friendly. With all heating and hot water provided by our woodchip boiler, as well as lots of opportunities for car free days, we are doing what we can to offer a sustainable holiday destination. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
School Farm Cottages UK/Halesworth, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing