We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Keswick

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Keswick
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bacton
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge
Level Contributor
119 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Very Nice!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

We went here for Grandad's 90th birthday meal so we didn't stay in the hotel just the restaurant. We had the Sunday Carvery and it was very tastey- great selection of meat and you served your own roast accompliments- so you can 'fill-up' if you want to :) We all had deserts and they were excellent yum yum. One of our group is a vegan and they catered for her without any fuss.

I was impressed with the freindlyness of all of the staff, from the moment we walked in they were very helpful and very attentive-but not overly attentive!

Well done and keep up the good work! I'll definatly be back if I'm in the area!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vapour84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    55
    16
    5
    5
See reviews for
61
135
16
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Celebrated my husband 50th Birthday at the hotel. Made to feel very special and nothing was too much for the staff. They were very helpful and friendly. The food was lovely .
The hotel was very clean and comfortable.
Would defiantly stay again and recommend it to every one.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teacup21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Found this on an ebay special offer and spent a very pleasant weekend, Good clean room with ensuite shower. Nice touch were the towels folded and decorated on the bed with toiletry sachets.. Room was facing the road rather than the sea but found it to be fairly traffic free at night, and I had the window open. it overlooked the fields. Margaret and Jenny were friendly and polite, and the breakfast was great, large full English plus cereal, toast etc. Could only manage tea and a cake the rest of the day! Good value, we would certainly stay again in the future.
Regards
Sheila and Peter Ipswich

Room Tip: Our room upstairs at front couldn't hear any noise from restaurant and bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SGeorge6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karsiyaka, Cyprus
Level Contributor
111 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

We were quite upset on arrival to be told that the bar and restaurant would be closed that night. We feel that we should have been informed on booking that these are closed on Sundays, as we were only staying the one night, we had to eat out. Also we felt that even though the hotel has a 3 star AA rating it is over priced.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edwina25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark upon Trent, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

John and I recently had a week in Walcott and, whilst there, decided to go to the Keswick hotel for Sunday lunch. It may well have been the best carvery I've ever had and it was worth every penny. It was so good we decided to go back to the Keswick later in the week for an evening meal which was to the same standard.

What we saw of the hotel was clean and well presented and Margaret and Russell were friendly, efficient and very welcoming.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

We've stayed here several times and love it; it's the perfect place to unwind after being stuck in an office. Have a home-cooked breakfast, walk outside and less than a minute later you're on a beach. It's quiet and relaxing and if you're lucky, you'll find yourself face-to-face with a seal pup, as I did yesterday morning while walking the dog. All in all, it's just the place to recharge ones batteries.

Margaret and Russell, the owners, are very welcoming, nothing is too much trouble and they're both totally dedicated to ensuring you have as relaxing and enjoyable stay as possible. Contrast this with the tired "have a nice day" mantra, mumbled by staff at any corporate hotel...staff who generally couldn't be ars#d if you died in your sleep.

The Keswick is family-run, unpretentious and genuine, and the negative comments by GIL187059 on the cleanliness of the place are nonsense -- we simply wouldn't keep going back to a dirty hotel, and we will be going there again soon.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

Booked a last minute weekend break after seeing it on internet and reading reviews. Was not dissapointed everything was spot on and nothing too much trouble. It is literally right on the beach with lovely views. The only downside is you do need to use a car to get about.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winker55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bacton
4.9 mi away
Beechwood Hotel
Beechwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Walsham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
9.3 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mundesley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
5.0 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
17.0 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
5.2 mi away
Wayford Bridge Inn
Wayford Bridge Inn
#1 of 2 in Stalham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Keswick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Keswick

Property: The Keswick
Address: Walcott Road, Bacton NR12 0LS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Bacton
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bacton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Keswick 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Keswick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keswick Hotel Bacton
The Keswick Bacton, Norfolk, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing