We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic weekend away”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Halesworth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ivy Grange Farm Yurt Holidays
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic weekend away”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed at Ivy Grange in September, just before my daughter started school, as a special treat.

Not only did we have the best weather, we had the best experience. All the fun of camping but moved up a gear.

We stayed in the Woodpecker Yurt, a beautifully decorated Yurt fully encompassing what I wanted for our first yurt experience and was not disappointed. The facilities on site were fantastic, from the bathrooms to the games room to the outside kitchen - which luckily we didn't need to use.

Our daughter loved the freedom she had in the field where the yurts are located and was able to enjoy this fully given that it was safe for her to run around in.

Both Nick and Kim were very welcoming and clearly passionate about their business and have done a fantastic job with what is already there. Looking forward to going back.

We visited both Southwold and Africa Alive - both great places to take small children and within short driving distance.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 30MMM1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
23
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 29, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at Ivy Grange for a weekend in September and I can only describe the trip as absolutely wonderful. We stayed for two nights in the Woodpecker yurt which is beautifully furnished with a double bed, day bed, dressing table/drawer unit, indoor table and chairs and all the crockery/glass wear/cutlery etc you could need - even a coffee cafetiere! (I have only rated the sleep quality as 3* as the bed wasn't the most comfortable, but you are camping after all. It is still fine for a weekend away).
The whole trip was brilliant from start to finish (set off somewhat by the lovely sunshine) The purpose of the trip was to enjoy a relaxing weekend away, and not over exert ourselves at all. We arrived later than planned on Friday night, but Nick and Kim were very accomodating and waited up for us and gave us a tour (by torch light!). They were excellent hosts throughout the stay, they weren't over involved at all, but were always on hand to answer questions and they kept the communal areas spotlessly clean.
The outdoor double shower is a must, especially under a starlit sky! And the yurt comes with a camp fire pit, BBQ and camping gas rings which is just perfect for enjoying an evening meal and toasting marshmallows. The yurts are spaced apart so you don't feel like you are in a 'camp site' and the facilities are excellent, and a short drive to Halesworth Co-Op for supplies.
Thoroughly recommend Ivy Grange, a lovely weekend getaway and a beautiful yurt.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 18, 2012

My husband and I have just returned from a romantic weekend stay in the yurts at the Ivy Grange Farm.
We arrived on the Friday & was welcomed by Kim and Nic with a bottle of bubbles, Olives and Sundried tomatoes
The Yurt’s were beautiful – very cosy & romantic – the wood stove was very warm & effective.
We cooked on the camping stove & the BBQ and had camp fires when it got late
We borrowed bikes from Kim and Nic & cycled to Beccles (about 6 miles each way) we then got on the big dog ferry http://www.bigdogferry.co.uk/ to Geldeston and went to a truly lovely pub called the Locks In – definitely something to try out.
We would highly recommend the Ivy Grange Farm to friends & are planning on going back next year.
This is the ideal place to relax in the outdoors
Jo & Andy

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Have just returned to London after a 2 night stay at Ivy Grange Yurts and am very disappointed at the lack of "free" food available in SE26 and am missing the tables and shelves at the end of so many driveways where surplus homegrown fruit and veg is displayed with just an "honesty" box for company. The farm itself is splendidly located in the most beautiful Suffolk countryside just south of the Broads and just inland from the coast at Southwold and Walberswick. Perfect cycling country and you don't have to remember to bring your own bikes as owners Nick and Kim have thoughtfully provided a selection of bikes which are available for yurter's use. Lapwing Yurt was excellently appointed, very comfortable and clean and the communal bathroom kitchen facilities are as good as you will find anywhere with the addition of an outdoor shower for the more adventurous. Throughout there are some very nice personal touches such as the individual labelled baskets for each yurt in the shower room where you can leave your washbag, towels etc to save carrying them backwards and forwards. Would definitely recommend as a great way to escape the noise and hassle of the city for a bit of peace and quiet!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank selondongirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012

Wow ! Just spent two nights in the Woodpecker Yurt which is very clean and well equipped. The basic set up is three yurt well spaced out in one meadow. The outdoor shower is a must and quite private from the eye of the other yurts. The kitchen and indoor showers are clean and of a high modern standard. The owners Kim & Nick are very welcoming and friendly. The place is very peaceful. Camp fires are fine and they have an outside cooking area next to each yurt. We loved it and would highly recommend it to anyone wanting just to get away and relax. The owners have bikes if you want to explore. We biked to Southwold which is only 10 miles away.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnMarieJoyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
addictedtocurry
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012

Despite rain of epic proportions it didn't deter us from our couple of days in Lapwing Yurt at Ivy Grange Farm! The meadow was quite wet but nothing that a pair of wellies didn't overcome! The Yurt itself was fantastic..exceeded all expectations...didn't even need the wood burner really, it was toastie warm day and night! The bed was the comfiest we have ever slept in, and we didn't want to get out of it in the mornings! All mod cons for those who want it, and all the fun of outdoor cooking/showering if you don't! The table tennis and table football in the barn was a huge hit for lots of family tournaments during our stay..needless to say the children beat us hands down! There is nothing we could suggest to make this place better, great hosts, great accomodation, a brilliant mix of luxury and wild living! Nice pubs to eat in Walberswick, and the pier at Southwold is worth a visit for the kids. Lovely shops in Southwold high st, very pretty and not touristy at all. We even made the sun shine! Highly recommended to all :-)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank addictedtocurry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2011

We were one of the first people to stay this summer and I have to say it was really special. The Yurts themselves are beautiful, the bed was so comfortable and the woodburner made for cosy romantic evenings! We picked our own salad and beans, and the owners couldn't do enough for us, but also left us be and we had a great time cycling around suffolk on the free supplied bikes. The showers and toilets were immaculate, and everything you could want is provided, including first aid kits which is a nice touch.

I've been camping before but 'glamping' in definately the way to go!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anne-Marie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Halesworth
20.4 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
16.6 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
658 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Kings Head Hotel
The Kings Head Hotel
#1 of 2 in Beccles
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
The Ship at Dunwich
The Ship at Dunwich
#1 of 1 in Dunwich
707 reviews
3.7 mi away
Dawn Chorus Holidays - The Pines
16.4 mi away
Oak Lodge Retreat
Oak Lodge Retreat
#1 of 1 in Brome
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ivy Grange Farm Yurt Holidays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivy Grange Farm Yurt Holidays

Property: Ivy Grange Farm Yurt Holidays
Address: Butts Road | Westhall, Halesworth IP19 8RN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Halesworth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Halesworth
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose one of our 4 elegant yurts (Barn Owl, Swallow, Lapwing, Yellowhammer) or lovely new Shepherd's Hut set in a 3 Acre meadow in idyllic countryside close to Southwold and RSPB Minsmere and on National Cycle Route 1. Each yurt and hut has its own bar-b-q, campfire, cooker and use of great facilities including our popular two-person Woodland Shower with plenty of hot water (as well as more conventional indoor showers and flushing loos!). Try out your pizza-making skills using our wood-fired pizza oven; take a spin around the quiet lanes on the bikes we have here; try one of our recommended country walks; pick blueberries or strawberries for breakfast from the fruit and veg troughs; take out a canoe on the river Waveney; try some wild swimming (we'll recommend our favourite spots!). We're close to a station and are happy to collect and offer a "green" discount for those coming by train (or bike) as well as bikes to borrow when you are here or storage if you bring your own. A perfect place to relax and unwind, whatever the weather, whatever your passions. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ivy Grange Farm Yurt Holidays UK/Halesworth, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing